We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unprofessional manager, not helpful hotel staffs and NO WORKING HEATER!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belgrove Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Belgrove Hotel
Ranked #922 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unprofessional manager, not helpful hotel staffs and NO WORKING HEATER!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We moved to Belgrove Hotel after we cannot stay at the European hotel which put us ( 2 elderly people and 1 younger adult) on the 5th floor without lift. We paid 105 pound per night for this hotel and we stayed 4 nights. At first, we are grateful that they give us a room in the basement with 3 beds and bathroom.

That slowly turn into a nightmare with no heater. As London average temperature is 2 to 3 celcius pernight during our stay, we asked the receptionist to turn on the heater. On the 2nd night, the male receptionist immediately turned on the heater after he asked the room number. On the 3rd and 4th night, other receptionists were not helpful including the female hotel manager.

In the morning of 3rd night, we asked the hotel manager to turn on the heater so we can take a warm shower in the freezing room. The hotel manager reply is, " We have many guests who did not even take bath for 2 days". We were shocked to the core by such unprofessional reply.After asking twice, they send someone to check the heater. He apologized and said there is a button to turn on the heater. He even said that the heater will turn on at night.After we return to the hotel room on the 3rd night, there is no button to be seen and we have to go up to the receptionist to turn on the heater. The receptionist did not know how to turn on the heater. How funny and unprofessional!

On the 4th night, he said it is impossible and talk to the manager on the 5th day which is the day we checked out!!! He said he will leave a message to the manager and receptionist. On the 5th day, the morning receptionist said we didn't inform them anything about the heater and she still refused to turn on the heater. The heater is not spoiled and is in good condition.

We couldn't take a morning shower because it is too cold. We have cold breath coming out of our mouth. We decided to check out earlier where the waiting lounge at king cross station is warmer. While I'm typing this review, I'm grateful to God that my mother did not get fever or sick.

When we want to check out, the receptionist is nowhere to be seen. My mom have to go to basement purposely to look for her. She was smoking in a group with the hotel staffs and chit chatting. She did not say anything like thanks for staying at our hotel and she just said bye. She did not even went back to the receptionist counter and just stayed in the canteen to continue smoking.

I will not hire this kind of staffs in my hotel if I were the owner of this hotel, seriously...

Don't stay here for the convenience of King's cross station. Go to other hotel where there is some decent hotel receptionist and a working heater. This hotel staffs didn't care about the welfare of hotel guests at all.

Room Tip: Please mention that you want a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RACHELSIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    88
    157
    83
    130
See reviews for
85
143
78
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We asked for a 3-bed room and got a room with 2 beds, one single bed and one slightly larger, unsuitable for two people. The room was very small, not so clean and very noisy, with noise coming both from the outside and from inside the hotel. Good position (near King's Cross) and good breakfast aren't enough to get two stars out of five.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at The Belgrove last year, in the middle of the April/May heatwave. We picked the hotel mainly for its low price and close proximity to Kings Cross Station. We had no problems with this hotel at all - our room was small but clean and had everythign we needed. It was situated on a quiet side street very close to the station, with a convenience store on the corener just across the street. It was 5 minutes walk from some lovely friendly bars and it took us less than 5 minutes to walk to the station the next morning. We would definitely return to this hotel if we needed to stay in the Kings Cross area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angellea69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stay here every time I go to London (If I can get booked in!!). I like the hotel as its no frills, cheap and cheerful. Excellent location, friendly staff and alright brekkie! Not a 5* establishment but I hardly spend anytime in the room when I go to LDN anyway. So pointless spending loads of money! I feel safe staying here and just love love love the location!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

First, I cannot comprehend anyone giving this hotel three or four stars; irrespective of how much you pay for a place, just because it is relatively cheap does not mean it warrants a higher rating. Those who do so misrepresent a hotel and do those who use Trip Advisor no favours whatsoever.

We booked this hotel for the London Marathon, in which our son was partaking. We left it a little late and it is not a mistake we shall make again.

The location is good: literally over the road from Kings Cross Station, which was ideal for us. However, that is where most of the "good" ends! The reception staff were pleasant and helpful, but the room! To describe it as small is like saying a Rolls Royce Is a family saloon; it was tiny, to the extent that it was nearly impossible for two people to navigate around each other.

The bathroom was tiny also with a shower that was not separate from the rest of the room, which meant that when you had a shower, which was as powerful as a butterfly sneeze, the whole bathroom floor was under inches of water, which made it lethal. We had to use one of the small, bath towels to mop it up.

There was a television in the room, which didn't work; kept coming up with "no signal", which was a disappointment as it is customary for us to at least catch some of the latest news and weather forecast. However, the lack of TV on an evening was of no consequence, because there is no way you would have contemplated staying in the room any longer than was absolutely necessary, which in our case was to sleep. To be fair to the staff, we told them about the TV and it was working, when we returned later that evening.

The breakfast was a full English and what a debacle this turned out to be. We had to queue for a table and then share it with another couple. The food was leathery, the tea luke warm and the whole experience rather depressing.

My advice: pay a bit more unless you really are on a shoe-string budget.

Room Tip: Pay more and try Bloomsbury five minutes away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topfellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
namur
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is a quiet hotel with quite small rooms (our room was small...) situated next to St Pancras international and so very easy for a two day trip where we did everything on foot !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank yves v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#536 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#729 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#524 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#366 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrove Hotel

Property: Belgrove Hotel
Address: 1-3 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #922 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Belgrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrove Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing