We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hard to find better. James and Janice are the warmest, most welcoming hosts providing the uninformed traveller with valuable and much needed local knowledge on tourist spots and fun things to do. The service is incredible and the breakfast amazing. Janice catered to our vegetarian dietary requirements with the keenest of detail and James entertained us with his great sense of humour. Arrived as guests, left as friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank courage12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    52
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
262
370
61
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Janice and Jim are gracious hosts who want to make sure that you enjoy more than just your stay with them. They make their vast knowledge of London, the ins and outs accessible for a great time. Their location a few minutes walk from Arnos Grove makes it a very convenient location coming from Heathrow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LabsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caracas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I just spend our honey moon in this great bed and breakfast place. It was wonderfull. We care a lot about James and Janice. They are so lovely and wonderfull people. We'll always are to remember them, because they made our stay as special as could be.
The place is in a great location near to the train station.
The home made food is amazing. I already miss the french toast and my husband want to eat the Salami Salami Umm, as he used to call it.
Janice and James gave us great advises about the places to visit and how to get to that places.
You are always going to be in our hearts.
We want to come back soon to visit London. And for sure we want to stay again in Bay Tree House with these amazing people.
Our best regards.
XOXO
Viry & Assad

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank virybiondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Finally we have found a place to stay in London that meets our needs.

We stayed at Bay Tree B&B for 5 days and we highly recommend it. The rooms are comfortable and large, with a nice bed and a bathroom with plenty of hot water. The bathroom is also equipped with a hot towel rack so in a cooler climate, you'd be sure to have a warm towel after the shower. The street is quiet. You cannot hear the other guests, so noise is not an issue either. The house has a nice garden with an outdoor sitting area for sunny days and an atrium for the more common cooler English weather. Breakfast was very much the highlight of our trip. Janice cooks a hot breakfast of your choice every morning and I highly recommend her French toast. The porridge with some honey, strawberries and banana is also heartwarmingly yummy. Both James and Janice are very friendly with plenty of great recommendations for visiting London & places to eat. They are very easy going and our stay felt more like we were visiting our favourite long distant relatives. The wifi connection is fast and you are just a short walk from the Piccadilly tube line, making it very convenient for getting around London. We caught the tube to Covent Garden station on the Piccadilly line to see the ballet in the evening which is only 30 minutes from the B&B. The convenient location of this B&B enabled us to come home after a day of sightseeing in London, take a fresh shower and get ready for an event in the evening. Their reputation is well deserved and really for the price you are paying per night, it is a real bargain. On our last day as we said goodbye, Janice gave me a small gift of my favourite tea bags that I have been having during my stay with them. It's a personal touch that I think is so lovely about staying in their B&B. We will definitely come back to see Janice & James again when we return to London in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank NomadBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The reason it is #1 is James and Janice Monaghan. From the moment we walked in we were treated like family. They are a wealth of knowledge and Janice's directions were better than the guidebook I had purchased. The breakfasts were outstanding and if you went away hungry it was your own fault. The room was comfy and the bathroom was spacious. The neighborhood is quiet and convenient to the tube. Both James and Janice went above and beyond in giving service even carrying us to the tube station on our final day as it was too icy to walk. Wonderful people and wonderful stay. This is what all bed and breakfasts should be like.

Room Tip: All rooms were good but we stayed in the blue room at the front of the house. Perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I'll start by saying this isn't what we usually do; we usually go for faceless hotels. We thought we'd try something new for a change - and we were so glad we did!
Janice and James are the nicest people in the world, it was really more like staying with a favourite aunt & uncle than being paying guests! We felt welcome, relaxed and well looked after during the whole stay. Our room & bathroom were spotless and comfortable, and although it isn't right in the heart of london, the short tube ride away means you get a really good nights sleep due to the quiet residential street position. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone, but particularly so to the new to London and getting around it types who would benefit from the help & advice from the owner residents.

Room Tip: We had the Rose Room, which suited us very well as we were travelling with a small child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great hosts that make you feel very welcome, comfy beds that you don't want to get out of and brilliant breakfasts make Bay Tree House a great place to stay. Janice and James do everything they can to make your stay comfortable from refreshments on arrival to giving advice on places to visit and how to get there.
PS.... the toffees and fudge on the hall table are recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,731 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 557 in London
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 557 in London
424 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#18 of 557 in London
132 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#58 of 557 in London
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 59 Brookdale | New Southgate, London N11 1BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmine warmly welcomes you to Bay Tree House Bed and Breakfast. An award winning luxury B&B here in London at very affordable prices. All the rooms are newly redecorated keeping with the original "Old English style". With comfortable beds, T.V, and private bathrooms with outsized showers. The property boasts beautiful views of Arnos Park which has free tennis courts. Conveniently located in New Southgate, North London. The closest tube is Arnos Grove which is approximately a 5 minute walk. Central London is a 25-30 minute tube journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Bed And Breakfast
Bay Tree House Hotel London
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing