We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Qbic Hotel London City
Ranked #109 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here on 14th-16th March. The hotel was quiet, and we didn't see many other guests. The area around the hotel is edgy and we didn't feel overly safe out and about.

The downstairs lounge is quirky, but there is no bar. The lobby hosts were neither friendly nor unfriendly. Our room was on the second floor. The corridor reminded me of a youth hostel and the room, whilst new, was plasticky and cheap. The skirting board was full of dust. The bed was big but only one pillow and we found some hairs on the white linen. The bathroom doesn't have a door and is right behind the bed. The rain shower was hot, but nothing exciting.

Overall, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globtrotter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,735
    1,017
    197
    39
    20
See reviews for
322
1,374
172
703
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. Close to the tube. The outside looked rather dubious but was a lovely modern hotel when we got inside. Plumped for a room with no windows which was a little disorientating but lovely big bed and the T.V. at the end of the bed was a hit with my partner. Was put in a disabled room so touching the floor on the toilet was a challenge but happy overall. Highly recommended good quality hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel was great. We stayed for a birthday occasion for one night only. To be honest we were barely in the hotel room as we were shopping, seeing shows etc. We turned up 5 hours before check in which was not a problem to the hotel at all, they took our bags and off we went to enjoy our day. Returning at 8pm later that day we went into our room. Our room was clean, tidy, stylish and quirky. We chose a room without a window which i was slightly nervous about sleeping in as i know rooms can get warm but it was not an issue at all because the air conditioning was quick and effective. Being an art & design student, the deco in the room and hotel fascinated me. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean and lovely, shower was powerful, beds were soooo comfy and the light switch at the side of the bed was great and very handy. The only thing i would complain about is the sliding door to the bathroom. It was really stiff and first of all we thought that it didn't close however we found out it did last minute. All in all, this hotel was brilliant and a brilliant value for money especially considering the location!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is very clean! Very easy tot find, 2 min from tube station.
People at the counter will gladly help you.
Breakfast misses one thing, eggs! But the rest is perfect.
Free coffee and tea 24/7 at every hallway!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was nice to see something a bit different, and I liked the concept, but I can't help but feel there was a little bit of a case of style of substance with this hotel. It was by no means disastrous - but there were some issues:

1. The bed in our room wasn't right. It wasn't flat, and had a noticeable dip in it. This was uncomfortable. Also, as mentioned by another reviewer, the board at the end of bed which prevents you from stretching out is a pain, particularly if you're on the taller end of the height spectrum (I'm 6ft 2 and found it a bit annoying).

2. The cube structures were, at first glance, a cool design feature, but the sink/bathroom area was very flimsy. The floor creaked loudly and wobbled as you walked on it. I'm not sure if all rooms were like this or just ours. If you need to get up in the night to go to the toilet, you're probably going to wake up whoever else is in the room with you.

3. There were lots of odd noises produced by what I presume was the plumbing. It sometimes sounded as if a tap had been left on, or other similar sounds at random times. I don't expect there to be no noise at all, given the number of rooms but this was surprisingly loud. It genuinely sounded like a tap running in our room at times.

4. Our "mood light" didn't work. This is minor, but a little disappointing.

5. I made the mistake of switching off the air-con before going to sleep. We were in one of the 'inner' rooms so things became very very stuffy. Come the morning, I was craving fresh air.

Some of the above issues may have been symptomatic of only our room (which was room 211, if hotel staff are reading this).

On the plus side, the room was nice and clean, brightly decorated and illuminated, and the shower was quite nice. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The location was also very convenient for us, and the price was reasonable for London. If we hadn't experienced quite so many small annoyances, I would have scored this higher.

Room Tip: I recommend paying extra for a window room. Bring earplugs just in case.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Rooms clean and tidy. No drink making facilities in room but coffee/hot water machine FOC on each hotel floor. Hair dryer in room and shower gel/shampoo. Comfy bed and well regulated room temperature. Didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but it looked reasonable for £7.50. Didn't use the vending machines available in the hotel as there was a well stocked Tesco Express across the road. Microwave, bottle opener, water, tea and coffee was available in lounge. Across the main road and and turn left you will see the Jack the Ripper walking tour meeting point. This takes place every evening around 7pm. Not many places to eat within 5 minutes, but on 15 minute walk into City and London Bridge.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a great concept - provide the essentials, make them great and keep the price low. We stayed one night at Qbic in December 2013 and we enjoyed every second. The Qbic has an arty laid back feel. The facilities - check in, drinks etc. are self-service, but the exceptionally friendly staff are always on hand to help out. Tommy and Ayda were especially brilliant - professional, helpful and so friendly - making us feel very welcome and relaxed. On our next visit to London our choice of hotel will be an easy one!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#127 of 1,067 in London
647 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,067 in London
1,358 reviews
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#82 of 1,067 in London
3,267 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
The Hide London
#58 of 1,067 in London
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel London City

Property: Qbic Hotel London City
Address: 42, Adler Street, London E1 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel London City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotel London is a new concept design hotel... and the greenest hotel in London! Located close to bustling Brick Lane and the trendy bars, art galleries and boutiques of Shoreditch, Qbic offers an off-the-charts experience for urban explorers who are hungry for new and unique experiences. Green credentials, quirky style and sociability are the revolutionary values at the heart of Qbic, that set it apart from all other hotels. Our bedrooms are futuristic in design, featuring a unique, all-in-one, cube-shaped pod called 'Qbi', which includes the bed and the bathroom. The Qbi is sustainably built, features Super-King beds with ridiculously comfy organic handmade hypoallergenic mattresses, an integrated 32" LCD TV, reading/mood lighting, UK/EU and USB sockets, hairdryers, and a laptop safe. All our en-suite bathrooms have a powerful rain shower with water-saving technology, a steam-free mirror and luxurious organic toiletries. Bespoke, handmade furniture and locally sourced fixtures and fittings also add personality: no two of our quirky rooms are the same! Complimentary premium tea and coffee is offered on floors 1 to 4. Don't say we don't love you! At Qbic, a special attention is given to eco-friendly initiatives (such as solar panels on the roof, strong focus on all things recycling and energy-saving, organic toiletries, etc.) and to supporting the local community, while our calendar of monthly events in the hotel lounge feed our guests' creative hunger and attract the best of the local crowd too. Our in-house bar and restaurant offers great breakfast options for all tastes, as well as a modern all-day food & snacks menu, made from locally and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our free and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout the whole building makes the Qbic lobby the perfect place to eat, drink, work and/or socialise. Other amenities include #QbicRecommends - our very own curated insiders' guide to London, updated weekly and connecting our guests with the city's best events and most inspiring places - a private secure gated car park with electric car charging points, recycled bikes for our guests to borrow (to enjoy the full East London experience!), luggage storage, a 24-hour front desk and express check-in/out. By focussing on delivering exceptionally well on the essentials, plus a whole load of cool extras and none of the stuffy frills typical of the previous generation hotels, at Qbic we pride ourselves in offering an incredibly personal experience to our guests and great value for money. Come sleep with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Qbic Hotel London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel London City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing