We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round.”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #18 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just had a fantastic stay at the Soho, and had to write about it. Checked in for one night, to celebrate an anniversary. They had lost my booking and then found it again and to compensate me for the delay in checking in (all of about 2 minutes!) they upgraded me to a truly lovely room on the top (5th) floor, with a balcony overlooking London - just beautiful. Room 509 in case you're interested. I mentioned it was an anniversary as I was checking in and 2 minutes after I arrived in the room, someone arrived with vouchers for complimentary drinks in the bar - what a nice touch. We had breakfast on the terrace in the morning, and it was fantastic; home made muffins, pancakes and syrup perfectly made. I really could not fault this hotel really. Everyone was fantastic. The room was really beautiful and spotless, with lovely toiletries. Silly mini bar prices (why do hotels do this?) but that is something you just come to expect. Right in the centre of Soho with fantastic restaurants and bars all around. If you can afford this hotel, then don't hesitate.
I haven't even started on the fantastic film club in the basement...

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Holly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

styayed here for two nights and had a great experience.
we had a superior room because is bigger then the standard and in london you don`t get much space in hotel rooms.
fantastic service and great breakfast , the hotel has a very nice bar and great interior.
i will defenetely be back!

Room Tip: get a suite or deluxe room,as the standard are a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Tempted by the offer of an upgrade we switched our stay from our much loved Charlotte St Hotel to try it's Sister hotel in Soho and we weren't disappointed.The junior suite was unexpectedly light airy and spacious and comfortable. Surprisingly, extremely quiet rooms in what is a lively hotel in a bustling part of the city. Staff surpassed all expectations for genuine helpfulness and professionalism. Service first class - well done! Breakfast and dinner food quality and presentation good. Attracts a younger crowd than the Charlotte St Hotel . Definitely would highly recommend this hotel however personally I preferred the gentle ambience of the smaller Charlotte St, although we loved the extra room size of the Soho hotel.

Room Tip: No harm in asking for a complimentary upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perfectionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My partner and I have now stayed twice at The Soho Hotel in (Soho) London for a quick Labor Day weekend trip to London. The hotel is located off a side street in the Soho area of London. So it is right in the 'middle of the action' and in a really hip location.

The rooms while somewhat pricey, are done at a very high standard and are always clean. The bathrooms are large for London and (at least in the two rooms we have stayed) include both a tub and a full shower. (The shower itself is to DIE for! Incredible water pressure that can knock any stress right out of you).

The rooms typically come with a full breakfast - and the restaurant is quite good.

I only have one minor complaint -- we asked (via a note) the housekeeper to put a regular blanket and sheet on the bed instead of the typical duvet (which I find way too hot) that was on the bed. When we came back to our room for the day, we found a blanket and a sheet on the bed - but not MADE in the bed - they were just sitting on top of the bed. Needless to say, we were a bit surprised - but I guess they took my request literally! LOL The next day (via yet another note) housekeeping did actually make the bed with the sheet and blanket and not with the duvet.

Very much looking forward to our next visit to London - and we will most assuredly stay at The Soho Hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChgoSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have visited this hotel a number of times and are always impressed by the quality of service in all areas. Its always pretty much faultless making your stay exceptionally enjoyable.
The rooms are spotless and beautifully appointed.
Breakfast is always a pleasure and caters for all tastes.
The bar area is exceptional, a great buzzy atmosphere and a greet place to meet friends or just to while away an evening.
Only down side is the price, starting to creep above our budget, other that that perfect.

Room Tip: Ask to keep away from rooms near lift exits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Lovely hotel in the middle of London , central to everything.rooms spacious and very clean and comfortable.most five star hotels are all very similar but the big difference is the staff, very warm and friendly and there aren't any snooty nose staff full of there own importance.Breafast was beautiful as well, well done management and staff.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dogsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in July 2012.

All I can say in excellent for everything!!

We had not stayed in the hotel before so before being shown to our room we were given a tour of the hotel. We only stayed one night but were provided with champagne & choclates in our room on arrival as a birthday celebration.
All the staff were very helpful and could not do more for you.
We made made sure we stayed late on the Sunday to make use of the film club which was really good.

The only downside we encountered was we had no running water from the bath. On contacting reception to report the problem someone was at our door in less than a minute to try & fix it and very apologetic (as they should be). The problem was unable to be fixed so we were given the choice of moving rooms or something else. As the shower was working fine and we had dinner resevations we decided to stay in the same room and they just gave us another bottle of champagne.
I would also agree that free wi-fi should be a must.

With that aside we will definately be coming back to this hotel soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnold601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#40 of 1,077 in London
2,360 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,610 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#16 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $417 - $1,910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing