We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style before usability”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Qbic Hotel London City
Ranked #111 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Great and funky hotel. I loved the beds, although they are on the small size for my 1,94m

I do think they tried too hard to be different. You don't get any storage space in the room. There are some cloth hangers on the wall and some kind of creative clothing stand, but it didn't work for me.

The 'mood' light is made from a garden hose and the light bulb is shining in your eyes when you're watching TV. The lighting overall quite bad. Either too much or too little light.

The free internet works well and so does the TV.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank likemike-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear likemike-nl,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to know you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay.

We value all our guest feedback and do take this on board.

We are looking to implement more furniture into the guest rooms such as a wardrobe in due course.

We do hope you will return back to Qbic Hotel London City again.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,531 - 2,537 of 3,361 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wow wow wow this hotel is so great lovely people who can't do enough for you I've stayed in a lot of hotels but am blown away by this one free wifi quirky surroundings. This evening we were invited to free cheese and wine very generous amount, we will be back and will recommend it to friends. Smartly dressed staff that can't do enough for you.
Only problem no tea in room!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christineb523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Christineb523,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

So glad to hear you had a great experience.

We appreciate all your lovely comments.

We will pass on your feedback regarding tea/coffee in the bedrooms onto the relevant staff member.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Qbic Hotel London City very soon.

Thank you

Kind regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Another difficult review to do, the reason is I did like the Qbic hotel at the same time found it very frustration and disappointing, Staying from the 13th June 2014 in room 301

Positives,

Great location in London with easy transport links

Spotlessly clean everywhere, in fact probably the cleanest hotel I have stayed in for a long time.

Fantastic beds, that are very comfortable.

All staff seemed very friendly and pleasant.

Trendy modern design, lovely lounge area.

Negatives,

Design of rooms totally impractical in my personal opinion.

Card use for, door entry, lift use and room lights.
The problem here is only one card for two people, if one person wishes to go out and one stays in, you have to sit in the dark as you have no lights.

If one person leaves, and leaves the card in the room you have lights, but then the other person cannot get back in, as the lift will not operate without that card, so if the person going out takes the card, the person left in the room is left with no lights, the bathroom then is totally dark, and I injured my foot trying to use the bathroom in the dark.

Complimentary coffee on each floor is a great idea, the first day our machine was out of order, so you have to go down to reception, day 2 / 3 etc after reporting over and over again, eventually told some options of the machine don't work (put a sign up then guests know) half the time, no milk, rest of the time no tea bags, become an on going issue so you gave up looking and just went to reception. Facilities such as this need to be checked on a regular basis.

The shower cubical, is dangerous when wet, trying to stand in the shower is like standing on ice, virtually impossible to keep your balance without slipping.
No where for towels to hang, ( just one small rail in front of the sink ) just big enough for the bath mat or hand towel, no where for the lovely bath towels to hang

Very limited space by the sink, just the overflow tray (which could get wet) is the only place to put anything, other than a shelf below the sink which you cannot get to without moving the towels first.

No plug in the sink so you have to waste water leaving the tap running all the time not very ECO friendly.

Bathroom Door is a waste of time as it uncovers a glass panel, so no privacy in the bathroom, esp if you open the room door to anyone! or you have a visitor.

Floor in the bathroom gets wet, and is slippery, also the step into/out of the bathroom, not great.

Lighting in bedroom and bathroom poor, no dim-able lights for night light, all or nothing, reading light has a mind of its own and moves when in use.

TV and light on the end of the bed not in a great position, as you bang into them both when in bed or in the room.

Hanging space terrible, step ladder a nice idea but impractical, a few wall hangers is just not enough.

Trying to use a lap top there is no where to work on/at, put laptop on bed it overheats (fire risk as vent are blocked) so had to put the suitcase on bed to place laptop on, and kneel on the floor to use, not at all practical or comfortable.

Only one pillow each so as there is no where to sit (no chair) had to roll quilt up to use as pillow to sit in bed and watch TV

Bedside ledge far to small and in wrong position, by the time you try and put your phone, watch, wallet drink etc it is impossible as no where else to put anything in the room, so lived out of the suitcase, not very practical at all.

I hope my personal constructive criticism will be received in the way it was written and may help you improve guest experience in the future.

Room Tip: Overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alaninmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so qwicky, loved that most of the materials used were recycled. Stayed here when it had not long opened so coffee machines weren't on each floor so had to go to reception if we wanted a warm refreshment but that was no trouble at all. Nice lounge area feels Cousy and warm. Would recommend to any young people wanted to get away for a London break for a while.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic review.

We are pleased to hear you loved the hotel and our design.

We wanted to make our hotel fun, quirky, and different; not a traditional hotel!

As you mentioned when we first opened we only offered tea/coffee in the Lounge however we do have a coffee station on each guest room floor now.

We do look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have stayed here a few times now. It really warranted a 3.5 / 5 rating as it could not be classed as average, but it doesn't really deserve a rating of very good. The beds are huge and so comfortable. And I love the quirkiness. But I have always bemoaned not being able to make tea in my room. Having to get dressed to go get that first cuppa of the day is not fun - but what's worse, the tea has changed and now there is no Earl Grey anymore. I may seriously have to reconsider staying here as tea is essential to start my day. It's that or always remember to pack my own teabags, what a hassle!
I don't mind the windowless rooms. But they are not all the same size. I had to move from one room (213) as it was too small to use to get dressed for my dinner date in. No plug socket near to the mirror, nor shelf by the bed to put that hard earned tea on. However the staff were kind and understanding and sorted me straight away.
If you like conventional and safe, this isn't the hotel for you. Personally, if you don't mind the drink thing, it a good hotel that's good value and slightly fun. Well worth 3.5 / 5. And I will go back, tea bags in hand, cos those beds are worth it.

Room Tip: Just avoid 213, and apparently 313 is also tiny. I don't see the point of paying extra for wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIJayne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear GIJayne19,

Thank you for your review.

Its great to hear you liked our hotel and had a good stay.

I completely understand morning coffee/tea is important and I am sorry for any inconvenience which was caused. We do still offer Earl Grey Tea, so I apologise for this.

We offer three different room types as you mentioned you stayed in a Smart Room - No window.
We also have a Cosy Room type which is a standard double with a window. And our Fun Room is our large double with a window.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again very soon.

We look forward to seeing you.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The room concept with a "cube" in every rooms works really good. You have everything you need in one place. The bed was very comfy and power outlets and light switches were all placed good. The bathroom also offers all amenities for a good overnight stay.

The design of the rooms and the public hotel areas is very modern. Most guests are younger, so are the staff members. They were friendly and helpful, though not extremely friendly, I think they have to handle too many guests at once (e.g., check in).

The only little disappointment: the hotel does no longer offer breakfast bags, but the are still advertised in the hotel info in all rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maschine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Maschine,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Qbic Hotel London City and liked the concept of our design and thinking.

The stickers in the bedrooms will be removed in due course and changed, unfortunately we no longer offer breakfast bags however we do offer a scrumptious continental breakfast. Please do try this when you next stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

From the moment I stepped in the door to be met with the phrase in the carpet "oh no, not you again" the quirkyness of this hotel brightened my stay. I was only there overnight on my own but loved it. All the bits in the room worked. Air con a bonus on the hottest day in London this year. Comfy bed. Loved the funny sayings in the lifts. And guess what, the free WiFi actually worked. I will deffo stay again. Well done qbic and thank you.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank drbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear drbell,

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Qbic Hotel and liked the design element.

We do our best to make sure guests have a perfect stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#98 of 1,078 in London
1,491 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#95 of 1,078 in London
3,509 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#170 of 1,078 in London
746 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#161 of 1,078 in London
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel London City

Address: 42, Adler Street, London E1 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in London
Price Range: $75 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel London City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotel London is a new concept design hotel... and the greenest hotel in London! Located close to bustling Brick Lane and the trendy bars, art galleries and boutiques of Shoreditch, Qbic offers an off-the-charts experience for urban explorers who are hungry for new and unique experiences. Green credentials, quirky style and sociability are the revolutionary values at the heart of Qbic, that set it apart from all other hotels. Our bedrooms are futuristic in design, featuring a unique, all-in-one, cube-shaped pod called 'Qbi', which includes the bed and the bathroom. The Qbi is sustainably built, features Super-King beds with ridiculously comfy organic handmade hypoallergenic mattresses, an integrated 32" LCD TV, reading/mood lighting, UK/EU and USB sockets, hairdryers, and a laptop safe. All our en-suite bathrooms have a powerful rain shower with water-saving technology, a steam-free mirror and luxurious organic toiletries. Bespoke, handmade furniture and locally sourced fixtures and fittings also add personality: no two of our quirky rooms are the same! Complimentary premium tea and coffee is offered on floors 1 to 4. Don't say we don't love you! At Qbic, a special attention is given to eco-friendly initiatives (such as solar panels on the roof, strong focus on all things recycling and energy-saving, organic toiletries, etc.) and to supporting the local community, while our calendar of monthly events in the hotel lounge feed our guests' creative hunger and attract the best of the local crowd too. Our in-house bar and restaurant offers great breakfast options for all tastes, as well as a modern all-day food & snacks menu, made from locally and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our free and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout the whole building makes the Qbic lobby the perfect place to eat, drink, work and/or socialise. Other amenities include #QbicRecommends - our very own curated insiders' guide to London, updated weekly and connecting our guests with the city's best events and most inspiring places - a private secure gated car park with electric car charging points, recycled bikes for our guests to borrow (to enjoy the full East London experience!), luggage storage, a 24-hour front desk and express check-in/out. By focussing on delivering exceptionally well on the essentials, plus a whole load of cool extras and none of the stuffy frills typical of the previous generation hotels, at Qbic we pride ourselves in offering an incredibly personal experience to our guests and great value for money. Come sleep with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Qbic Hotel London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel London City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing