We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and a great stay.”
Review of Morton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morton Hotel
Ranked #59 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My initial impression of the hotel was mixed; having to go down to the basement to check in seemed odd! But the staff were very friendly and the room I was put in (a Virginia Woolf styled bedroom) was stunningly beautiful. Could not fault any aspect of the stay, though would have liked warm croissants as every time I went down for breakfast they were cold.

The shower was great, the bed very comfortable and the Sky TV was a lovely bonus, not to mention a great location being a minute from Russell Square Station and round the corner from the likes of Waitrose and Tesco. Loved every moment of the stay and will definitely be going back again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive review along with some pictures of the room you occupied.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us and that the welcome you received from our team changed your initial apprehension, we all feel encouraged by these comments. We also appreciate your feedback on the hotel's décor and amenities and that you enjoyed the Sky TV. The croissants should always be warm at breakfast and our team would have been happy to have baked some freshly for you, we have spoken to them to ensure all our guests enjoy warm croissants.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 376 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Morton Hotel. The decor is beautiful and inspiring well done to the interior designer.All the details of each room have been carefully thought through and we found it faultless.The atmosphere is warm and friendly . The breakfast served in the basement is fresh with a variety on offer.... really nice warmed croissants.
The location is great for museums, Camden market and West End.
Have a great time!

Room Tip: Avoid front as traffic, particularly police sirens, can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are happy to take on board your enthusiastic review, and to note that our attention to detail is appreciated and made you feel comfortable and welcome.

Our restaurant staff in particular were delighted to note that their efforts are worthwhile and you enjoyed your breakfast and warmed croissants.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Fantastic hotel, superbly located 2 minutes from Russell Square tube station on the Piccadilly Line.
The hotel is a small boutique place that oozes class.
The one downside is that in my opinion the windows aren't sufficiently well insulated so there is a lot of street noise in the rooms. Russell Square stays busy until very early in the morning and we found ourselves woken several times during the night by drunken tourists shouting outside.

Maybe we were just unlucky and perhaps a room at the back of the hotel would have been quieter.

Overall absolutely superb, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUIUHTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is our pleasure to note that you liked the hotel and its décor, as well as the central location. The Morton Hotel is ideally located in central London which can be associated with a certain level of noise, we apologise if you were disturbed by this, all our windows are double glazed and our guests are not normally effected. Equally, please request a quiet room when staying with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Morton Hotel was a perfect base for our short break, just a two minute walk from Russell Square underground station and only a couple of blocks from Euston and Kings Cross stations. The room was lovely, very well decorated and very comfortable with an excellent ensuite wetroom style shower room. The rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels being provided. Our package included breakfast which was served in the bar area, this was very relaxed and a great way to start the day. Breakfast was continental buffet style with plenty of fresh pastries, cereal and fresh fruit, as well as ham, cheese and yogurt. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel after checking out, so we could enjoy our last day in London without the clutter of baggage. (our flight wasn't until 10pm but this wasn't a problem to the hotel, we simply picked our bags up on the way to the airport - Russell Square is on the Piccadilly line which runs straight to Heathrow - couldn't have been easier). I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a very enjoyable time in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if you want to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are glad that your stay was overall pleasurable, that you enjoyed the room's ensuite facilities and its cleanliness, and that the breakfast served in the Library provided you with the right energy to tackle your days in London.

Our staff were delighted to acknowledge that they came across as obliging and welcoming, and these encouraging words will certainly lead to continued high standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here on business and thought so highly of it I should write a review. My room was spacious, well designed and beautifully lit. My bathroom was a wet room and was immaculate. Great shower and lots of soft fluffy towels. Check in was easy and fast. Breakfast was 7:30 to 10:00 and lots of yummy fresh stuff. Perfect location and a real bargain for London prices, I booked a week in advance which was lucky as my colleagues tried to join me and they were fully booked.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, the room and its facilities, and the breakfast buffet. Our front-desk staff were delighted to receive such a positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to the Morton Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Disclaimer: My boyfriend and I were one of the first 20 people to book this online when it first opened, so we scored a 50% discount on the prices. Your experience on full price might be different from mine given value-for-money comparisons.

Nevertheless, could not find fault with this hotel. We had the Omega Suite, which came with a fully equipped kitchenette (had everything from a hob, pots and pans, cutlery and crockery, even dishtowels, an oven, a dishwasher, a fridge (no freezer though), a sink, and even a toaster!) with it's own little round table and chairs, and then in another room the lovely bed, chaise lounge, TV with all the channels you could possibly want (we spent our nights watching football and QI/TopGear on Dave/Dave deja vu/BBC 2), a full sized closet with safe, a breakfast tray with kettle and cups and tea and coffee, and a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower, and heated floors and a heated towel rack...

And unlike many B&Bs, this hotel comes with a lift to every floor, pretty good sound insulation (we didn't hear our neighbours at all and only had some noise come in through our street-facing window in the mornings which didn't bother us that much), wireless which was pretty reliable (boyfriend and I both could access our work VPNs and notoriously finicky emails), and is walking distance away from multiple amenities! We were both not unfamiliar with London, so we made good use of the tube (Russell Square, on the Piccadilly Line, straight to the theatres), as well as the nearby 24h Tesco, the equally nearby Brunswick Square with its Starbucks, Carluccios, Nandos, Patisserie Valerie, and highly commendable Asian food at Hare and Tortoise (I would know, I'm Singaporean), oh and the very well stocked Waitrose. The hotel is just opposite Russell Square, which is an oasis of green, and within walking distance of the British Museum. The only thing I really missed was a good english breakfast place nearby.

It's a really new hotel (opened in July 2013), so as expected all the furniture is new and not worned out or anything, but you can also tell there is quite a lot of effort put into the furnishings. The towels and pillow covers are monogrammed with the logo, the furnishing at the lobby and at the reception are colourful and quirky, and the room itself is generally warm and simple but also with a splash of colour and unexpectedness.

Highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: If you can get it, top floor is nice. Rooms facing the road are just a little bit loud in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricepapergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review.

We are pleased that you liked the hotel and the Omega Suite, and that you made thorough use of the room's facilities. We do our best to make sure that our Guests feel comfortable and are provided with all they need to unwind after a day sightseeing London's main attractions.

Equally, your rewarding comments about the unique atmosphere at the Morton Hotel are very welcome, and we appreciate that our attention to detail is being praised.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at the Morton with a group of friends as we were going to Claridges for afternoon tea as one of our group was celebrating a special birthday. Our rooms were large and spacious, beautifully decorated, with lovely crisp white bed linen, large soft towels and the bathrooms to were large with excellent fittings. The library is very stylish and comfortable with a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was plentiful with plenty of choice. A huge credit to the hotel is its staff all of them were friendly and attentive, very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them. I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wapp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your enthusiastic comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and liked the room and its accessories as well as the breakfast buffet selection.

We do our best to ensure a stylish and welcoming ambience throughout the hotel, and a key role is certainly played by our staff who constantly strive to guarantee our Guests have a memorable experience and it is always rewarding for them to receive comments like these.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for recommending the Morton Hotel.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#83 of 1,076 in London
1,799 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,076 in London
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#60 of 1,076 in London
3,323 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#63 of 1,076 in London
1,642 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#335 of 1,076 in London
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton Hotel

Address: 2 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $216 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morton hotel has 34 rooms all lovingly furnished with individual charm, to create a comfortable space with a relaxing ambience. Choose between our decorative twin/double bedrooms or our unique one and two bedroom apartments all comprising of sizeable en-suites with shower or bath tub, heated towel rails and under floor heating.All rooms are fitted with 42" flat screen TV and Sky, in room safe, air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms are serviced daily and our Reception is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morton Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing