We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prawn on the Lawn

Prawn on the Lawn
Ranked #1,544 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Prawn On The Lawn is a fishmonger and seafood bar with a cellar restaurant that takes reservations. The seafood bar is reserved for walk-ins. We serve tapas style plates and sharing platters and pride ourselves on providing fresh, seasonal, sustainable fish from the south coast of England.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Fab Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great place for Seafood, We had lunch half a pint prawns and potted shrimp great value for money. The staff were very pleasant and helpful rare in London. We are looking forward to retuning for lunch soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank teejay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    38
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably the freshest tastiest seafood venue in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

There is literally nothing NOT to like here. We arrived late Friday night and the top for was crammed with laughter, platters and amazing seafood. The oh so cute basement was equally full but the team went out of their to get us to our table, with drinks in hand within minutes. We could not decide what to order so left it to the chef. We had plate after plate of the freshest, zingiest, most clean tasting and flavoursome food ever. Each dish was expertly explained and we all got tempted into trying something new. The wine selection is small but totally appropriate to the food. The venue is so friendly and welcoming that we totally wanted to make this gem our local. This restaurant will undoubtedly prosper. Great food, great venue, great team.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonandmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant oozes atmosphere, it's original in both concept and decor and more importantly the food is gorgeous. The staff are great and obviously very passionate about the fish they sell and serve. Can't recommend highly enough and will definitely go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loveliest lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a lovely place. Sit upstairs in the fish shop and watch them prepare your lunch using the lovely fresh fish for sale in the shop. They are lovely people, warm and chatty. Food is served hanging from a rack and flavours are simple and well matched. The crab is fab, so are the razor clams with delicate Vietnamese dipping sauces. Don't leave without trying the Cho and the espresso poured over the salty caramel ice cream. A perfect lazy weekend lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamieravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Everything about this experience was a delight. From the beautifully thought through decor, to the presentation to the food itself which was just delicious. I've used the fishmonger and decided it was time a friend and I went for an early evening bite. The atmosphere was perfect, a treat without being pretentious and the staff were thoroughly friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. We had intended to go just for Oysters but ended up having a few of the smaller dishes too, and every single one we ordered was just as delicious as the last. The wine list was great and clearly a lot of thought had gone into that too...no stone has been left unturned here! All in all a great place, can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j6739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawn on the Lawn also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Prawn on the Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing