We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Musical Dirty Dancing
Ranked #144 of 345 Concerts & Shows in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The quality of dance was amazing even the singing, but the show as a whole I felt was poor, possibly not as poor as Wicked but not a million miles away

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kell2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    55
    74
    64
    91
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The negative reviews are spot on”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I was expecting it to be bad due to the poor reviews, after a couple of minutes I thought, this isn't so bad. However, I then realised all the reviews had been accurate and there isn't much I can add to what's been said. Penny is an amazing dancer, Baby is like in the film but her dancing was awkward even at the end, Johnny's voice is AWFUL! We were in the grand circle and couldn't see all of the stage including a key bit at the end. Lots of short scenes that didn't even make sense and seemed awkward and random. Best bit was the dance number at the end but by then it felt like too little too late and I had to explain to my husband (it was his first show) that good shows should be like that all the way through. All in all we were able to laugh at it but I had gone hoping tripadvisor would be proved wrong but no such luck.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kate310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great production , wife loved it”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Booked this for 40th birthday celebration.Arrived and was informed we had been upgraded from the rear too 3 rows back. GREAT !!!

Really enjoyed it , would recommend going.

The bar is very pricey though and plastic glasses.

Best do what we all do when we go to the pictures.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cavtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Aw what a disappointment”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Had tried to book this prior to seeing the jersey boys. Ipad and the late booking agencies seemingly had no tickets unless at £20 surcharge so went to theatre box office around 1500 to buy probably best seats at face price £62 E 14/15 in the stalls. Surprised by the number of empty seats (why?) the lady next to us bought her ticket 30 minutes before the performance the participants tried hard,the lead. Female DANCER was brilliant but the show was somewhat stunted leaving us a bit disappointed with the hype

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank patbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice evening”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I've seen a fair few musicals/shows in my time and this was good, but unfortunately not the best.

Dirty Dancing is one of my favourite films and I did wonder as to whether this would be as good as the film.

The dancing was incredible and there were some very comical moments in the production that allowed the audience to get involved and the characters who played Penny and Baby's sister was very good! A real asset to the show. The theatrics were also of a good (but not amazing) standard, trying to get all the difficult bits of the film suitable for theatre. Singers were also good.

However, some things were a let down:
- The first act (before the interval) was very much liked the film, copied most lines from it = no originality.
- Only some songs were sung and some originals were played - when I see a musical I like it all to be sung.
- Acting was poor by some of the cast. Felt rushed too!

All in all though it was a nice evening, but I wasn't amazed. The dancing was the most important thing here and that was to a very good standard.

The Piccadilly theatre is a great venue - fantastic customer service!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank djaye14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musical Dirty Dancing also viewed

 

Been to Musical Dirty Dancing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing