We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay Tree Bed & Breakfast, the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bay Tree Bed & Breakfast, the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I have just returned home after a 4 night stay at the delightful Bay Tree Bed & Breakfast in New Southgate, England. After riding the Piccadilly 'tube' line to the Arnos Grove stop it was a short walk with cases to the B&B. We were greeted with tea & biscuits after arriving. The proprietors, James & Janice Monaghan, explained the house setup and we were taken to our room (Daffodil) which was a delightful, cheery room on the front of the house.

We cannot say enough about the daily breakfast table that was presented. Several kinds of fresh fruits, juices, cereal, biscuits, cheeses & sausages. Janice prepared hot dishes to order. Her French toast was excellent as-well-as her various egg offerings.

Bay Tree Bed & Breakfast is rated #1 on TripAdvisor for a reason - IT IS THE BEST. We are very glad that we got to stay there and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong choosing anyone of the rooms - all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sh_travelerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    50
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
255
364
59
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beyond friendly, spotless, comfortable, relaxed, a genuine home away from home, and the greatest coffee and breakfast on earth, James and Janice have created the perfect environment for the perfect vacation. Whether it was at breakfast, or when we arrived back at night, both were eager to hear about our day and share a few laughs. I don't know if I have ever enjoyed a vacation more than this. Its access to the Tube is a definite asset and both James and Janice were there to provide information and directions to help us make the most of our time. Roaming the flower garden, or enjoying coffee in the solarium were a treat as well. Visitors to London must experience this incredible sanctuary for themselves. We will not hesitate to return to this wonderful B&B!!!!!!! Bob and Maryanne

Room Tip: All of the bedrooms are clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rtaylor108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rishon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is our 4th stay at this wonderful and unique B&B.
Janice and James, the owners, are very kind and helpful.
Breakfast is plentiful and tasty.
The rooms are spotless, tastefully decorated and very comfortable.
This is home away from home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shiranoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you want to stay near the underground rail, if you want a beautiful home for a comfortable sleep, if you desire the best homemade breakfast, if you desire to have all the information you need to see around London and the surrounds, and, most importantly, if you enjoy the social atmosphere of two of the finest host/hostess you could ever hope to find at a Bed and Breakfast home..then, James and Janice will provide it all and more. We could not have been more pleased with their warm nature and kind attention to make our 5 days with them memorable. To James and Janice, you are indeed our friends. Warmest wishes, Phillip, Nancy, Brenda and Rollie.

Room Tip: If you desire a B&B experience, stay here for as many days as your trip will allow. Enjoy the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PersonalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I found a wonderful home awaiting us when we walked through the door of James and Janis's B&B. Breakfasts were fabulous. There is something for everyone. It did not matter what time of day we returned from our excursions into the city - either James or Janis was waiting to hear all about it - with a beverage, of course! Our room - bed, bath and amenities - were top notch. The location of the Bay Tree House is perfect. It is far enough out of the city to be a sanctuary of relaxation, but with only a couple of minutes walking time, you are at a tube station and can go anywhere you desire. Sitting out by the garden with the beautiful flowers was a treat. James and Janis have perfected the art of the B & B! Rollie and Brenda

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent two weeks in London and couldn't find a room available for the first week, but the second made it worth the wait. The minute we arrived we were greeted by James, who offered us a welcome drink (a proper Ale) and introduced us to the already accomodated guests.
The room we stayed in was beyond comfortable, with an excellent view of the backyard and the Underground (that goes overground there) and a beautiful park located a few steps away.
Easy to find and reach, the B&B is on the Piccadilly line, which led us straight to Heathrow when it was time to go home, only a few minutes' walk to several food joints.
Both James and Janice are thoughtful and care for their guests. We got Oyster cards from them to run around London and I even got some cough medicine from her when she heard me coughing my lungs out one day. Truly lovely people, it makes you want to go back over and over again. We will most definitely be staying with them on our future trips to England.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MBDalessandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I, and our 14 year old daughter, visited London for one week in June, and while we enjoyed the tours of London and other parts of England, the most memorable part of the trip was getting to know the host/hostess of the B&B, James and Janice. As other reviewers have commented, the location is perfect- just outside the hustle and bustle of the city, and on the most convenient of the underground lines- Piccadilly, a straight shot to and from Heathrow. The facility was perfect in every way. But it was the ability of James and Janice to make everyone at the B&B feel like family that really set this B&B apart from others where we have stayed in Europe. Upon leaving, you will feel like their closest friends, and wish you could somehow repay their kindness.

Room Tip: Book early, and James or Janice will put you in the most appropriate room for you family size or nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 571 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#11 of 571 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#22 of 571 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#21 of 571 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#25 of 571 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 59 Brookdale | New Southgate, London N11 1BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmine warmly welcomes you to Bay Tree House Bed and Breakfast. An award winning luxury B&B here in London at very affordable prices. All the rooms are newly redecorated keeping with the original "Old English style". With comfortable beds, T.V, and private bathrooms with outsized showers. The property boasts beautiful views of Arnos Park which has free tennis courts. Conveniently located in New Southgate, North London. The closest tube is Arnos Grove which is approximately a 5 minute walk. Central London is a 25-30 minute tube journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Hotel London
Bay Tree House Bed And Breakfast
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing