We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and food wonderful”
Review of Sumo fresh

Sumo fresh
Reserve with OpenTable
Sumo fresh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,639 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Specialising in Japanese cuisine, Sumo Fresh is the perfect venue for lunch or dinner, the ambiance is warm and inviting and the food served is the freshest quality Japanese cuisine you will find, situated in the heart of Wanstead. Our Executive Head Chef, has over 15 years experience in the art of sushi preparation. Experience the very best Japanese Rice wines, Sake and traditional Japanese dishes. At Sumo Fresh you can also relax at our cocktail bar, where you can watch the skills of our top Sushi Chef's, who combine cookery with artwork. Sumo Fresh can cater for all sizes and styles of parties. Whatever your request may be, we are certain to provide you with the best quality and service to suit your needs. Our restaurant serves expert cuts of sushi, maki and sashimi along with a selection of hot dishes and is open throughout the day.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service and food wonderful”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

On a busy Friday night this place was buzzing. We chose to sit up to the bar area where food was being prepared and we got a real feel for what sumo fresh is all about. They serve cocktails and we started with a marguerite . Food was hot and freshly prepared and advice was on hand to make your choices wisely. Tempura and dumplings to start and then we had black cod and chicken curry with a special name. We added noodles with prawns and salmon and finished it off with another marguerite . Great place, I'm just sad I don't live in wanstead anymore but lots of my friends do.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank chris6288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear chris6288

We are equally sad that you don't live in Wanstead anymore !

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments and we are all delighted you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visiting your friends in Wanstead.

Warmest Regards
Sumo Fresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    44
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant. Fantastic food.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I've had lunch here several times. Really lovely, stylish restaurant. Great food. Would recommend the vegetable katsu. Very pleased to have Sumo Fresh in Wanstead!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelfanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear hotelFanLondon

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards
Sumo Fresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local Sushi restaurant”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I normally eat at top end Sushi restaurants up town. Now I've discovered this local delight my trips to the west end at weekends will diminish. Very friendly and attentive staff, relaxed atmosphere, superb food, the blackened cod a must and just as good as the designer restaurants, great value for money. As Arny has said a few times "I'll be back !"

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pencil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Pencil69

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you especially enjoyed the black cod.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back :-)

Regards
Sumo Fresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mediocre - some fine tuning can make this better”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was so excited to hear that finally a sushi place was coming to Wanstead! Genius - a clear gap in the high street waiting to be filled.

Now a small thing before we walked in- why had the owner not put up a sign with the name of the restaurant? The black, plain exterior unfortunately gives it a cheaper feel without it.

When we walked in, the restaurant was very narrow and it even looked like the chefs in the kitchen were in each others way, given their limited space. It was a bit of a strange set up - the conveyor belt gave it a Yo Sushi lunch time feel, but looking the the menu this told me otherwise (£14.50 for Black Cod!! As nice as Wanstead is its not Mayfair to charge that price and same with the sashimi). Understandbly these are usually the more expensive items on the menu but it seemed out of sync with the rest of the menu. Eating on the belt, feeling like im at a Yo Sushi take out, ordering a £15 black cod seemed strange.

Also, many of the dishes on the belt looked like they had been there for hours. And unlike Yo Sushi, where there are times on the dishes, there was nothing like this on the plates at Sumofresh, which really put me off.

The service was rather disappointing also - we ate on the belt, and whilst there were more than enough staff who were just staring into thin air blanked face, noone was serving us drinks, cleaning down surfaces after, providing extra napkins when we asked. They seemed to be rather bored and happy to stare into space instead.

Aside from these negatives, the soft shell crab was lovely, and those expensive sashimi pieces was actually quite nice. I do hope they step up, as I had been waiting for such a cuisine to come to the local area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Sally A

Firstly i would like to start by extending our sincere apologies for your clear dissatisfaction with your experience. I can only assure you that we take feedback very seriously.

We do indeed have different ranges of products and prices in our menu however it was purely to cater for the different preferences of our customers. The black cod is one of our top sellers and we have received truly great comments from our customers so I believe you will not be disappointed with the quality vs the price.

The design of the restaurant was again based on the different preferences as we have 3 sections, the conveyor belt, tables across the restaurant and a more private area at the back of the restaurant. Also I want to assure you that all dishes on the conveyor are displayed only for the recommended time and we have a numbering system on each dish and not time label. A monitoring system that has recently received a 5 star rating by the local Environmental Health Officer.

Your comments regarding the staff are not excusable and i can assure you that it has been addressed very seriously with the entire team. We expect all our customers to experience attentive service and I'm truly sorry this has not happened during your visit.

I sincerely hope you will accept my apology and our assurances that we have taken your comments on board and that we will be able to demonstrate this during your next visit.

Regards
Sumo Fresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Really like this place....lovely fresh food....nice atmosphere...great service....one tiny little thing...we was sat out back near door to kitchen and was quite cold...no biggie tho!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bodey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumoFreshManagement, Manager at Sumo fresh, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Bodey14

Thank you for your great review and we all delighted you enjoyed your experience with us.

You will also be pleased to know that we have put measures in place to eliminate the draft coming through to the back section.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Sumo Fresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo fresh also viewed

 

Been to Sumo fresh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing