We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and not so amazing at the same time”
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #666 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 2, 2014

On first arriving both my partner and I walked right past it but we got there in the end. Upon arrival our room was lovely however the view wasn't we were basically looking at the side of the building, bonus was we heard no traffic. We ordered room service twice, and that was all good and the service was awesome, but reception wasn't helpful although the concierge when we left, even took our bags out and was super helpful offering the best advice to get to local tube stations. My opinion is that some of the staff are helpful and friendly, were some are not helpful at all, and made it seem like it was out of their way to help. Our mini bar wasn't restocked at all during our stay which it was supposed to be either.

The location was good and we were close to everything we wanted which was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkixLx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear NikkixLx,

Thank you for your recent review, I was so happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us. This is most important to the team. The central location is such a benefit to our guests and with the tube close by, London is on your door step. Sadly the hotel doesn't have sweeping views, but the rooms do get natural light and in most cases, when you open your window, there is little to no noise. As you pointed out, this is a great benefit.

We hope to be welcoming you back to the Courthouse.

Kind regards
Quentin Hales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here in early April having had a good stay previously in Christmas of 2012. The location of the hotel could not be better if Oxford/Street, Soho and Picadilly Circus are where you want to be. Carnaby Street is right opposite, and although there's plenty of activity all day and most of the night, inside the hotel is quite quiet and I have not had a bad night's kip. The rooms are spacious with plenty of storage and mirrors and the beds are very comfy. The breakfast is of a good standard and has lots of choice both hot and cold. I found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. A really good selection of music in-room but no information on what time breakfast is served or when the pool is open. I had to ask someone. and for that reason I have not given it five stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Tielle,

Thank you for your review. I had much pleasure in sharing your comments with our team. We love to hear from returning guests. It is so important to an Independent Hotel to have guest returning. It is a pleasure to have you back with us.

Thank you once more for your continued support of the Courthouse Hotel. We look forward to been of service to you in the future.

Kind regards
Quentin Hales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My mum and I chose this hotel for a night away in london. We arrived to a very polite doorman (shaved head glasses) who was the highlight of our stay. On entering the hotel there only seemed to be one receptionist available who was busy with other guests, while 4 concierge stood around not doing much. Receptionist informed us our room wasn't ready, and gave no details of our stay such as what time breakfast would be, the restaurants available in the hotel, checkout time, or pool opening times. We had to ask for all details as nothing was provided in the room either.

After doing some shopping we arrived back and our room still wasn't ready. We had a spa appointment so didn't get the chance to get ourselves ready beforehand which was frustrating.

The room was really nice, once we could get in it, and couldn't fault it. It was clean and well equipped. we ordered drinks to be bought up to the room which took no time at all.

The website to this hotel boasted a rooftop terrace and a lovely swimming pool. When we went to find the rooftop terrace all we found was a building site on the 5th floor so assuming it's not built as we couldn't seem to find it?!

I asked a member of staff what time the swimming pool opened and it didn't open till 10am. My mum and I went down at 9.50am in the morning to go for a swim before needing to be packed and out of our room for check out. We sat outside the pool entrance area waiting for it to open as it was locked. After waiting patiently for 15 minutes i went up to reception and asked if it could be opened so we could swim. The receptionist was quite rude and suggested i wait another ten minutes then it will be unlocked. I asked if it could be done sooner as we still had to pack and get ready for checkout. I went down and was left waiting for another 15 minutes with no sign of anyone ready to unlock it. We went back to reception and told them we weren't going to wait any longer as we needed to get ready for check out. They didn't seem too bothered. My mum went down to collect the bill from reception and went to see if the pool had been opened. At 10.50 am the pool area was still locked.

On check out we did get an apology from the receptionist who removed our mini bar bill (wish we'd had more from it) and then decided to explain to us that somebody had called in sick.

It was frustrating that we paid £275 for one night and couldn't fully use all the facilities that the hotel boasts. Would of been nice to have a swim and use the terrace and there were no clear directions to where these facilities were in the hotel. It looks like better staff training, or more polite staff might be needed in order to make stays more enjoyable at this hotel.

That being said, great location, great rooms, and the bloke on the door with the shaved head and glasses deserves a raise. Lovely man.

Room Tip: great location, but not 5 star quality service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilygracethegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Emilygracethegreat,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us.

Firstly thank you for making note of the wonderful work done by Slavomir on the front door. He is a wonderful ambassador and asset for the hotel.

I am terribly sorry about the problems you encountered with the pool opening times. This has been shared with the Spa Manager at the time.

The roof top terrace is normally closed over the dates of your stay and was indicated on our website. As you may have seen from some of the reviews, the hotel did have some work on and part of this work was relocating the roof terrace from the 5th floor to the 6th floor. The roof top terrace is now open. The Soho Sky Terrace is open 7 days a week from 15:00.

We were very happy that you enjoyed the comfort level in the rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courthouse Hotel.

Kind regards,
Quentin Hales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel blends in very well in the SoHo district. Very quaint. Top notch desk service but the concierge service was a bit 'off'. The rooms are great, the lobby is nice. The hotel bar is cool because the surprise is.........this used to be an actual courthouse and it has several used jail cells! Really neat place to have a drink and unwind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the street up front as there is a pub across the street that has activ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We really enjoyed this, it was a gift from a friend. Plum Wine was a good starter, followed by a very interesting box of goodies - especially liked the Vegetable Gyoza, Edamame Beans and Sweet Omelette coupled with a lovely Ginger and Lemongrass tea.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent one night in the Courthouse - what a fascinating building and excellent location. The staff were helpful and courteous and we received an upgrade due to refurbishments. Would definitely recommend to others and will staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeisterMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just got back from an extended weekend staying at the Courthouse. The hotel is in an excellent location and found it better placed than previous stays in Covent Garden. We got a great deal on this hotel so it cost about the same as a travelodge so we believe this was a great hotel at this price. This is a not a 5 star hotel but more 4 star. The hotel need to give the the carpets a good clean both in the hallways and the bedrooms. The hotel felt clean apart from that. Our room was on the 6th floor and was a good size, only issue was the shower would not stay a constant temperture. I would agree with other reviews to say the hotel is a little tired on the whole. Reception staff were OK but not rushing to help or be polite. They cancelled our key card on the second day and the reception didn't even apologise, its this lack of politness that let it down. The concierge were better though. To sum up a great place to stay as long as you haven't paid a lot for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#41 of 1,077 in London
2,394 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#548 of 1,077 in London
212 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#311 of 1,077 in London
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#518 of 1,077 in London
623 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#151 of 1,077 in London
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in London
#375 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $219 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing