We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great stay, warm welcome”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #18 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

First time in London, we stayed had the Soho hotel for 6 nights. We could not have made a better choice. The room (we were given un upgrade), was large well organised and very comfortable. The staff was welcoming and helpful, but not intrusive.
Upon arrival, our flight was landing really early, we had requested a picnic hamper which was beautifully organised, complete with real glasses, and absolutely delicious food. Thanks to Indre and her team.
We had dinner at the restaurant and the quality of the food and service was excellent.
The location of the hotel was perfect as we were close to everything we wanted to do but at the same time the neighbourhood felt out of the tourist route. Many great restaurants and coffe shops close to the hotel too .

Room Tip: Our room was facing a local pub, but it was never a problem, no noise after 10h00.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-JoseeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had the most fantastic stay. The best hotel in London. Decor, comfort, ambiance all to die for. Service is impeccable - staff so helpful, polite and welcoming. You really feel special when you stay hear. Beds so comfortable - had a brilliant nights sleep. Loved the Miller Harris amenities and the mini bar was stocked with out of the ordinary treats. Body oil gift delivered to the room was a nice touch. There is a real buzz about this place. In a great location in the middle of Soho. You absolutely must stay here. Oh and get a soho sensation cocktail at the bar ..........

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Fitz_Liv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed this weekend for our anniversary and it was one of the best hotel experiences i have had and definitely the best in London.
The hotel is down a very quiet mews in the heart of Soho just off Dean street. If you want a hotel in the West End it doesn't get any more central than this but the mews itself is very quiet. A perfect location.
As soon as we checked in we were made welcome. We were offered 2 complimentary glasses of champagne (which i must admit i forgot to take up!) and a room upgrade as we were celebrating. The hotel itself was very cool and relaxed and the decor unique and quirky. I am normally a classic hotel person but this place has really converted me to the "Boutiques".
The room was a very good size and again uniquely decorated. The bed was huge and so comfortable that i could have spent the whole weekend in it! The bathroom was also large and very modern. I believe all the rooms are decorated slightly differently which does make the whole experience more special.
We didn't really use the facilities aside from the bar. I was saw the peaceful drawing room and the clever idea of the "honesty bar". I didn't get around to visiting the gym or the cinema but would expect a high standard if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by.
I loved the bar in the hotel. It seemed popular with non residents and i can see why. A wide variety of drinks choices and cocktails and friendly bar staff. Seating around the bar can be hard to come by on a Friday or Saturday evening but it did add to a cool atmosphere.
Breakfast was pleasant, large helpings and plenty of choice. We didn't have any bar snacks but they looked good as well.
All in all a fantastic stay. I am the sort of person who like to try new hotels and never really visits the same one twice but i am sure i will make an exception for this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Full disclosure: we are regulars at this hotel but for good reason. The hotel is exquisitely decorated with bright colorful accessories with perfect mix of rustic and modern. The result is relaxation. The reception is pleasant and helpful but the concierge is first class. Hard to get tickets or reservations will be acquired. The various common spaces are also nice with honor bar to living room. You can have tea ther as well. Breakfast in the restaurant is made to order and flexible. The exercise room is small but useful. The screening rooms are great on Sunday afternoon cinema club. See relatively new release in this setting is priceless. The rooms are large and again nicely appointed. The beds are extremely comfortable ( frete?). The bathroom has walk in shower and separate tub. Generally all rooms have a bidet. Given the location, the rooms are extremely quiet. The air-conditioning is also up to USA standards. The staff cannot do enough for you. They could change bath amenities from Miller Harris to something more exclusive. Highly recommend. My only hotel in London hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Johnanddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for an anniversary treat. Room was pure luxury, top floor with balcony which was lovely. Wanted to take the bed home, bliss.... Best sleep in ages. Front desk staff extremely helpful. Dining room and bar staff also friendly and helpful.
Complimentary bottle of bubbly which was a lovely touch and much appreciated.
Overall our stay was out of this world. Hope to able to return one day.

Room Tip: Our top floor room was superb..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I returned here for a stay recently, after a 5 year absence (whilst I tried other hotels). The hotel itself has been maintained nicely and is still looking very fresh.

A couple of down points:
1. I had a package that had "free wifi". But it seems to me that all guests get free wifi- so not really a feature.
2. We have an "upgrade subject to availability" package. Again, there was no attempt to provide the upgrade to us, we had to ask if it was available and were told not. To be honest, I got the impression that they had no intention of providing the upgrade (unless they were 100% certain that they could not rent the room)- although I am sure management would just say that they are only able to "subject to availability" and they were full!
3. Breakfast was a problem, both in room and in their restaurant. We ordered in room the first morning and it arrived in a timely manner but was pretty cold (full English). The second day we thought we would go to the restaurant in search of a proper warm full English. We had to wait for a table, wait for our tea and coffee and food was barely warm again. The staff seemed "hassled", I assume because they were busy.

Other positives remain, good location but for the price- I think I will return to Cafe Royal or somewhere similar.

Shame really.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Brown71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a superb hotel. My partner took me here for my birthday and we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite!! It was gorgeous. The room was huge and well furnished, with a kitchenette and well stocked mini bar. The communal areas are all very tastefully decorated and although we didn't visit the bar, it was packed the whole time. We opted for breakfast in bed which was promptly delivered and all very tasty. We would definately return - location wise it is right in the heart of Soho so really easy to get to bars/restaurants and shops.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#40 of 1,077 in London
2,360 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,610 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#16 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $417 - $1,910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing