We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would have given it 6 stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marianne Restaurant

Marianne Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $81 - $106
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Would have given it 6 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a great restaurant. Seating only 12 people Marianne certainly manages to attend to every detail of the food she’s preparing. Being my wife’s birthday we couldn´t have chosen a better place for the celebrative dinner. Everything was perfect. The service was 1st class all throughout the evening, the food was out of this world and the wine was incredible. I’m so happy to have found this gem and I’m definitely coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joistori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    72
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Most marvellous restaurant. An absolute gem. Very small and intimate with excellent front of house a complement to a most amazing kitchen. Food fabulous and Marianne is destined for great things as a chef.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perigueux, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I don't know what to say about the other reviewers experience (on the same evening) but ours was outstanding in every department. The fois gras starter is delicious, served warmed. The pigeon (main course) was the best I've ever tasted, and the same goes for the souffle and the homemade salted caramel ice cream (both have to be tasted to be believed).
Staff and service were impeccable, chef very amicable, an unpretentious, cosy spot with a great atmosphere serving some of the best dishes I've ever tasted.
Was lucky enough to be called about a cancellation, book well in advance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank L M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmachar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

My friend and I had the tasting menu and enjoyed the whole experience. The young team did an excellent job ensuring that we had a most enjoyable evening. It's great to see a young, fresh team working so well together. Francesca did an excellent job front of house and the sommelier provided great wines to go with the excellent food. It's not just the food that provides a great dining experience, so it's great to see a young team working so hard to provide great service in all aspects. The Hebridean scallops, the cheese board and the fabulous chocolate dessert with salted caramel ice cream were my favourite courses. We had extra wines which were expensive but fabulous. Well done Marianne and team. I would definitely visit again. Cosy and intimate little restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FeeOotnaboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous, friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Dined here with a friend for a birthday treat, would definately go back and recommend anyone else to try it. We had the tasting menu with accompanying wines, choice of wine for each course was spot on. Truffle linguine was the best I've ever had as was the vanilla soufflé with strawberry sorbet. Another highlight was the cheese board, fantastic selection and served with a chilled red, amazing! Staff were excellent and very friendly and helpful, we even met Marianne, who was so lovely and happy to take the time to chat to us two!

Helpful?
Thank Jhyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marianne Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marianne Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing