We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and handy!”
Review of Pembury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pembury Hotel
Ranked #898 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a twin room. Hotel and room were modern and fine, if a little small, as was the bathroom. Continental breakfast was just enough, and for the price we paid this was excellent value! Tube station is about a 5 minute walk, but we discovered the Number 29 bus which took us straight to Trafalgar Square for all our sightseeing needs-result!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welshmandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 412 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Pembury for a rave at Alexandra Palace which is 10 mins in a taxi so for us the location was perfect. It was pretty much a no frills hotel with very small rooms but since we only wanted somewhere to sleep it didnt really bother us. The beds were comfy and we slept right through. Check in was nice and quick and looks like they have spent a bit of money doing up the lobby and bar area so it looks fairly modern. They have BT Sport so had both the Arsenal and the Utd game on in the bar which is a bonus.

All in all, served our purpose well enough and for £70 in a great location for either Arsenal games or an event at Ally Pally, the price is very reasonable if you book early enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights here as I was working in London and picked this hotel as it was close to The Emirates Stadium (I was attending a CL game).
The rooms are modern enough but very small and tight. There is a flat screen TV on the wall with free view TV, small bathroom and tea making facilities.The room was very hot due to the warm winter so far and it was noisy if you opened the window due to the close proximity of the main road.
Breakfast is continental style and is served in the cafe that shares the premises. There is free wifi available in the lobby area.
The nearest tube station is Finsbury Park (10 minutes walk).
In summary, this is a typical budget hotel for London. I would stay again if any didnt have better options available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyHatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A budget stay close to Finsbury Park rail- and underground station.

Staff was friendly and the reception looked nice and modern.

The room was clean and good enough to stay for the night. Though we didn't slept to well, because of the noisy rooms. You could hear doors closing and people walking down the hall.

The bathroom looked very clean and was quite spacious. The toilet made a lot of noise and the shower didn't stay at temperature but turned from warm to cold all the time.

Breakfast was okay. Simple but good enough for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKfan1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was at Pembury hotel with my girlfriend for 3 night in June 2013. We had a double room at the second floor. The room was very small, the bed taking up almost all the space in the room. There was a large pillar in the middle of the room making it hard to move around the small space left over by the bed. The bathroom was also very small and poorly designed. The sink in the toilet and the mirror on top of it were placed so that there was no way of fitting your head over the sink to wash your face or your teeth. The shower was also a tricky one to use, turning from warm to cold in unexpected intervals. The breakfast that was included was a joke. There were cornflakes,toast, tea, coffee, cheese and ham offered, IF you managed to be one of the first to be there. If you came an hour or so, after they started serving breakfast, you were lucky to have toast and tea. The location is far away from the city center, but this is not a major setback, because you can get to the center with the metro in 15 minutes and the metro station is located relatively close to the hotel. The neighbourhood seems safe and was not noise in the night, so I guess that would be the best point of this hotel. The price of the stay was not expensive, so I guess in a way you get what you pay for. Would not recommend this, unless you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very basic small clean room except for dirty glass in bathroom which was promptly replaced when I took it to the manager. There was no way to control the heating, but I was in the back and could open the window for air. Thin walls, slamming doors, wood floors and very noisy lift made for poor sleeping. Staff were friendly, convenient to buses, tube, places to eat and Finsbury Park is across the street. I did talk to a couple who were in the back part and they said it was dirty etc and were going to ask to change rooms.

Room Tip: Not near the lift or on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stay here every time I travel from Ireland for Arsenal games. I would say it's ideally located for Arsenal games just a minute walk to the emirates and near all the pubs. It is also just across the road from the tube station so its easy to get into central London. The staff are very friendly and very welcoming to the Irish. The rooms are small & clean but just adequate. However it is very noisy at night so getting a good nights sleep may be hard. The breakfast is poor only serves cereal, toast, ham, cheese, tea/coffee. Overall for the price and location I think this hotel is overall good and I intend on returning. It's nothing fancy but it's just what you need when staying for short periods.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatersgonnahate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Finsbury Park hotel
0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#664 of 1,077 in London
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#558 of 1,077 in London
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Corner House Hotel
Corner House Hotel
#758 of 1,077 in London
427 reviews
10.8 mi away
Boston Manor Hotel
Boston Manor Hotel
#759 of 1,077 in London
298 reviews
5.1 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#551 of 1,077 in London
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembury Hotel

Address: 328 Seven Sisters Road | Finsbury Park, London N4 2AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #898 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $66 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pembury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location, two minutes walk from Finsbury Park Underground Station which connects directly to all major Central London's Underground Stations and also Heathrow Airport, makes our hotel a firm favourite for regular business and leisure travellers. The hotel is also only a 10-15 minute walk from Arsenal's Emirates Stadium and Camden Town. The rooms are decorated in a bright color scheme, the sizes of the rooms vary due to the nature of the building. All are comfortable and equipped with all the basic amenities to make your stay a memorable one. Single, Double and Triple Rooms are available. Guests can also kick-start their day with a continental breakfast served in the hotel's breakfast room. CCTV monitored, safe, car park is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pembury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembury Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing