We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of Aqua Shard

Aqua Shard
Reserve with OpenTable
Aqua Shard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #800 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southwark
Description: Aqua shard is a lively, cosmopolitan restaurant serving innovative contemporary British cuisine. At breakfast, lunch, weekend brunch, afternoon tea or dinner, guests can enjoy spectacular views from Level 31 of The Shard. Only the best British and Irish produce is used including many ingredients sourced from nearby Borough Market, and elegant presentation makes every meal at aqua shard feel like a special occasion. The bar at aqua shard is London's ultimate destination bar, boasting unrivalled views of the capital from its spectacular three-storey atrium. Beautifully crafted cocktails made with premium spirits, as well as a thoughtfully chosen wine list by the glass or bottle, are available all day from 12 until late.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

There's not many better places to spend an afternoon than looking over London from here.

There seems to be lots of staff in some areas, i.e. downstairs greeting, but service at table was inattentive. Struggled to get tea topped up or more drinks. Also, we had a drink in bar afterwards and it took 5 minutes to order, another 10 to 15 to realise they'd forgotten and get served again. And it wasn't that busy...

Afternoon tea was very good in quality, with some stand out desserts. Scones were good, but not the best in town and cream portions were miniscule. I'm sure they would have given us more if we could have attracted someone's attention.

So, is it worth it? Yes, of course it is, because the views (including from the toilets) are stunning. The food and service though, whilst not enough to detract too much from the overall experience, could be better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,747
    2,939
    1,654
    876
    697
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, good food BUT terrible service”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had some tickets for the viewing platform (which for normal price is £25pp!) and enjoyed the views. The place could be so much more with a couple of small tables to put your glass of champagne down, and some soft sits around the inside of the room... Instead you have a lot of people camping down on the floor to enjoy the view (and £25 for a photo if you want to keep a souvenir). £25 seems to be the magic number at the shard!

We then had a couple of drinks at the Hutong place to start with, which is btw at least as big as my living room and where they try to get as many people in as possible. The door staff recommended: you can go to this bar but if you don't like it then you can come back! what sort of advise it that... The drinks are original but expensive
We then decided to try the food at the Aquashard...in hindsight? Probably would have found a nicer/cheaper place around Borough market.

The food is great, even if limited choice but where things start to go wrong is the service!
We got ignored a couple of times, had to ask the bill twice and then...nothing for over 30 mins when we decided that we would not sleep overnight in the Shard but had to go to the reception to pay! The person who processed our payment (eventually) was suprised when we said we would not leave the "gratuity" part of the bill as the service was poor and the only response was: my apologies!

Commercially: the worst answer you can expect as a customer and potential returning customer: I can guarantee that I will not return for a while as this is not a cheap place and sevice is such an important part of a good experience, or not as the case might be! Adn there are so many nicer places to go around London.

The overall place just feels like a money making machine where service is definitely not a priority.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Froggylondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view good service good food”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I was not sure what to expect given some of the more negative reviews posted. But I am glad we went , the location is superb the staff were all very polite and friendly. The food was excellent we had the 3 course market lunch menu and given the location I think it was pretty good value. If you are looking for a great dining experience then I would certainly recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“An Experience that you can't miss”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

If you reserve to a restaurant like this one, why are you doing this?
For the food? Maybe
For the location? For Sure.

Now, the shard offer a good kitchen with excellent ingredients but you go there for the Amazing scenic view of London that offer you.
You will have a dinner in an amazing enviroment with good dished (but not very good or excellent) and a large (but not immense) wine list.

The level of service is, considering also how much is croweded, more than excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UBMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

What a joyous lunch I had in this restaurant. The view - almost as good as if you paid £20+ a few floors higher- is wonderful and sort of counts as a discount off the bill. The room is very big, bright and airy but retains a friendly atmosphere. The staff were polite, attentive, friendly and willing to chat despite it being a busy service. My special thanks to our Hungarian waitress, Spanish sommelier and David the manager. The set lunch- three courses for £28 was well worth the money. "Tartar from land and sea" was light and refreshing; the "Black Angus skirt steak" was lovely with not only a salad, a sauce and shallots as per the menu but also a wonderful potato, aubergine and courgette puree; the Bakewell tart was divine. In between we took a cheese course between us and shared four good cheeses with plenty of grapes and crackers. Bread is served warm - granted only one variety and there are no amuse bouche or petit fours - but this, for the price, is to be expected. The wine list is extensive enough - O.K. it's not the length of a book as in some places but they did a lot of wines by the glass and there were bottles in the £20 range. What I liked was when we asked to share one glass to accompany the cheese they split the measure into two glasses. Not all places do this. I was very impressed with this restaurant and will go back very soon. Eat here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Shard also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Aqua Shard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing