We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst hotel experience”
Review of Belgrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belgrove Hotel
Ranked #921 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst hotel experience”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and i booked this little place as somewhere to put our heads down during a week of shopping and sight-seeing in London. Because of the price, we were obviously not expecting miracles but the pics looked nice enough and so we were happy.

Upon arrival, we were checked in with no problem by a nice friendly lady, and then after being warned not to leave anything of value in our room whilst we were out (...?...!) we were given a key on the 3rd floor. There was no elevator, and no porters, so we had to lug our bags up several flights of tiny narrow stairs by ourselves but still - i thought, "it's ok, it's a cheap hotel! This is to be expected!"
Then I opened the door to our bedroom.

At first, i thought it was just old and tired, but the more i looked, the more i saw.
The window was broken and wouldn't close. Not only that, but it kept banging.
The room was TINY, just big enough for the bed and nothing else - desk/dresser at the end but could not pull the chair out due to bed taking up all the space.
Room had obviously been cleaned, but not well. sheets were clean and fresh, but what little carpet we could see in the tiny room was unhoovered and there was dust and even a cobweb in the corner.
The bathroom was laughable, it looked like a converted cupboard, I, not a slim woman but certainly not above average, had to suck my stomach in to get around the sink to the shower!! The sink had no plug fitting in it, just a hole.
Again though, to pick on the positives i can find, the bathroom was clean and the towel we were left was fresh.

Already uncomfortable, but not being on a large budget, my husband and i decided to give it a night before we said anything, so i tried to take a shower... tried... no hot water, and then boiling hot water, and then no water at all... I gave up.

We spent the night sleepless - kept awake by the noise from both inside the hotel and from outside our broken window. We were right by the stairs and the walls were paper thin, meaning we could hear EVERYTHING going on without.

The following morning, tired and grouchy, we went down to breakfast, a horrible canteen-like room right in the basement, where we were met with "basics" cornflakes or a hot buffet of overdone bacon, tinned tomatoes and scrambled egg (which was surprisingly nice actually). here, my husband was snapped at by a member of staff for asking for milk for the cup of instant coffee he was handed. At this point, we cut our losses and went back upstairs for our bags. Upon speaking to the woman at reception on our way across to the premmie over the road, we were told apologetically "no refunds" by the same nice lady who'd checked us in.

Worst waste of money I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    89
    163
    83
    135
See reviews for
86
146
83
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
548 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A small, but clean and comfortable hotel. We booked this for a budget night away, and for less than a £80 we got a central hotel, 3 minutes walk from Kings Cross/ St Pancras stations. Friendly helpful staff, a small but adequate bedroom and a tiny en-suite shower. Ok for one night, especially after walking upstairs as there is no lift.
Price included a buffet breakfast which was well presented and plenty of food.

Very good value for the low by central London standards price

Room Tip: No lift. Beware if the stairs may be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARKAYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were down for a boozy night out for the football and just looked for somewhere to lay our heads. Not too bothered about living the high life we thought this should be ideal. On arrival our room wasn't ready, and the receptionist so kindly said we could leave our bags in the corridor; but she could not be held responsible if they got stolen by thieving filthy types. Our room was like a dungeon and I'm sure i heard the Dick Turpins haunted laugh. The toilets stank so much that I was hallucinating and thought I was walking through the Bog of Eternal Stench like in the film Labyrinth. My friend was desparate for a jobby but decided to walk 4 miles to my other friends hotel; rather than lay a badboy in the communal hell hole and risk blocking the dodgy plumbing. After that we just decided it after 6 whole seconds of discussion that we all would be better sleeping on the floor of Euston station but then after that again we just went and slept on our friends' floor even tho they had also been out drinking and eating kebabs the night before and were snoring and farting a lot. This was a price we WERE willing to pay. Won't be back in London ever.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustapha3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked this as it was close to St Pancras. What a shocker. Had to lug 2 suitcases up 5 storeys on a very narrow staircase as there is no lift. Got to the room with a bathroom and was it small. Lucky to be 3.5m x 3m with the bathroom to single beds, a desk and bedside table. The beds were uncomfortable, it was stuffy, as if you left the window open it was noisy and also the toilet cistern took a good 30 minutes to fill up. At 4am and 5am were woken up by other people having showers. Would not recommend this to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked for one night prior to Eurostar so chose close hotel. It was a 30C plus day and the hotel was impossible to stay in so left after half an hour. Cramped and the stair case was very worn and tired. A terrible experience but you learn by experience. Then checked into Renaissance St Pancras so cost a fortune!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here in June for 5 nights. I booked late so most hotels were booked up in my price range. I asked for a quiet room (a tall order for a hotel so close to Euston Road!) & I was given an attic room - not too noisy - but still needed earplugs! There is no lift & there are 48 steps up to the attic - but it's a budget hotel so I accept that. The room was small, scruffy but adequate. There was a problem with the TV every day - I gave up in the end! Room was cleaned every day & bed was made. Breakfast is grim - in the basement. The kitchen staff ignored me when I arrived - a smile & a 'Good Morning' would have been nice! Cereal was just cornflakes from a plastic container. There was a choice of watery squash or tap water. Coffee was OK - from an individual pot. Cooked breakfast was often cold - even at 7.15am! You can help yourself so there is plenty if you like tinned tomatoes, baked beans, cold toast, cold eggs & bacon. I'm sure that there are far worse hotels in London at this price (£60 per night) but also much better ones if you book early.

Room Tip: Ask for attic room if you want a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Where do I start! We checked in to the hotel on arrival and did not even receive a greeting, just asked 'how do you want to pay?' We then struggled up the narrow staircases to the 2nd floor with our suitcases, buggy and 5month old daughter to be greeted by a very small, badly decorated and funny smelling room with wallpaper peeling off the walls and rotting window frames. We had requested a cot in the room which seemed to have been jammed at the bottom of the bed between the bed and a wardrobe and had what I can only describe as a mattress that felt like it had been made out of wood. It was a very warm night but unfortunately we could not have the window open due to the amount of noise coming from the street and there was no other ventilation. We then had a very restless sleep due to the heat as well as the walls being made of cardboard so we were vey lucky to be prive to the conversation had by our neighbour in the next room on a mobile phone at 2am and lots of slamming doors.
If you like the old-fashioned/ to-be condemned feel at a hotel and can live on little sleep this is definitely the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yidarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#554 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#738 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#533 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#862 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#369 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrove Hotel

Property: Belgrove Hotel
Address: 1-3 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #921 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Belgrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrove Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing