We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice owners but .....”
Review of Shoreditch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shoreditch Inn
Ranked #23 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice owners but .....”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, easy access to Old Street and Liverpool Street stations. Lots of good eating places close by, also Brick Lane, and great shopping.
The good attributes of the hotel include location, continental breakfast, bath/shower room, cleanliness. But sadly these are outweighed by the major negative which was the noise from the pub, George and Dragon, next door. Music so loud it made the floor vibrate on both Monday and Wednesday nights. We complained to the owners who contacted the pub, and it stopped on Tuesday, but disturbed our night again on Wednesday. The owners were very apologetic, but couldn't really prevent it. So, sadly, it's not a place we could return to. Also, rooms very hot and not able to cool them down via air conditioning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LadySugarfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    121
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
34
90
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel was really nice - perfect room, quiet, warm and very comfortable. Sparkling clean and fresh with 'wow' factor as you enter the room. Quality furniture and fittings. Soap, shampoo, lots of towels and even a bottle of water in the fridge. Price includes a great continental breakfast with lots of choice. The only thing that was budget was the price !

The staff were lovely and very helpful and I would definitely book again. Generous 12.00 checkout

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusting, West Sussex, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have tried a lot of budget hotels in London and this is only the third addition to a list of hotels I would return to.

Our operations manager is great at finding good places in good locations and really came up trumps this time. This is a brand new hotel, decorated with high standards and without cutting corners. The bed was comfortable and I found the room well located and quiet. Also staff were very friendly.

It was about ten minutes from Old Street station which was great for me.

Only negatives are that the lift was not working yet (but stairs were fine) and the breakfast was continental only - nothing cooked.

But for the price, this was great value. I will be back whenever I need to stay near Old Street or Shoreditch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed with my friend on a weekend trip to London. The Shorditch Inn is located a 5 minuet walk from lots of good bars and restaurants, this was perfect for us as it ment we didn't need to get the tube or cab home ( which can be a nightmare late at night )
The best thing about the Hotel has to be the 12:00 checkout.

Room Tip: if you are sensitive to noise rooms on the upper floors would probably be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Shoreditch Inn. The outside of the hotel looks deceptively small from the road but don't let that put you off!
The room was a fantastic size, as does the bathroom, and with great extra features, like the in room personal safe and fridge. The rooms have been decorated in beautiful style and are wonderfully maintained.
The staff and manager we're all really helpful, and to say the hotel is a new and first time venture for the family, just goes to show you can do great things if you try!
From a practical perspective, we chose the hotel because it was near our conference venue, so we walked everywhere, and it's a fab central location for that with Spitelfields within easy walking distance. The lift was down and due for maintenance next week when we got there so double check if you have someone with restricted mobility before booking, and the king size bed we had in our room was very low, which we loved, but it might be a little harder for older people or again those with mobility issues.
All in all we loved it, and won't be looking elsewhere for accommodation in London again, we'd love to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked this for a one night stay. Advertised as having parking close by. Very misleading. On checking in we were given a print out of local parking. This included the chance to rent private driveways on a monthly basis. Not much use when you're only staying for one night! My husband tried 3 of the recommended car parks that were advertised as 24 hour, only to find they were closed. After driving around London in Friday night traffic for an hour, he finally found a secure car park that was 2 minutes walk from the place we were eating at that night, that was about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

Meanwhile, I had checked in only to be told that thye lift was out of order and I had to carry my bags and cases up 6 flights of stairs to our room. The room itself was fine and I thought it was clean untill I saw the used soap in the dish left by the previous occupant. Not very pleasant!

I prefer a firm bed but this bed was very hard. After a shower I waited (in vain) for my husband to arrive on the chair in the room. This was not at all boring as I passed the time watching the curtain slowly fall to the floor as each curtain ring gave way!

Having said all this, the hotel served it's purpose. We would not have booked this room had we known of the parking issues. The staff we pleasant but obviously embarassed and were used to people complaining about the misleading parking availability. the receptionist said that in the daytime people parked at the hospital. I pointed out that when staying in a hotel most people neede overnight parking NOT daytime parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny2813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#312 of 1,067 in London
545 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#132 of 1,067 in London
395 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#32 of 556 in London
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#25 of 556 in London
215 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#17 of 556 in London
132 reviews
The Cleveland
#19 of 556 in London
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreditch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreditch Inn

Property: Shoreditch Inn
Address: 1 Austin Street, London E2 7NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreditch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated from 5-minute walk from Shoreditch, Hoxton Overground Stations and 5-10 minute walk from Liverpool Street, Old Street Stations The Shoreditch Inn offers budget soundproofed rooms, 24-hour front desk, and air conditioning. Each room at The Shoreditch Inn features an en suite bathroom with free toiletries and a hair-dryer, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, a safety box, and tea/coffee making facilities. A complimentary continental breakfast is available.. Restaurants, shops, and bars can be reached within a 5-minute walk. Located just half a mile from Old Street, the hotel is also 5 minutes' walk from Hoxton Station. Bus stops, which operate a 24-hour bus service, are 1 minute's walk away. London's iconic Big Ben is 3 and half miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shoreditch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreditch Inn London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing