We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a great weekend at this hotel - it is a really convenient location, the room was beautiful and extremely comfortable. We had a room on the first floor, directly above the restaurant, but heard no noises from below, either during breakfast service or in the evenings when the bar was VERY busy.
On the downside (which stopped a 5 star review), the breakfast service and breakfast food was not quite up to standard (very over cooked eggs and bacon, chewy sausage). And in the evening, the bar was very busy - a great atmosphere but this meant that it was impossible to comfortably enjoy a drink in the bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    183
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
189
678
86
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

CONCIERGE ..........FABULOUS
RECEPTION ..........FABULOUS
HOUSEKEEPING.....LOVELY

the service is great ......... the staff are so helpful......... they alone make a stay very special
the location is wonderful...........rooms are quiet yet you are in the heart of soho
bed comfortable
amenities are good
room service is good ........... food is decent but the service more than makes up for this

you want a warm embrace when you stay in a hotel ............ you cannot be more obliged than when staying here ........ one can overlook any shortcomings

the care and attention to detail is excellent

I look forward to returning

Room Tip: stay on the fifth floor and enjoy a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainesfavourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spend two nights in Soho Hotel (second time around) and this time unfortunately it was very disappointing. Main reason: bad service/staff had no eye for the guests. Drinks in library took over half an hour to order and dirty glasses/high tea dishes pilled up on the on the table for even over half an hour. 5 stars service? No.
Maybe some guests are impressed by the "celebrities" who stay over, but I rather spend my money on good service than some namedropping experiences. Or maybe you should be a celebrity-guest to get some decent service and attention of the Soho staff?

Also remarkable: no tea or coffee kettle in the suite but, yes really this happens in the UK, there was space in the mini-bar for a love kit with cock ring and some intimate niple diamonds!!! Sorry, call me old fashion, but I can buy my own kinky stuff if I wish; I rather receive from the Hotel some tea or coffee than a cock ring or nipple diamonds...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sascha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Another great stay in the Soho Hotel, London. Food was great, massage was great and the concierge was able to pull a rabbit out of the hat by getting me some much sought after tickets for Les Mis.

Very central and in the middle of all the hassle bustle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked the Soho because we stayed here a couple of years ago and we were very satisfied about the hotel, the staff and the good service. But although it started well (we received a complimentary sofa bed) our stay was disappointing if not less. Of course the suite was large, but they forgot to make up the sofabed, the staff was not motivateed, we did not feel welcome, the service was even worse. The library was a little bit crowded, but the staff did not show interest in any of the guests, we had to wait for more than a half hours for our drinks. No tea kettle in the room. If we would like to borrow one, we were obliged to pay an extra 15 (!) pounds. I can buy a new one for that prize! They did not tell us either that they reserved/debited 2000 pounds on the creditcard on our arrival, although the total costs were around 1000 pounds. But most annoying were the not motivated staff. I think it us time to change!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jeannette030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Took our two children for a night in junior suites - yet again a fabulous experience from beginning to end although it is true you get what you pay for! V expensive but good for a treat and celebrity spotting makes it even better! One number one selling female artist in foyer and a mega star American film actor eating breakfast WOW!!! Food in restaurant was fab as was breakfast. This hotel is top of its league.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GokUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I often travel to London, and this is my favorite hotel! The location is central, the restaurant and bar is vibrant and lively, but what is really setting this hotel apart is the service and the rooms. If you get a chance stay at the 5th floor and you will enjoy the balcony and the views. Regardless this is a great hotel I can highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalkoWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#36 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#14 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing