We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not again”
Review of Newham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newham Hotel
Ranked #939 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 30, 2011

was just their for one night thank fully room wasnt to bad but the shower was not even on the same floor and wasnt a shower more of a trickle and cold water workmen quality hotel but breakfast didnt start till 7.30 .Will not be stopping again if i can

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimimacushla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Newham Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for one night in a twin en-suite room. The room was clean and spacious, and the shower was better than I'd expect for the level of establishment.
There is plenty of parking at the front and back of the hotel.
The staff at reception were friendly and helpful.
The only negative is that there wasn't enough seating for breakfast, it was only in a small room, so we couldn't have any. When we looked at what was on offer we weren't too upset that we couldn't eat, as it didn't look very appetizing.
Also there wasn't a lift so I had to drag my suitcases up some narrow stairs.
But overall, good value hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neonpinkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Im suprised at reading these terrible reviews !!! I thought our room was clean and fairly new looking. Bathroom was ok too. We only stayed for one night whilst we attended Love Box Festival but it served its purpose(comfortable sleep & Breakfast). Staff seemed friendley. For the money and what we wanted it for it was fine !!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms 1 & 2 were fine
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANNYBOI83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for the night as it was 5 miles from the O2, the first impressions of the room and bathroom were quite nice however when i went to have a shower the water was coming out freezing and there was a smell of what can only be described as a dirty fish tank / sewage smell coming from the shower.

The shower also wasn't draining either, my boyfriend went to reception to complain, a man who could hardly speak English came up to the room to unblock the shower which made the smell even worse and the dirt, hair and other deposits that came out of the shower plug were disgusting, when we advised him of the nasty smell coming out the shower his answer was to bring us a bottle of nasty smelling air freshener, he also persisted to say that the water was warm when it clearly wasn't, we also had to ask him for the TV remote which for some strange reason was at reception he seemed very reluctant for us to have it. The attitude from him was that he didnt care either. It so gross i ended up washing my hair in the sink and couldn't even close the toilet door to use the loo as the smell was so bad.

We could hear noise from the other rooms as well, people walking up the corridors and moving about upstairs, we had to keep the toilet door shut all night to make sure that fish tank smell didnt come in the room, It was a very lucky thing that we actually missed breakfast the next morning as i cant imagine what that would have been like.

Again went to wash my hair in the sink the next morning as the thought of even touching that shower made me feel sick the water again was freezing,

we couldn't check out quicker and def wouldn't be coming back. if you are thinking of staying in a hotel down this road please make sure you dont stay at this one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charliecfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Turned up after booking online . Were told by Gite the manager that he had tried to contact us saying that the two en suite rooms we had booked were now only one lying b****r ,the other was a room only with shared facilities .bedroom small ,bathroom flooded . Breakfast poor eastern european waitress,s grumpy. Avoid unless nothing else available

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiggerello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I called and booked a double room with my other half and offer us a discount because we said we are shopping around and we was please to hear that. We got there and the look at me...and looked shocked to see me a (tall black male), I guessing because I was very well spoken voice.
He turn to the porter to and spoke in his language made us wait about 10mins, I was shown to a room that was next to the hotel.....I was confused but we thought we would take a look. The porter took us a room with 2 SINGLE BEDS (unmade), TOWELS on the floor. WALL PAPER HANGING of the ceiling...I WAS IN SHOCK!! I thought it was a sick joke!
** To cut long story short**
He didn't want to take responsibly for room and told us to go elsewhere when we complained about it!
Other customers was asking what's happening and got involved saying that it was very disgusting of them to do such a thing.
They showed us to another room and tried to charge us extra....then finally showed us another room AGAIN!! Which seem ok,,,,,til we found one towel (dirty), open bar of soap, no hot water, no kettle and no light bulb. MADE ME SICK! AND WE LEFT TO FIND ANOTHER !!
I WOULDN'T LEAVE A STRAY DOG IN THERE FOR 2MINS!!

Room Tip: Save your self the time....find somewhere else!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hero1EssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We booked to stay at this hotel for a trip to London and the o2 arena, on arrival we were placed into an adjoining building which contained 4 flats, we stayed in flat 2, the place was absolutley disgusting and if you given this as your room I would avoid at all costs!

There was 1 bath towel per couple, 1 tea cup per room, 2 tv's but no remote, the bathrooms had an overpowering smell of sewage and was generally very unpleasant, it wad dirty, the decorating hadn't been finished, tiles were missing from the shower unit.

If you want a nice relaxing night this is not the place to stay, the sirens from the emergency vehicels went on all night, police, ambulance etc etc didn't stop until 5am and then it only stopped for 10 minutes!! No sleep at all!!

To top it off after having no sleep i thought a quick shower to freshen me up........but NO hot water, so we left.

I would avoid this hotel at all costs, it may be cheap but for the sake of an extra £20 I would definitely stay elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kims2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Viking Hotel
#813 of 1,072 in London
673 reviews
Forest View Hotel
#768 of 1,072 in London
76 reviews
CityStay Hotel
#955 of 1,072 in London
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#574 of 1,072 in London
576 reviews
Epsilon Hotel
#592 of 1,072 in London
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newham Hotel

Address: 349 Romford Road | Forest Gate, London E7 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #939 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $57 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newham Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newham Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing