We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in the centre of London with a great atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The London EDITION

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The London EDITION
Ranked #81 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Luxury in the centre of London with a great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel as it was central to the Sadlers Wells and Lyceum Theaters, where we enjoyed three wonderful nights of entertainment, as well as Oxford Street and the shops during the day. What a great choice it was, the Hotel was modern (only open 6 months), stylish, comfortable, had a great atmosphere, was full of life and the staff could not do enough to look after you. We arrived by taxi and instantly the door staff knew our name. You only had to pause for a moment in the lobby before someone would look to help, which they did to arrange a table in the tavern one evening after returning from a show, or a taxi at the door on other occasions. The staff were young and a great mix of European nationalities and we loved exchanging experiences of our own and their travels around Europe. The Punch Room serves a wonderful choices of punches with a definite alcoholic kick, the Tavern bar great craic. The cellar club caused us no issues, nor did we hear the usual sounds of sirens on the streets of London. In our room on the fourth floor, which was plenty big enough for us, the bed was Queen size, comfortable and the wet room in the bathroom fabulous and we took full advantage of it. We only had breakfast in our room on the last morning, it was excellent, on time and presented beautifully (should have done it the other two days). We were not enamored with the photograph in our room of a young woman with toilet rolls wrapped around her head (an extract from the book of photographs on the table in the lobby) whose eyes followed you everywhere. There could have been a better choice of wall decoration, perhaps abstract art would match the modern decor. The high decibel level of the conversations among with the mass of busy busy young people and business men made us folk "up" from the country (Somerset) feel part of a young vibrant community which was great. At 70 we were probably the oldest residents in the hotel. There were a few niggles at times, too small to mention specifically, but they were enthusiastically fixed in minutes. We loved the hotel, but felt that £50 for a scented candle in a glass jar, from the mini bar, just a little to extravagant for our pocket. We will return another day when we visit London again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spain0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    212
    53
    19
    14
See reviews for
119
380
60
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Guest Relations and Concierge (Lazhar) went out of their way to ensure me and my 2 kids had an amazing vacation. They left cookies and milk for kids as well as puzzles in their room. They left us toothpaste in the room when we ran out. We ordered in food and they took all the plastic containers and laid the food out as if it came from their own kitchen when they delivered it to the room. The lobby and Berners are a great environment--the lobby is cool and all the workers their (doormen, front desk, concierge) are so so kind. Definietely going back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay.

The room was very tasteful and comfortable.

The restaurant and bar very atmospheric and friendly.

The stay was not without issues, but the sign of a good hotel is how the staff respond. Basically we had to wait some time for a room to be available but were treated to relaxing drinks in the bar. We checked breakfast service times before bed, but we're given the wrong finish time so missed breakfast. The restaurant staff made us comfortable and created some dishes from the breakfast menu for us alongside the brunch menu.

The impressive thing here is that the staff are customer focused and are empowered to fix problems.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gn13565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great decor, very stylish lobby and rooms. Although we didn't care for the picture in our room of the woman looking at us (it was freaky, so we covered it). Lots of cool factors in this hotel, the lobby with the big fireplace, awesome bar - where they hand cut the ice - comfy chairs and a pool table create a very trendy atmosphere. Overall the rooms are retro-hip with dark wood paneling and all black accents (tv, phone, PENCIL, lamp, outlets).

The concierges were very helpful in recommending awesome places to eat and hang out. We were able to plan a robust and extremely fun agenda by working with them. Kudos to them! However we were surprised that they never recommended the restaurant in the hotel. I don't know what that says, if anything.

Our one pet peeve was the OBVIOUS design flaw in the bathroom - no outlets. Neither my wife nor I liked having to use the blow dryer or electric shaver in the bedroom itself. These are activities for the bathroom. If one of us wanted to watch TV or sleep while the other dressed this was impossible.

Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel. And need I forget a few more points about the Edition:
* it's right off Oxford Circle, so close to the Tube station (of the same name)
* it's within walking distance to lots of great shops, restaurants and neighborhoods (Soho, Covenant Garden, Hyde Park, etc.)
* the lobby and restaurant are a meeting place for the trendy and hipsters
* if you want to dance on a Friday or Saturday night, just head to the lower level - just ask the staff and they are likely to accommodate
* blackout shades in the bedroom

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsJaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We went over 4 the night & was soooo looking 4ward 2 staying in this Hotel, looks amazing interiors beautiful but we had terrible experience. My friend had her own room & the room next 2 hers were in full party mode. She was woken to unbelievable banging & no one came to do anything about she rang reception & security was called, got music off, but still the noices from the room continued. The people in that we're going into the club were very dodgy!
A very soulless experience all in all.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank BradshawLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinKramer, Hotel Manager at The London EDITION, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear BradshawLA

I was extremely sorry to read your post concerning your friend’s experience at The London Edition. It is very rare that we receive comments such as these, please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations.

I know our night team responded to your friend’s call and advised the room next door to turn off the music, and that subsequently we monitored the area. A good night sleep is what you and your friend came for and I am extremely sorry your friend was disturbed. I fully appreciate that the gesture of a reduction in room rate and the late check out the following afternoon to catch up on some rest do not fully make up for this experience, and I would therefore truly appreciate if you would contact Sarah our Front Office Manager as she discussed on departure with your fiend for your return visit, in order for us to be able to look after you.

Thank you for your comments, and I do hope we will be able to restore your faith in us, as you do enjoy the interiors and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

There is a new kid on the block in London: The London Edition Hotel. It opened in September 2013 and I just stayed there. No question about it: that's where I will stay the next time I am in town. It is a lovely building (actually several old buildings combined) with great style, thanks to the collaboration of Ian Schrager. My room was comfortable and well appointed. I have nothing but good things to say.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveledGal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We love the bar. Great surroundings, terrific cocktails and attentive bar staff. Ok, it's not cheap but well worth the visit. We've been a few times now. And it's a great location if you're dining in the West End.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#52 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#32 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#33 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London EDITION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London EDITION

Property: The London EDITION
Address: 10 Berners Street, London W1T 3NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The London EDITION 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London EDITION brings together the integrity and character of a historic building with a simple, sophisticated design sensibility, creating a seamless blend of charisma and ease. With 173 rooms, a restaurant, two bars, meeting rooms and a buzzing lobby, the hotel offers a dynamic social hub where guests and visitors can work, relax, socialise and dine all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The London EDITION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London EDITION England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing