We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prawn on the Lawn

Prawn on the Lawn
Ranked #1,544 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Prawn On The Lawn is a fishmonger and seafood restaurant with table and bar seating that takes reservations. We serve tapas style plates and sharing platters and pride ourselves on providing fresh, seasonal, sustainable fish from the North Cornish coast where we also have our sister restaurant.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Different and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I went on Wednesday night and what a fantastic experience! It's a little quirky as the restaurant front is more like a fishmongers- but this just adds to the ambience and individuality. What's even better is that this isn't a gimmick, the food is just delicious. The wine list has been imaginatively yet carefully selected to accompany the fresh fish and seafood on offer. The service was exceptional and it is reasonably priced. I can’t wait to go back… you must go!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkshirebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    38
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We had not realized that the restaurant even existed when we found it online. They had opened the downstairs just a few days before, and the intimate setting was perfect. Inventive and delightful menu with many interesting twists. Lovely staff and a very congenial atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Firstly I should say I'm not a massive seafood eater, a choice between a good steak or fish and the meat wins every time! Saying that I was blown away by Prawn on the Lawn. Its small so either book or risk missing out. We shared three small plates (Prawn on the Lawn, Crab Salad and Gurnard Curry) to start and then the Seafood Platter for main. All dishes were fantastic and coupled with a lovely Sancerre went down a treat.

Coming from Bath I remember when Fishworks started in Green St (sadly no longer there), this place echoes that and I just pray it retains its independence rather that chasing the money by growing too quickly. Lovely restaurant, great food, welcoming and friendly staff..... What more is needed in a restaurant? Will be visiting again for sure (several times I'd say!).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TucksBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, really friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

It is a little cramped in Prawn on the Lawn - a tiny space to eat - but it is really worth it! Delicious food, good choices, lovely wine and, most important of all, incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Perfect for a quiet night out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“What this city has needed for years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Fantastic fish - great value too.

One of those restaurants which you hope is kept a secret - but it won't be long before it's packed.

Owned by a young man who has a real passion for his product.

Really cannot be faulted.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sceptre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prawn on the Lawn also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Prawn on the Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing