We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Charm prevails”
Review of Belgrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belgrove Hotel
Ranked #924 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at the Belgrove, the 1st to the 3rd February 2013. Its location is excellent literally a hop over the street from Kings Cross and has access right outside the door to the tube. I travelled to London by Caledonia sleeper.

Turning up at the hotel (just 15 minutes on foot from Euston) at 8:45am i was greeted by a friendly receptionist, who allowed me to leave me luggage in a secure area so i could attend a meeting in Covent garden before returning to check in.

Returning to check in, the same receptionist gave me my keys to a triple room on the top floor (room 45), i was being joined by friends the following day. There is no lift and its obvious the hotel is in fact three town houses knocked together to form one. Room 45 is a loft room with a double and single bed with sink in the room and a wardrobe. The toilet and shower is shared on the landing but there is two of each so no need to queue.

I have to agree with other reviewers the place does need a fair bit of updating décor wise. My room had seen better days but i felt a real sense of charm about it, reminded me a lot of my student days at italia conti. beds where fresh and comfortable, the wardrobe was unusable, i was amazed it stayed standing for the duration of the visit. The room was clean and there was a tv, but i had to retune it before getting bbc 1 on it!.

Breakfast was served in the basement dining room, was plentiful and hot and the staff were extremely friendly.

This is an excellent hotel if you remember its a budget hotel and does exactly what it says on the tin. It offers excellent access to kings cross and a comfortable, clean and friendly nights stay at an excellent price.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, however ive decided to try one of its sister hotels (the European) for my visit in April as i hear its set a little further back from kings cross on the delightful Argyll square.

If you want affordable and comfortable accommodation whilst in London you wont go far wrong with the belgrove, will be even better once the decorators have been in.
Brett Herriot
February 2013.

Room Tip: rooms facing away from the street are quieter and i did enjoy being in a loft room but remember ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theatreworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at Belgrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

We are a budget bed and breakfast and we offer low cost rooms in a very central London location.

We try our best to offer value for money.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 526 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

First of all the positives:
• At around £50 per night this is certainly one of the cheaper hotels in London
• The hotel is as close to Kings Cross station as you can get unless you want to actually sleep on the platform
• The room was clean and the bed linen fresh and well laundered
• Coffee/tea making facilities in the room
• Free view TV
• Breakfast included – full English and plenty of it…

The not so positives aspects of the room:
• Small room
• Décor in need of updating and a bit tatty
• The room was a bit noisy, but you are in the centre of London and most of the noise was from trains and city traffic.

All in all, you get what you pay for. Better than I expected but if all you are looking for is a warm, clean place to sleep I would recommend this hotel. Not really a place I would stay for a holiday unless you are really on a budget.

Room Tip: Higher floor roomss have poor water presure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickdfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at Belgrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

We are a budget bed and breakfast hotel located in a very central London location.

Being in a central London location rooms are not very large due to limited space.

However we try our best to offer our guests value for money.

Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Really nice stay in this clean, quiet hotel.Recommended for othose who don't care about frills but do care about a good night's sleep. Breakfast was a nice surprise. TOIlet and shower very clean and staff friendlY.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank tiana l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at Belgrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews but as it was just for one night ....Room/ shower& toilet small but spotlessly clean as were the bed linen & towels.Tea/ coffee making facilities in each room but buy milk yourself.Breakfast was included in price, a basic buffet but eat as much as you like! One cereal,one juice but plenty of bacon, sausages,eggs, toast, beans and scrambled eggs. Tea /coffee freshly made for each person.We had to turn off the heating it was so warm at night.
Kings Cross rail and underground nearby, it is central to everything, staff were helpful and pleasant with 24 hour reception.
Stop moaning on here, you get what you pay for, its budget accommodation NOT the Ritz!
I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone visiting London on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at Belgrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Peggy

Thank you so much for your feedback.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to offer a comfortable, pleasant stay to our guests at affordable prices and in an excellent London location.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotelier19, Manager at Belgrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Good: It takes only two minutes to get the nearest tube station. The English Breakfast buffet. Bed´s were confortable and the bedrroms were clean. In general, staff was very kind and respectful.

Not so good: The nightly receptionist could have smiled a little bit to us. One of the bedrooms had not the central heating functioning in proper conditions. The tiny shower space and his little moisture spot´s.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VillaBatalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at Belgrove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Its lovely to hear you will be visiting us again.

With regards to the heating we can easily rectify this as this can easily be fixed by our maintanence team. We try our best to offer our guests affordable prices in a fantastic London location.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The room was too small for 3 persons. Water was dripping inside the broken window.
Somebody had tried to fix it with tape... Cold winds from window. Too small shower and
toilet. Doors hard to close (toilet, shower). No place to put the suitcases.
Beds were clean and good to sleep in. Rather calm hotel but underground sounds
in the ealy morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anita_1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#763 of 1,081 in London
576 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#272 of 1,081 in London
2,078 reviews
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#875 of 1,081 in London
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#627 of 1,081 in London
1,020 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#309 of 1,081 in London
1,788 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#553 of 1,081 in London
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrove Hotel

Address: 1-3 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #924 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $74 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belgrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrove Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing