We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Troy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Troy Hotel
Ranked #594 of 1,088 Hotels in London
East Anglia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very clean hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Troy in February. Check in was quick and we were given a twin room on the fifth floor - Rm 507. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the whole hotel, and pretty spacious, especially for London. Shower was powerful and plenty of hot water, shower gel, soap and shampoo were replenished daily. Loo paper was better quality than we have at home - very thick! This room is at the side or rear of the hotel, so not much of a view, but was nice and quiet (apart from a couple in the next room who liked to sing very loudly in the shower each morning!). Loads of storage space, six wooden clothes hangers, a safe, fan and hairdryer. There was also a kettle and tea and coffee sachets, a small fridge and a tv (ours didn't seem to be working properly when we tried it, but we didn't bother to report it, as we spent so little time in the room, it didn't seem worth it)
Breakfast was basic but nice, coffee good and delicious rolls with eggs and cheese, so enough to keep you going. A problem with a flickering bathroom light bulb that we reported on the way out one morning had been sorted when we returned later in the day - very efficient.
This hotel is only a few minutes walk from Queensway tube station, on the central line, so very handy for getting around London. Bayswater station is just a bit further down, giving access to the circle line too. Also very close to Hyde Park, from where you can walk to several tourist attractions. Loads of shops and restaurants near the tube station, and a nice pub, the Swan, in the other direction, just before Lancaster Gate tube station.
When we checked out, we were allowed to leave our bags in a secure locked room until later in the afternoon, so we could make the most of our last day. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
The only thing stopping this getting five out of five was the beds - they were fairly comfortable, but very creaky and noisy, so much so that they sometimes woke us up when we turned over in the night - they could do with being replaced.
Other than this, we found the Troy to be a reasonably priced, very clean and comfortable hotel, perfectly situated to explore London and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone as a great base for a trip to the capital.

Room Tip: Room 507 was spacious and quiet, but look out for creaky beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myra07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    260
    141
    37
    27
See reviews for
74
234
65
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed 5 nights at Troy Hotel. Location is excellent, very close to two tube stations. Staff is very friendly and helpful. My room was a bit small, but ok if you don't plan to spend the day at the hotel. The shower is a bit too small but with plenty of INSTANT hot water, enough for a very good hot shower every day. Breakfast is included, it is not a great variety, but adequate. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. I will stay there again during my next visit to London.

Room Tip: My room was at the end of the hall, and I had no problem with noise or anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WRedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed overnight at the troy, the location is perfect for getting around London as bayswater and queensway tube stations are just around the corner. had a decent sized twin room with en suite perfect for what we needed not to mention what we payed, breakfast buffet was great,and the staff were lovely,id definately use this hotel again. great value for money for a short stay.

Room Tip: 307 very quiet and wifi worked perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojopinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

As other reviewers have said 3 star. My wife and I had a three day theatre break, space in london is at a premium so we did not expect a large room, but more importantly for us it was clean with maid service every day, but tastefully decorated even if a little tired. As in other reviews noise can be a factor in front rooms (405) this is due to single glazed sash type windows. Our room was warm which was good as it was 4 degrees outside at one point. If you have a look at guests' pictures this is exactly what you get, we were in a double room with small fridge, flat screen TV, en-suite and small wardrobe with safe and hair dryer. There is a kettle with tea or coffee, we ran out and there was absolutly no problems replenishing or "stock" ( another couple of tea bags) believe me this has been an issue in another (more expensive) London hotel. The room also had a vanity unit/desk and a case rack. The bed was comfortable.
We had continental breakfast each morning with a fair selection of; fruit juices, cereals, bread rolls,croissants, cheeses, olives, yoghurts, toast,jam, honey and marmalade, boild eggs,coffee and tea. The staff were helpful and friendly enough without getting in your face, I had help with WI-FI and local information. All in All superb wee hotel in a great location which we would be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGC573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel offered all that we needed and the most important being convenience for getting about. Not the most rapturous welcome which is a shame because it's a simple thing that means a lot and costs nothing. The first night we had no noise and slept well. the second night was very noisy on the street and people coming in late banging doors. The breakfast was quite good with plenty of choice. Slightly bemused by what sounded like the church hall choir practice next door every evening and the pianist playing westminster chimes over and over (???) The price reflects the fact that the decor is a bit stuck in the 80s but it was comfortable, warm to the point of roasting and the room was a good size with his and hers wardrobes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alitzuca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was indeed a 3 stars hotel. The room (404) was not large but spacious enough to leave our luggage and without having to jump over it. We had a large tv, a table with a chair, comfortable bad and large bathroom.

The elevator was in front of our room and we could sometimes hear it but not that loud to wake us up. Even so, if you have a sensible sleep maybe you should not get this room.

The breakfast was vegetarian and I loved this, since I am a vegetarian and every thime when there is an open buffet I have the problem that guests use the same instruments to grab the meat and the cheese. Here we had cheese, eggs, gem, butter, honey, cereals, toast, croissants, fruit salad, milk, hot chocolate, coffee etc. So the breakfast was modest but really ok.

The location was really good with Queensway very close, so we had a great variety of restaurants and stores: tesco, sainsbury, russian market, oriental market, deutch market etc.

The bus stop was also very close to the hotel, the tube stations Queensway and Bayswater were very close to each other, both of them on Queensway so we had two lines.

We've spent the Christmas day in our room, with lots of food and sweets, with the lord of the rings at the tv :) and everything was perfect.

The cleaning lady was coming everyday (except Christmas day) to make the bad and clean the room. We've left her a Christmas card and a small gift on the table :)


The only inconvenience was that for two nights we had some really loud Italian in the room near us. They were screaming at each other, the tv was really loud at 2 am and they were always but always shouting the doors really loud. So hard that the mirror on our wall was moving!

Besides that we loved everything at this hotel!

P.s. good & free wi-fi connection

Room Tip: If you wake up easily maybe you should ask for a room far from the elevator. We had the room no 40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alitzuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Road, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was cheaper than the others and in a convenient area, near numerous hotspots, such as Hyde Park, and easy access to transportation. The room is quite small, but doesn't feel cramped. I shared a room with one other person and we shared a double bed. The atmosphere is warm and clean enough.
The hotel offers wi-fi and breakfast. The breakfast layout is very simple but it's not bad at all and good enough to get you going in the morning.
The staff are friendly and responsive. They were very helpful in answering a lot of very touristy questions we had.
A downside to staying here is that the structure of the building is incredibly noisy. Walking around causes a surprising amount of creaking and squeaking, so it was quite a task trying to get back to the hotel room late into the night while trying not to disturb other residents. You might find yourself having a difficult time getting quality shut eye if you're a light sleeper or are easily irritated by repetitive noises in the late night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#506 of 1,088 in London
540 reviews
Caring Hotel
#507 of 1,088 in London
763 reviews
The Byron Hotel
#503 of 1,088 in London
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MStay 39 Studios
#632 of 1,088 in London
58 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#439 of 1,088 in London
2,059 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#509 of 1,088 in London
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hotel

Property: Troy Hotel
Address: 68-70 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #594 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Troy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Troy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing