We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel in London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Troy Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Troy Hotel
Ranked #587 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed 5 nights at Troy Hotel. Location is excellent, very close to two tube stations. Staff is very friendly and helpful. My room was a bit small, but ok if you don't plan to spend the day at the hotel. The shower is a bit too small but with plenty of INSTANT hot water, enough for a very good hot shower every day. Breakfast is included, it is not a great variety, but adequate. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. I will stay there again during my next visit to London.

Room Tip: My room was at the end of the hall, and I had no problem with noise or anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WRedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    260
    139
    37
    27
See reviews for
74
233
65
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed overnight at the troy, the location is perfect for getting around London as bayswater and queensway tube stations are just around the corner. had a decent sized twin room with en suite perfect for what we needed not to mention what we payed, breakfast buffet was great,and the staff were lovely,id definately use this hotel again. great value for money for a short stay.

Room Tip: 307 very quiet and wifi worked perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojopinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

As other reviewers have said 3 star. My wife and I had a three day theatre break, space in london is at a premium so we did not expect a large room, but more importantly for us it was clean with maid service every day, but tastefully decorated even if a little tired. As in other reviews noise can be a factor in front rooms (405) this is due to single glazed sash type windows. Our room was warm which was good as it was 4 degrees outside at one point. If you have a look at guests' pictures this is exactly what you get, we were in a double room with small fridge, flat screen TV, en-suite and small wardrobe with safe and hair dryer. There is a kettle with tea or coffee, we ran out and there was absolutly no problems replenishing or "stock" ( another couple of tea bags) believe me this has been an issue in another (more expensive) London hotel. The room also had a vanity unit/desk and a case rack. The bed was comfortable.
We had continental breakfast each morning with a fair selection of; fruit juices, cereals, bread rolls,croissants, cheeses, olives, yoghurts, toast,jam, honey and marmalade, boild eggs,coffee and tea. The staff were helpful and friendly enough without getting in your face, I had help with WI-FI and local information. All in All superb wee hotel in a great location which we would be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGC573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel offered all that we needed and the most important being convenience for getting about. Not the most rapturous welcome which is a shame because it's a simple thing that means a lot and costs nothing. The first night we had no noise and slept well. the second night was very noisy on the street and people coming in late banging doors. The breakfast was quite good with plenty of choice. Slightly bemused by what sounded like the church hall choir practice next door every evening and the pianist playing westminster chimes over and over (???) The price reflects the fact that the decor is a bit stuck in the 80s but it was comfortable, warm to the point of roasting and the room was a good size with his and hers wardrobes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alitzuca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was indeed a 3 stars hotel. The room (404) was not large but spacious enough to leave our luggage and without having to jump over it. We had a large tv, a table with a chair, comfortable bad and large bathroom.

The elevator was in front of our room and we could sometimes hear it but not that loud to wake us up. Even so, if you have a sensible sleep maybe you should not get this room.

The breakfast was vegetarian and I loved this, since I am a vegetarian and every thime when there is an open buffet I have the problem that guests use the same instruments to grab the meat and the cheese. Here we had cheese, eggs, gem, butter, honey, cereals, toast, croissants, fruit salad, milk, hot chocolate, coffee etc. So the breakfast was modest but really ok.

The location was really good with Queensway very close, so we had a great variety of restaurants and stores: tesco, sainsbury, russian market, oriental market, deutch market etc.

The bus stop was also very close to the hotel, the tube stations Queensway and Bayswater were very close to each other, both of them on Queensway so we had two lines.

We've spent the Christmas day in our room, with lots of food and sweets, with the lord of the rings at the tv :) and everything was perfect.

The cleaning lady was coming everyday (except Christmas day) to make the bad and clean the room. We've left her a Christmas card and a small gift on the table :)


The only inconvenience was that for two nights we had some really loud Italian in the room near us. They were screaming at each other, the tv was really loud at 2 am and they were always but always shouting the doors really loud. So hard that the mirror on our wall was moving!

Besides that we loved everything at this hotel!

P.s. good & free wi-fi connection

Room Tip: If you wake up easily maybe you should ask for a room far from the elevator. We had the room no 40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alitzuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Road, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was cheaper than the others and in a convenient area, near numerous hotspots, such as Hyde Park, and easy access to transportation. The room is quite small, but doesn't feel cramped. I shared a room with one other person and we shared a double bed. The atmosphere is warm and clean enough.
The hotel offers wi-fi and breakfast. The breakfast layout is very simple but it's not bad at all and good enough to get you going in the morning.
The staff are friendly and responsive. They were very helpful in answering a lot of very touristy questions we had.
A downside to staying here is that the structure of the building is incredibly noisy. Walking around causes a surprising amount of creaking and squeaking, so it was quite a task trying to get back to the hotel room late into the night while trying not to disturb other residents. You might find yourself having a difficult time getting quality shut eye if you're a light sleeper or are easily irritated by repetitive noises in the late night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December 2012 in a room on the 3rd floor. The room was very small (normal for London), it was warm and cosy. Breakfast included hard boiled eggs, olives (strange), yogurt (rasperry,strawberry and plain), bread, cereal (muesli,coco pops and cornflakes), canned fruit salad, sliced cheese, tasty croissants, jam and honey. I can say the breakfast was good for a three star hotel. The hotel is just 4mins away (by walk) from Queensway station and very close to Hyde Park and is therefore situated in a prime location. The free wi-fi was very useful during our stay as well.

Regretfully, our last night in this hotel was a nightmare. The floors are so squeeky that did not let us have a good night sleep. On a positive note, staff were very helpful although neither of them understood English! Overall the hotel was clean, centrally located and good if you're just using the hotel to sleep in!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirry180289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#503 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Caring Hotel
#494 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
The Byron Hotel
#492 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#531 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#279 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#431 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hotel

Property: Troy Hotel
Address: 68-70 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #587 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Troy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Troy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing