We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wonderful service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #18 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

I just returned from a four night stay at the Soho hotel and couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. First, the location is great - very close to the British Museum with tons of shops and restaurants within walking distance. One nice thing about this is that if you're there on a Sunday the area isn't totally dead like most of the rest of the city. Second, the hotel is just beautiful - it's modern without being overly hip and just very comfortable and cozy. There's a nice mix of traditional English florals with modern design - definitely not the sort of granny-nice that some high priced hotels seem to favor. Also, the rooms are enormous - we had a deluxe room and the bedroom portion was about 20 feet by 16 feet and an 8 by 10 bath. The best thing about this hotel is the service though. We arranged our trip somewhat last minute and so we didn't have all our details worked out before we left. The concierge made dinner reservations for us every night we were there at at nice places (Hakasan, Tom's Kitchen) and got us theater tickets as well. The service is what made this place stand out and made us feel at home so when we come back to London we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — rooms, location, service
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    174
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
187
666
85
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

The fact that the Soho ranks as London's best is one of the many reasons why I love Tripadvisor. I've stayed at the lion's share of upmarket London properties on business; time and again when I am asked what my favorite hotel in London would be, I immediately exclaim: The Soho!

There's nothing that comes close to approximating the combination of nice design, warm service and buzzy atmosphere. I have even tried other Firmdale Hotels addresses thinking I might come close. The Covent Garden and Haymarket almost do the trick, but in the end, it's not just about the hotel - the cul-de-sac location is equally fab, almost like a cocoon, but at the heart of the West End, deep inside Soho, my favorite place to stay in Central London for about a million reasons.

The restaurant isn't particularly noteworthy - not worth the price if you're an American in London with limited $$ to spend - but drinks and apps at the bar would be a fine idea at least one evening. Also make sure to take advantage of the guest lounges, both of them marvelous.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank heycollegeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful long weekend in the Soho Hotel (Dec. 2008). The hotel is the most perfect example of how a boutique hotel should be - small, exclusive, pampering, personal care and lots more - specifically the hotel is beautifully designed, excellent central yet quiet location - everything one could want for a quiet, romantic weekend. Well worth the splurge!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

We booked two Luxury Double Rooms at the Soho hotel because of the great reviews the hotel has received here at Tripadvisor, and the they delivered! We were really sad when we were leaving for the airport...We had our two rooms on the 4th floor, 412 and 416. 416 is the better one of those two, its a little bit bigger and has a better view.

The hotel is very chic as you can be seen on the pictures, but I found it to be even better in the reality. There is a cozy feeling about this hotel that makes you feel very relaxed. Both in the rooms and in the public areas.

The staff is of course a big part in why we enjoyed our stay. The level of service was just perfect, you were always offered help when you seemed to need it but didnt get "harassed".

There was also a great mix of guests, mostly middle aged in beautiful clothes. It didnt have alot of the usual clientele that 5-star hotels usually has: that is fat businessmen that hang at the bar all night telling bad jokes. And I guess the oil-millionaires stays at the Ritz.

To conclude, the pros:
- Great designconcept with a luxurious feeling about it
- The staff
- The location
- Breakfast (delicious but not cheap)
- Spacious rooms with very comfortable bathrooms
- The atmosphere

the cons:
- Price
- The inhouse restaurant wasnt bad in any way, it just didnt wow us.

All in all, we were were happy staying at the Soho hotel and will be back again (soon I hope).

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DrCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

My wife and i stayed at the soho hotel for a long weekend 3 nights. It was excellent - good servcie, lovely room, excellent location and great cocktail bar atmosphere full of theatre folk.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bigh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

This is not a cheap hotel, but if you have the dosh to give yourself a little treat, you will certainly feel treated. From beginning to end the staff were attentive, but not obtrusive, and the room was glorious. If I have a criticism it would be that the restaurant/bar in the hotel is overpriced for what it is, but you're right in the heart of Soho so there's no need to restrict yourself to eating there if you don't want. London's at your feet.

  • Liked — Felt immediately welcome and comfortable, despite the swish surroundings
  • Disliked — the price... but you are paying for genuine quality so I don't really want them to skimp
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumitytto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed here on a two night shopping trip to London. We have travelled broadly and enjoy the indulgence of five star hotels whenever we can.

The Soho Hotel was even better than the reviews; beautiful, funky, great/friendly staff, superb food, air-conditioning that worked properly, a spacious room etc etc.

Special things to note included the breakfast. Never have we had such a wonderful "continental" breakfast. On the dozens of buffet breakfasts that we've had round the world, we've normally found that the fruit isn't necessarily ripe or not replenished but at the Soho there was perfectly ripe mango and strawberries amongst everything else. Home made granola, amazing pastries....

Yes, it is expensive and a treat. Pity that breakfast and internet are not included in the price but it was still absolutely worth it. Will be back as soon as we can (hmm, wonder if we can move in...?!)

  • Liked — Very funky, young to middle aged clientele
  • Disliked — Cost!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SerenaGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#35 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing