We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very noisy”
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #590 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Worceter, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but very noisy”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed at the Courthouse for six nights. It is a lovely hotel and I would highly recommend the location. The hotel is very attractive and the staff is very nice and willing to help with anything. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was great. The pool and the spa were also very attractive and the staff is so warm that there is no feeling of pretentiousness that some spas have. The continental breakfast was adequate. The only unfortunate part of this hotel is the noise. I have stayed in numerous city hotels so I wasn't expecting it to be quiet. I am fine with street noises, trucks and the typical siren activity. This was different. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the alley. There was the booming noise from nightclubs until 3-4 a.m. and once they closed the trash pick up and noise from deliveries began. It was very difficult for us to sleep. If you stay at this hotel - do not accept a room on a lower floor particularly if it is on the alley side. It is impossible even for a heavy sleeper to sleep through the noise. The last night I was so bad (a Wednesday night) that I was barely able to close my eyes. I gave this feedback to the hotel manager who basically dismissed it as typical city noise that I should have expected. I asked that they adjust my bill to provide some relief for the inconvenience particulalry because I had made the reservation and paid in full four months prior to our stay. The manager told me he would get back to me but I never heard back from anyone. Too bad, it left me feeling not so happy with the experience. I would recommend this hotel with reservation. If you choose to stay here, check out the room location carefully before accepting it and if your room is noisy the first night, demand that they change the room. It won't get better as the week progresses!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidneyXVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    469
    289
    174
    126
See reviews for
211
628
67
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I would not stay here again.
The rooms are very small. Ours was also not very clean when we arrived.
They promised to move us to a larger room, but that never happened in the 6 nights that we stayed here.
The Manager told me herself that she did not care much about us not returning to the hotel. This is a very bad sign for customer service.
Location is OK, but probably in a too busy area.
There are other hotels in this price range that are MUCH better.
The "fitness room" is a joke. It also only opens very late in the weekends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smash5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Located a block and a half from Oxford Circus, this hotel couldn't have been better positioned for our sightseeing plans. The only thing that we found lacking was a noticeable sign for the hotel. There is a Doubletree logo on a flag the color of the building and that's it. The entryway does not look like a typical hotel. That aside, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Upon check-in we asked for a coffee pot and it was delivered right away. It was a pot that boiled water and arrived with two packets of Nescafe. If you want more and better coffee, there is a Starbucks across the street and I bought a 12 pack of VIA. A housekeeper removed the pot after a couple of days (we stayed for 6) and we just had to call the desk. I don't know why the pot was removed.

We are Hilton Gold members so we got an executive room so to speak. I don't know how it compares with a regular room. We also got free breakfast. However, even though we got free breakfast, it did not include the hot dishes. These dishes were ok but not great. (I helped myself to the hot items before I knew it cost extra.) The British really need to learn how to cook bacon longer. The coffee was great! There is a closet of a "Business Center", a room with two computers, one of which was not working but the internet was free. There is a printer there as well.

As I said, the hotel is in a great location. We were off the alley to the Paladium Theater and around the corner from several restaurant choices. Regent Street is a half block off and we took the bus often. Selfridges is about 5 blocks away. Carnaby Street is across the street from the hotel entrance. We bought a travel card for the tube/bus and it perfectly fit our needs. If you wait to buy the travel card from the railroad company, (we bought ours at Paddington Station) you will have 2 for 1 options for admissions to many of the popular sights. We did a lot of walking but always had the bus/tube for longer distances. We purchased an Oyster Card at the airport for travel to the city and back. The minimum amount is 5 Pounds plus 3 Pounds deposit which was refundable at the end of our trip. This hotel definitely turned out to be an excellent choice for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerryrtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I relied heavily on the reviews on this site before making my selection on a hotel. My 22 yr old son and I stayed for a week and I can't say enough about the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff - they really made us feel quite at home and I can't think of anything that did not meet or exceed our expectations. The concierge staff (shout out to Michael) were very knowledgeable about the local surroundings and we went to them daily with questions and they always came through. Housekeeping provided an electric kettle and cups so we could have tea and coffee in our room. We did not use any of the restaurant and bar facilities only because we wanted to be out in the very nice surrounding neighborhoods as much as possible so we took breakfast at the Pret a Manger across the street every morning - all in all we had a fantastic time and the hotel really played a big part in that

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank roadrunnerjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Hilton laqgs behind its competitors as far as quality and value is concerned. This hotel comes close but misses a few marks. Overpriced internet,beds old and creaky spring matteresses.
Bathroom is average. Overpriced breakfast.
Conceirge service is excellent.
This will be the last Hilton I stay at.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray Goldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel for 2days and found this hotel to be fairly nice--very central location just steps from the Oxford Circus Tube station and can reach covent garden/west end by foot as well.
The room i got (King Room) was not bad, a comfy but slightly soft king bed. Bathroom was clean as well.
The perhaps only minus to the hotel was that I find the night time staff not particularly friendly nor helpful--day time staff seems a lot warmer and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwgc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We found this to be an excellent property. The rooms were fine and the staff very helpful. Breakfast was expensive, but the cafe's near-by are not so. The hotel is located in a great shopping and tourist area with lots going on and an easy walk to theaters, and many attractions. We would go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCSPCSPCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#531 of 1,067 in London
550 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,155 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#324 of 1,067 in London
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,067 in London
1,625 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#130 of 1,067 in London
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Property: Courthouse Hotel
Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in London
#347 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing