We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Qbic Hotel London City
Ranked #111 of 1,081 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had won one of their rooms for one pound so, not wishing to pass on the opportunity, I decided to give the place a go.

The hotel is nearer to Aldgate East tube that you think, particularly if you choose the right exit when coming out of the station: head for the "Whitechapel Road (south)" exit and you can't go wrong. All you need to do then is walk through the small park...which, incidentally, *does* have a small "drinkers' corner" as pointed out by another reviewer, but they don't bother you. It's well-lit at night for anybody wondering about walking through it after dark.

Incidentally, if you're in the position where your next tube train will get you to Aldgate first (rather than Aldgate East) then get on that one; Algate and Aldgate East are one block away from each other so the extra walking distance is negligible.

"Quirky" is a word that has been used a lot with this hotel and I can see why. The rooms are, well, a little oddly decorated but they make a pleasant change from the identikit ones you'd get from some of the more well-known chains. The beds are big and comfortable and yes, the pillows are a tad on the small size. The bathrooms are equally as good with a well-sized "wet room" kind of set up for the shower.

Not having a designated reception does put you off at first - it's just a member of staff stood next to a PC - but the check-in process is swiftly dealt with and, I must say, any enquiry I had was superbly dealt with by the very friendly staff.

I was told that there was a coffee machine on every floor but I never found it!

I would willingly go back there again if paying full-rate...which is still reasonable for London.

And finally, the new Olympic Park and/or Westfield Stratford are just 20-25 minutes away on the no25 bus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karlinski73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Karlinski73,

Firstly congratulations on winning a £1 Room. We are so glad you stayed with us and had a great experience.

We are pleased with your feedback and excited you gave us a go.

When you next do come and stay with us, please do check with one of our staff members about the coffee machine on the guest room floors.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,615 - 2,621 of 3,507 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

A querky hotel convieniently close to underground station and 15mins walk from Tower Bridge.Room good size,clean with large comfortable king size bed but with two tiny inadequate pillows.En-suite shower room basic and appears to be a plastic pre-formed structure with a step out and in which could be a danger if visiting the facility during the night.Aircon did not cool the room effectively despite being on for several hours.TV on bed post,with good channel selection.There is a pleasant lounge downstairs with 24hr free coffee/tea and a vending machine for water/crisps etc.The continental breakfast was good value at £7.50Check-in efficient,staff very helpful.There is a Tesco Metro 2mins away with several fast food outlets across the street.A small park outside the main entrance is pleasant during the day but frequented by many,who appeared to be non-aggressive alcohol abusers after dark.Price of £149 a night, I felt was rather expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellerCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear TravellerCleethorpes,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

We appreciate all your kind comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us.

Regarding the pillows in the guest rooms, we are looking to implement more, this will happen in due course. However in the mean time please feel free to ask our Reception Team for additional pillows and we will be happy to help you with this.

I apologise for the air conditioner not cooling the room, please do let us know when you are in house and we will ask our maintenance team to take a look or move you to another room.

I will pass on your praises regarding our staff members to the team.

We do hope you will return to Qbic soon and give us another go.

Hope to see you very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in London Whitechapel close to Aldgate East station, also close to The Tower and Tower Bridge.The staff was very friendly and helpful as we had troubles with our luggage. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast in a lovely little coffee shop called "Aldgate coffee house" opposite The Whitechapel Gallery. We woud highly recommend this hotel because of the location and the style of the rooms.
Just one thing was dissapointing: any payments in the hotel could only be made by credit card.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PfadisGablitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear PfadisGablitz,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us here at Qbic and had a fantastic experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

It's extremely rare to find a hotel of this caliber at these prices. It's even rarer to find a hotel that has managed to distance itself from the rules that every other hotel seems to follow.

We got off to a great start, being on a tight budget for this trip we booked a room without a window. Upon arrival we'd been upgraded to a room with a window. It was an extremely hot day and when we got to the room the aircon had already been turned on for us and we really appreciated having access to an open window!

The rooms are considered. Gone is the usual fridge stocked with overpriced drinks and snacks. The phone you'd normally find in your room has also been removed and replaced simply with a number on the wall that you can reach reception at. The free toiletries that you never use but still take home are also non existent.

Instead this hotel focuses on what you really want -

The rooms are equipped with a spacious bathroom, fantastic rainfall shower, comfy bed, reading lights and smart TV's. Each floor has access to a free tea/coffee machine. Infinitely better than the old kettle shoved in a drawer you may normally find.

Free WiFi access is not only available but has also been considered - if your room is over the other side of the building there are enough access points so that you'll always have a constant connection at decent speeds.

The lobby has also been considered. It's cool and quirky. There are lots of seating areas and arrangements depending on the size of your party - there are plug sockets! Lots of them! You can charge your phone/tablets and plug in your laptops and still have free WiFi access. All while enjoying the free cappuccinos.

Staff were all happy to help and extremely pleasant. Location is good. 15 minutes walk from the Gherkin. 1 minute walk from a tube station (Aldgate East). 15 minutes walk from The Breakfast Club (great breakfast place we ate at). 15 minutes walk from Liverpool Street Station.

This is easily the best budget hotel I've ever stayed at. Quirky, modern and CONSIDERED.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maxfuryia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear maxfuryia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your fantastic review.

We are thrilled that you loved Qbic. We really do try and make each guest stay amazing.

We believe a hotel needs to offer the basics which makes you have a great experience.

We are so excited to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Thank you once again for your lovely feedback.

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Spent 2 nights here earlier this week. The staff are very relaxed which definitely made my stay more enjoyable. Felt like coming home every evening! Would highly recommend and would love to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Jason B,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.

We are thrilled you were impressed with our staff members and enjoyed your stay with us.

We are so glad you would recommend our hotel and are looking to return.

We are excited to welcome you back to Qbic.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

First things first, the staff here are amazing. When we arrived, we had driven down for 6 hours and were a little early for check-in, but they got us our room straight away. Plus when we found out that our air con didn't work (in 28* C heat) they tried to fix it & when they couldn't got us a nice, new room so quickly. They were also very friendly & understanding when my partner accidentily sent them to the wrong room with an extra pillow he requested- he was mortified when he realised!
The rooms were very clean and comfy. We didn't have a window which meant that we found it very quiet & blissfully dark when we made it to bed.
My partner loved the coffee- said it was delish whereas I really enjoyed their fruity tea. The shower was nice and hot and the bathroom was a really good size.
One comment I would make is that if you book a cube, the bathroom is attached to the bed, so if you're a nervous pee-er best run the shower before you start ;)
The location was brill as it was near the subway, so perfect to get into the centre and yet it was close enough to walk to lots of places.
We were here for 3 nights and totally loved it. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We found the rooms without a window were great as it is in a busy neighbourhood so it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lolly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Lolly J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Qbic Hotel London City.

I will definitely let the staff know how welcoming and helpful they were. We really appreciate these comments.

We are glad you loved the complimentary coffee, and the surrounding area.

We are excited to see you return to our hotel.

Thank you once again for your fantastic feedback.

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Huge, comfortable bed. Walk in shower. Air con in the room (thankfully). Sink and 'saucer' design needs changing as the 'saucer' impedes on your 'activity space' trying to sit down on the loo.

Tea and coffee at the lift on each floor is a great idea, and the coffee is not instant, it's proper beans that you grind.

The hotel is a bit far out, but only seconds from bus stops and the tube, with a Tesco express just across the road. The comments about pillows is being addressed, and will be sorted come September according to staff.

All in all a great overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear gordies,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are so glad that you had a great stay with us. And appreciate the small touches we added to make each guest stay wonderful.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Thank you,

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#180 of 1,081 in London
782 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#96 of 1,081 in London
1,518 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#98 of 1,081 in London
3,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel London City

Address: 42, Adler Street, London E1 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in London
Price Range: $81 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel London City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotel London is a new concept design hotel... and the greenest hotel in London! Located close to bustling Brick Lane and the trendy bars, art galleries and boutiques of Shoreditch, Qbic offers an off-the-charts experience for urban explorers who are hungry for new and unique experiences. Green credentials, quirky style and sociability are the revolutionary values at the heart of Qbic, that set it apart from all other hotels. Our bedrooms are futuristic in design, featuring a unique, all-in-one, cube-shaped pod called 'Qbi', which includes the bed and the bathroom. The Qbi is sustainably built, features Super-King beds with ridiculously comfy organic handmade hypoallergenic mattresses, an integrated 32" LCD TV, reading/mood lighting, UK/EU and USB sockets, hairdryers, and a laptop safe. All our en-suite bathrooms have a powerful rain shower with water-saving technology, a steam-free mirror and luxurious organic toiletries. Bespoke, handmade furniture and locally sourced fixtures and fittings also add personality: no two of our quirky rooms are the same! Complimentary premium tea and coffee is offered on floors 1 to 4. Don't say we don't love you! At Qbic, a special attention is given to eco-friendly initiatives (such as solar panels on the roof, strong focus on all things recycling and energy-saving, organic toiletries, etc.) and to supporting the local community, while our calendar of monthly events in the hotel lounge feed our guests' creative hunger and attract the best of the local crowd too. Our in-house bar and restaurant offers great breakfast options for all tastes, as well as a modern all-day food & snacks menu, made from locally and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our free and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout the whole building makes the Qbic lobby the perfect place to eat, drink, work and/or socialise. Other amenities include #QbicRecommends - our very own curated insiders' guide to London, updated weekly and connecting our guests with the city's best events and most inspiring places - a private secure gated car park with electric car charging points, recycled bikes for our guests to borrow (to enjoy the full East London experience!), luggage storage, a 24-hour front desk and express check-in/out. By focussing on delivering exceptionally well on the essentials, plus a whole load of cool extras and none of the stuffy frills typical of the previous generation hotels, at Qbic we pride ourselves in offering an incredibly personal experience to our guests and great value for money. Come sleep with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Qbic Hotel London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel London City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing