We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ive given up trying to get served”
Review of The Cuckfield

The Cuckfield
Ranked #11,315 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Cuckfield is a converted 19th century coaching inn, with artwork and original features built around a huge roaring fire. With a huge range of craft beers and real cask ales, there's something for everyone. Pop in and find out more about our great food & drinks offers, and discover for yourself a local gem.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ive given up trying to get served”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ive been to the Cuckfield 4 times and never managed to get any food, there seem to be loads of staff, but most of them dont seem to actually do anything.

sunday lunchtime is a nightmare with all the yummy mummy parents with screaming kids, which I could put up with if it wasnt for the fact that they seem to think they should get priority over people who have been eaiting longer!

the sad fact is that it doesnt i prove at other times either, and I now go to The George as I can guarantee getting served with my food before the pub closes

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keirik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    52
    39
    39
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never disappointed with the Cuckfield”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have been a regular patron at the Cuckfield and have never really been disppointed.
Great atmosphere, especially during the summer months when the beer garden is packed!
The food is always well cooked and well presented. Service is always with a smile which is why I keep going back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prycedeesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Food not worth the money”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had been looking forward to trying out the brunch menu at the Cuckfield for a little while as it is a lovely looking venue in Wanstead.

I was sorely disappointed.. firstly the menu was different to that advertised online (reduced choice and no sign of the pancakes with bacon that had tempted me to try it out). Decided to go for the eggs Benedict but they had run out of English muffins so I had to have it with brown toast. OK, not the end of the world, but then when it arrived, the bacon was overcooked with a charcoal taste, the yolks of the poached eggs were almost completely hard, the hollandaise sauce was far too vinegary and the toast was only done on one side!

Not worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soulstar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal in the beer garden”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was very busy in the beer garden, and we were left standing awkwardly for about ten minutes, as we really wanted to eat outside. Finally a table cleared and we sat there. It took a good twenty minutes for a member of staff to approach us with menu's, etc. We all ordered from the fixed menu, at £10 for two courses, you can't go wrong! For starter I had chicken and chourizo skewers. A small portion, but very tasty. I had a grilled chicken burger which was absolutely delicious. The bun was especially good. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly, and when it got dark the fairy lights gave it a beautiful glow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great BBQ menu and large beer garden”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This pub is quite big with lots of outdoor seating...you can sit out the front, inside the consevatory, inside the pub or out in the beer garden.

A great setting for families, couples, friends etc and great choice if drinks.

Ate off the BBQ menu for lunch and it was lovely, all the ingredients were good quality and fresh. They did warn that food off the main menu would not come out at the same time as the BBQ menu but I did not expect a 20 minute wait between the two!

Other than that, a lovely little gem and I would highly recommend for drinks or food

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank x1x1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cuckfield also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Cuckfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing