We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but find another”
Review of Belgrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belgrove Hotel
Ranked #924 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convenient, but find another”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We asked for ground floor and were given room between 1st and ground. Inside room, so it WAS quiet. Had a double & single bed, so we 2 used both. It used to be a room w/o bath and they put the toilet in a teeny closet, and the shower in the teeny closet in the entry "hall." Toilet door had no latch and we couldn't use the toilet w/o the door popping open. Previous reviewers covered my same comments. Breakfast was adequate, but had to wait in line to sit down. Stairs are very tight and terrible. Desk staff was friendly to us. Kitchen staff had a hard time keeping up; waitress was hard-working, but cook surly.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor, inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoGinnyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    90
    165
    85
    135
See reviews for
87
147
86
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Honestly the only reason why we booked this hotel is for its locality and the price it offers for this location. BUT. I think for this price, I would rather walk a bit further and stay elsewhere..

1. They messed up our booking.
2. Dodgy, old, tiny and dirty looking hotel.
3. We had to ask 3x for the radiator to be turned on; and even so, its pretty much useless. Room still freezing cold cuz of the weather.
4. Sound proofing is horrible, worse if u staying low levels. U can hear footsteps of those living upstairs.
5. No lift, expect to carry ur luggages up and down stairs.
6. Toilet is terribly minimal. Dont even expect hooks to hang your linen or racks for toiletries. Its just a toilet bowl (there isnt even a toilet roll holder!), tiny sink and shower.
7. Hot water flask still contains water from previous user. Cups and utensils, I wonder if they were even washed.
8. Bed linen looks horribly old and stained.
9. No smoking in hotel, but hotel staff smoke right outside the hotel makes little difference.
10. Go elsewhere. For this price, u deserve better.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cinthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

stayed here for one night as it was nice and close to Eurostar. The room is very basic, no lampshade, the shower/toilet cubicle are very small. the headboard was loose and every time you turned over it would bang against the wall. if you have any mobility problems defiantly do not use this hotel the stairs are steep and dodgy looking. Breakfast was ok and that's being kind.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

As many people said before me: The location of the hotel is about the only good thing. Read on, if you would like to know more details!

Check-in time 1pm? Yes, in theory. In reality, not so much:
As my flight arrived quite early, I went to the hotel to drop off my luggage. At that stage I was already treated like someone unwelcome. Okay, I thought, things can become better later on. A few hours later, I went back to the hotel to get my camera, again they made me feel like an intruder. At 2pm - one hour after check-in officially begins - I arrived to check-in. By that time, I still had not heard a friendly greeting. The first question was "How do you want to pay?"... and my room was not even ready yet.

Dodgy stairs, no help, mocking staff:
After I had painstakingly managed to get my big suitcase (25kgs as I am in the process of moving to the UK) up THREE floors on a very dodgy stair up, there was still a cleaner in my room. The hallway looked like a construction site, with utensils all over it. I still tried to be optimistic. The cleaner took her time to finish and I stood on the sad looking hallway. When I finally could get into my room (small but not too small, little cupboards in bad repairs, with handles missing, others partially broken off, TV remote looked like it had a few operations behind it etc.), I heard the two cleaners and later on a male joking outside, laughing about me.

The room and bathroom/toilet:
The room was okay as mentioned before. Not very good quality, but okay for the price. The shower room was a disgrace though. I had to think about Stephen King's IT all the time, thinking that this might be the kind of place the clown might be hiding.... Also: the shower only knows two settings: Hot as hell or cold as the North Pole. Also not much space to hang up clothing or towels, very inconvenient.
The toilet was not super good looking, tiles on the wall were missing, certain signs speak of a lack of proper cleaning, but okay, it's not like you spend much time in there.

Breakfast:
Very, very basic in a room that makes a school canteen look inviting. The coffee was okay, the juice tasted like cheap, stale cordial watered down a lot. The few pieces of toast that were there were cold and rubber like (and it was only 7.10am, 10 minutes after start). Bacon was very overcooked (there is a difference between nice, crispy bacon and dry, burnt bacon), everything else was cold. The two workers were not very friendly and made me feel like I was only an interruption to their gossip session. Other guests also looked uncomfortable.

General staff friendliness:
I am not sure whether staff would be friendlier if they were proper English people - because a lack of friendliness is what annoyed me most about this hotel (most hostels and YHAs have friendlier and more helpful staff - so it's not about the price you pay). It was my first night in England ever and I had heard so much about English hospitality. This is not the place for it. Here only your money is welcome. You as a guest are just an annoyance. Among all the staff only one has been nice - and that was when I checked-out. Maybe they are just happy to see people go?

They do not great you in a friendly way. They show absolutely no interest in anything but your wallet. I know it's a budget hotel but I've stayed in cheaper places and still received better service. If you can't be friendly to people and can't follow some basic hospitality guidelines, then you shouldn't work in hospitality! And I know my fair share because I DID work in various hospitality jobs.

This place is only good for people with very little luggage (as there are MANY stairs, and no lift), and who only spend the night there. I would not go there again. I'd rather pay a bit more - a friendly attitude makes such a big difference.

Room Tip: Lower rooms will be exposed to smoke smells - and maybe other smells that are not so nice - as staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just cross the road and round the corner. Good location. Small room with reasonable toilet/shower area (if you are moderate in body size). Heater is not really enough despite turn to the highest. Luckily London is not that cold on that night. Don't expect too much with £49 for a night esp in London area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carbopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I booked this hotel for my daughter and her friend who were visiting London. Sinc sit is very close to the EUROSTAR St. Pacreas Terminal I hoped it would be a good deal. The rooml was relatively cheap (for London standards) but it was a bad choice.
There were literally holes in the walls of the very small room. Someone left dirty socks on the floor. The breakfast was not OK. The staff knowledge of the English language was low.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was pretty optimistic when booking the hotel after finding a room for 2, for £59 per night! Incredible value for the location. The purpose of my visit was a one night stay for me and a friend as we were going to a gig in London. We didn't expect the ritz, but all we wanted was clean bedding, a secure room and a 24 hour reception. And that is what we got. I wouldn't recommend staying if your trip of anything more than a weekend away as it isn't great if you are alending lots of time in the room. But if you are out exploring London, shopping and hitting the bars on oxford street, or just looking for a place to put your head down this is perfect. We actually ended up staying an extra night as we missed our train and the staff were very understanding and helpful. Although not being able to go back to the room we were in previously, we were more than happy to stay another night. I feel people are being too picky about the size of the rooms, yes they were small and it was hard for 2 of us to move around the (undersized "double") bed, but what do you expect when you pay so little! I will more than likely return later this year when I revisit London for a couple of nights between shopping and trying out the bars.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edajkrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#545 of 1,067 in London
897 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#732 of 1,067 in London
539 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#538 of 1,067 in London
955 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#374 of 1,067 in London
1,813 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#949 of 1,067 in London
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrove Hotel

Property: Belgrove Hotel
Address: 1-3 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #924 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Belgrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrove Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing