We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“If the Hotel is as good as their Restaurant then its tip top service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #24 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If the Hotel is as good as their Restaurant then its tip top service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were due to celebrate my Mum's 70th on Christmas Even at another restaurant in Soho but the layout turned out to be unsatisfactory so a quick walk around the area we happened upon the Soho Hotel.

They were able to accommodate us for lunch and so the four of us had a lovely afternoon eating, chatting and drinking in a really lovely atmosphere.

The food was tasty, the service impeccable and we had a lovely surprise when they brought out a plate of mince pies and strawberries with Happy Birthday written on it as we had not even mentioned anything when we approached the restaurant about eating there.

The place has a lovely feel about it and the staff (as said) do a great job. Will deffo recommend this one and when we do get a chance to stay in London, the Hotel will be on our list to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snark70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    158
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
161
612
79
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stay in London at least a couple of times and month and stay at the Soho Hotel whenever I can.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are superb - most of them have huge windows overlooking the Soho rooftops - and have every comfort, high quality furnishings and finish.

The bar and restaurant are very lively but I have never heard a noise when I'm in my room.

The service is excellent too, friendly and informal but super-efficient, from check-in to room service.

And of course, the location couldn't be better, in the heart of Soho but down a tiny street so no passing traffic.

A really excellent hotel, the best of the Firmdale group in London I think.

Room Tip: I've never had a less than fantastic room here but those with balconies on the 5th floor are exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCE63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great hotel. The service is exceptional. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are very nice. Great bathrooms and great food in the restaurant. The location is very close to all the shops and bars and food. I look forward to returning

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balisurfer187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very close to perfect. I have been staying here infrequently for the past few years and every stay is superb. They are constantly updating the award winning design decor so that even rooms you have stayed in before (and each is different) will have had subtle changes over the years. The service is effortless. The food in the hotel is out of this world good - in fact, it has improved. It used to seem a bit pricey for what you got, but not any more. You don't resent paying a slightly higher price than many of the Soho restaurants on the doorsteps when the food is this good. The bed is comfy, the bathrooms are sparkling clean and fresh, and the furniture in the room manages to be as functional as it is beautiful. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't choose the very cheapest room categories - worth splashing out even a small amount more fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troubleinthecit... t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Oxford, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently stayed here when attending a premiere in Leicester Square. The location was fantastic - a 10 minute gentle walk from the cinema, near the buzz of London but in a quiet street. We had a deluxe junior suite - a marvelously generous space, with the most comfortable bed, gorgeous toiletries, and a packed mini-bar (though we did avoid the £86.00 half bottle of Krug!).
The bar was busy on our return, but service was excellent as were the cocktails. There is an honesty bar for after hours. The reception rooms are eclectic, the service is attentive and friendly without being over-powering.
When we arrived back into our room, the bed was turned down, and a Sleep Well spray was on the pillow - wonderful
Room service breakfast was punctual and tasty, although the plates could have been a little warmer to keep the food hotter longer.
However, this was a very small blip. I loved this hotel, and would love to return.

Room Tip: A higher room may give a better aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilerviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
430 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our last stay in The Soho Hotel was splendid and we came back this week. We have a Luxury Junior Suite (#202) which is spacious. What I love about The Soho Hotel is the location, service and common areas. I love the Refuel Restaurant, different lounges. It is very cosy to stay and spend time. What I do not like is that unlike many other places The Soho Hotel chooses to charge for internet which I do not find as a good practice when I pay 400 GBP for a room. Similarly the amenities in the room are not sufficient even though it is a suite room you need to order coffee, tea and water from room service unlike many other hotels who provide cafetieres, espresso machines, abundance of complimentary water.. I am considering other hotels for my next stay because of these small details.. This is a pity..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiddlingTravelNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Fantastic hotel, we stayed for a girls weekend. Perfectly positioned for shopping and The West End. Rooms are classic with very very comfortable beds. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. There is a busy bar and restaurants with good cocktails. There is an after hours honesty bar and gorgeous library where afternoon tea is served. Looking forward to returning ASAP. Would recommend this hotel to everyone including couples and families.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inlovewithlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#13 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#11 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,313 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#7 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Jetsetter so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing