We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue, small niggles”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great venue, small niggles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

My wife and I had a one night stay at this central London hotel and were very pleased by the comfort of the room and the very helpful nature of the staff. Finding a room in London for less than a ransom figure is tough - unless you want to stay in a doss house - but we both felt that we got decent value for money here. Bedroom was well appointed - top floor with balcony which gave us a good view of the Soho rooftops and over to London Eye - and theatre and cinemas are within easy walking distance.
OK - a couple of small niggles. Air conditioning - and this is relevant to nearly all hotels I have stayed in. You really don't need it to be too cool in the restaurant otherwise your diners rush to get the food over with so that they can get to the relative warmth of the lounge. The weather the day we stayed was cool (55 degrees) and air conditioning wasn't needed at all but we both felt the brush of cold air across our necks when dining.
One other small problem for those people like myself who don't use lifts (elevators) because of claustrophobia. I always take the stairs but here the stairs are not in the foyer or next to the lifts - they exit onto the forecourt. And for security reasons (understandably) they are locked and can only be opened from the inside. One has to ask the doorman or concierge to open the stair door every time one wants to go up to your room (coming down is no problem) which entails them going up to the first floor and down the stairs to open the door for me. They did it with smiling grace every time and I have no fault with them - my problem entirely. But if I was staying for longer than a night or two it might just be a bit of a bore.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Over eager air conditioning in the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerAckroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    182
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
189
676
85
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

Booked The soho Hotel through Mr&Mrs Smith for 4 nights. Can honestly say it was one of the best hotel experiences i have ever had! Stayed in a Deluxe room which was huge & extremily well appointed. Tivoli audio in room & in bathroom, flat screen lowve TV, Miller Harris bath products, wonderful bed, huge room...cleaned to perfection everyday. Breakfast was just great as was the cocktail bar , the honesty bar, the guest areas & the generally the whole vibe of the hotel. Everyone who works at this hotel is extremily motivated & they do a fantastic job in all departments. Definately coming back next time i visit London. All in all a superb Boutique hotel which really delivers all the way!! I was trying to think of one little thing which i could criticize but i just can't think on anything! Deserves the full accolade of top reviews!!!

  • Liked — The amplitude & decor of our deluxe room
  • Disliked — Had to close curtains to have total privacy in my room...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MYAGISAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for one night in a deluxe room. The room was fantastic - very spacious with a huge, comfortable bed. The bathroom was very large for a city hotel. I only had breakfast in the hotel, but the food was very good, with a great selection, plus breakfast could be served 24 hours, so I could have a long lie in.

I'll defintely stay in this hotel when in London from now on.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sml28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

Once installed, this hotel really has a great location. You can walk almost anywhere. But getting to and from the hotel in a taxi can be difficult. The back streets of Soho are not easy to negotiate in a taxi at any time of the day.
The hotel has great staff; very friendly and professional. And the rooms are very nicely decorated with well stocked bathrooms and mini bars. But - for a new hotel - the soundproofing is dreadful. The street noise is not a problem but noise from other rooms and the corridors can be appalling. The rooms would really benefit from a small hallway or double doors or better sound installation or something to prevent you being woken up in the small hours by a neighbour trying to unlock their door or taking a very early morning shower or a trolley trundling along a corridor.
The restaurant and bar are fine but not outstanding and the food is acceptable without being brilliant.
All in all, I'd be tempted back for the location but doubt whether I would go back until they've cured the noise problem.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — the lack of sound proofing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irishguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

For our 10th anniversary we booked a four night stay at Soho Hotel. From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed, the service and attention to detail were unmatched. We negotiated a deluxe junior suite package and found the room spacious, quiet and delightful. The concierge service was great and the location was prime -- within blocks of theater, Covent Garden, Leicester Square, the tube and a lively Soho street scene. Breakfast was terrific, including a "breakfast on the go" for early morning departures. Overall, we were thrilled by the hotel, loved the service and would go back again for another special occasion. The hotel is worth its price. (One note: If you have "breakfast inclusive," learn what's included -- and what's not -- in the breakfast-inclusive arrangement.)

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tunkiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

All I can say is wow! From the warm hospitality shown by the staff, to the excellent restaurant (had dinner and breakfast), to the very well-
equipped gym, to the beautiful, comfortable and quiet rooms, this is justifiably #1 in London. A stay just days before at the much-heralded Dorchester was a disaster in all respects -- especially in terms of value -- so the stay at The Soho was especially welcome. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Stylish and comfortable, a good value
  • Disliked — No greenspace nearby
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Capcityman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

Stayed at the Soho Hotel, prompted by the very favourable reviews on this website. I am pleased to say you got it right. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was quirky, clean and pretty large for a London hotel. Our only complaint about the room was that it looked out on to nothing but a brown wall. We will look to come back again and would be happy to recommend the hotel to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkneywatsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#36 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing