We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prawn on the Lawn

Prawn on the Lawn
Ranked #1,309 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Prawn On The Lawn is a fishmonger and seafood bar with a cellar restaurant that takes reservations. The seafood bar is reserved for walk-ins. We serve tapas style plates and sharing platters and pride ourselves on providing fresh, seasonal, sustainable fish from the south coast of England.
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

A fishmonger's with a difference! Went here with a friend yesterday solely on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and it will most definitely not be the last visit.
Outstanding food (both the fish curry with homemade soda bread and the lobster cocktail were just divine) and extremely friendly, helpful service. The guys sure take a pride in what they do - and deservedly so.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UKMALETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    38
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“The one that got away....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Let's be clear about what you are getting at the Prawn on the Lawn. Behind a window full of fresh fish, there's a small bar with wooden barrels for some tables. Downstairs are four conventional tables you can book in advance. These have strips of brown paper as tablecloths. We ate downstairs where a blackboard shows you the menu for the day (see photo). All the food is cold. I say all - the fish curry was luke-warm. The servings are small, so you choose two or three per person and they are good to share between two. Nearly all our food came as a kind of danish open sandwich, with the ingredients served on toasted soda bread, or accompanied by slices of soda bread. (see photo) Others shared the plate of 'Fruits de Mer' piled with crabs, mussels, oysters and more. The wine list is reasonable and the two white wines we chose by the glass, Grollo Gris and Fasto Verdejo, were unusual and good.

Service is lively and the place has a bustling feel about it. The background music is lively and does not stay on the background! People come round to check that you are enjoying your meal, they have a pride in their work.

At its best, the food is excellent. The slices of seared tuna in mirin sauce were delicious. They had first class fish and the sauce was the perfect accompaniment. The salmon was apparently smoked in Stoke Newington by a fourth generation Norwegian fish smoker. Whether this story is true or not, the dishes were best when the quality of the fish was allowed to stand out – or when it was balanced by the accompaniments like the smoked salmon’s onions and capers . I did not enjoy the Prawn on the Lawn (prawns on a lawn of avocado on toasted bread) or the crab toast nearly so much, perhaps because the fish flavours did not come through so well.

Two desserts were offered and they were both good, ice cream with expresso coffee and a posset, which turned out to be a sort of lemon cheesecake.

This is not the greatest food in London but it can hit the high spots. The originality of the setting, the lively atmosphere, the approach and the enthusiasm of the staff all made for an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ant42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pure pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Adorable, cozy, amazingly cute place in Islington. Food is beyond tasty! Every dish is just a pure pleasure. Fresh and tasty dishes, interesting presentation, very friendly and easy going staff! I cannot wait to get back! Oh and Oysters! Those are divine!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anastassija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I am not normally a lover of fish but this experience has totally changed my opinion!!! I loved every dish that I tried. It was soooo fresh, tasty and full of flavour! The best meal I have had in a long time if not ever!!! All staff attended to my needs totally with excellent service! Can't recommend this place enough! Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank missjillgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best food I've ever had..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Prawn on the lawn has completely changed my entire view on fish, I had 7 dishes and each and every one blew me away. Never have I had fresher or tastier food, the menu is genius and the staff are brilliant. Already looking forward to my next visit. This place needs to be visited regardless of what you 'think' you know about fish. Great work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby-Qureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawn on the Lawn also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Prawn on the Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing