We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of luxury”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #19 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The heart of luxury”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

I surprised my daughter with a trip to London for her 21st. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and our room was amazing. We were out most of the time but arriving back from the theatre our beds had been turned back and bottled water left by our bed. It was spotless and the decor throughout fabulous.
If I had to be picky our room was on the second floor it had 2 enormous windows with no view! All that was there was a big grey wall! When the concierge came to collect our bags I asked what the weather was like, he said "oh your in they room".
Very classy hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Treasures41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    191
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
203
709
88
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel is definitely a cut above the rest! My husband & I stayed for 3 nights in the middle of August 2014. We where 3 & a half weeks into a 5 week trip around Europe & the U.K. We were tired by this stage to say the least but still had so much to do. We knew that we did not have much time to spend at the hotel but wanted something very comfortable for when we did come in to sleep.

The rooms decor was amazing. I definitely loved our room the most! So bright & funky plus warm & homely. The room had everything you could possibly need & more. No view from the window though, that was one thing I missed. We where looking out to a brick wall. But the fixtures & all fittings are A grade quality. Wonderful beds, we had the best sleeps in 3 & a half weeks. The rooms are beautifully done.

The staff where so helpful & nothing was too much for them. We arrived early on our day of arrival so we had inquired to leave our suitcases & bags at the hotel while we had arrangements for lunch but they went beyond & organised a room for us straight away.

As we weren't really spending much time in the hotel we booked the room but we were not sure if it included breakfast. The only morning we had time to eat at the hotel we went to the restaurant & ordered a coffee each, juice & eggs with toast. I have to say that the service wasn't that great. We waited for our breakfast then when it came my eggs where still quite raw. It was rectified & they refunded us for the eggs (which wasn't necessary, but appreciated) & it still cost us nearly 30 pounds we were shocked. I suppose you have to pay to stay in a hotel with such class & I understand that but I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world & I've never spent so much on a room & with no breakfast included.

All in all, the time that we were there was very pleasant & it served its purpose - we got the rest we needed to take on the next leg of our holiday.

We recommend this hotel to anyone that has lots of money to spend on a room and on everything else that you might need while you are there.

Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I have stayed at many 5* hotels in London but this is in a class of it’s own.
From the moment you enter you feel so very relaxed. The staff are extremely polite, professional & friendly & nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is simply Gorgeous, from the beautiful décor throughout to the amazing food. I would ‘Highly’ recommend anyone wanting a Fabulous stay in London to try this place. It’s only a 3 to 4 minutes walk from Ronnie Scott’s in the centre of Soho (also a ‘Must Visit’ place in London). The hotel is down a little cul de sac so it’s very quiet & peaceful.
I’ll definitely be trying this Boutique Hotel group again, they’ve got everything 100% right!!!! .......even down to the 'Temple Spa' calming mist to spray on your pillow.
Thank you to all the staff for a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieHardcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I'm a regular visitor to London and quite loyal to a more traditional Hotel.(Not any more!)
My wife and I loved our first visit to this classy, cool member of Firmdales' distinctive Designer Hotel collection. From the reception to the buzzing style bar you are treated to another world and glimpses of celebrity fashionistas and musicians. Our "loft" style room with a sensational view of London was full of great accessories and loads of hanging space (presumably Mrs Kemps' influence?) Staff were friendly and attentive.
You are in the heart of Soho but the Hotel offers you a luxurious place to escape when you need it!

Room Tip: Top floor tops everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, UK
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We loved this hotel, the only bit we didn't like was checking out to come home.

Certainly not a cheap nights accommodation, but wow, everything was amazing, we landed an upgrade to one of the superior rooms.

The size of the room was impressive, even with a large walk in wardrobe.

Quite frankly i was loathe to leave the room, the furnishings were plush, the bathroom with twin sinks, a huge tub and spacious shower was great.

The bed was massive and gave a good nights sleep.

The room itself was exceptionally clean, but i guess thats what you get at this price.

Everything you could ever need was in the room, they evened catered for the wet climate with an umbrella matching the colour of the room.

The mini bar was reasonably priced in comparison to some of the hotels we've stayed in but in no way cheap.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was a little too rich for us price wise, but seemed very popular and busy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor spacious and vey quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roblynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Covent Garden last year which was superb so tried the Soho this year. Was not disappointed especially with the Penthouse upgrade because our original room was a bit late!. Room 500 - very nice and spacious. Staff were excellent and nothing too much trouble. Bigger than Covent a Garden so not quite the same boutique atmosphere but still very very good

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kingston11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We love everything about the place from the lovely big rooms, friendly staff, classy bar, amazing location, I can't fault the place.

Also fun for a bit of star spotting!

I know this place isn't cheap but I would say treat yourself it's worth every penny.

Look out for the miniature toys built into the tables in the bar, for those of us of a certain age it's great to bring back a few memories :)

Enjoy the soho

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,217 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#16 of 1,069 in London
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#40 of 1,069 in London
891 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
795 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#19 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing