We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #574 of 1,087 Hotels in London
UK
Level Contributor
270 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Got off to a bad start by booking the wrong date by mistake on Lastminute. Tried to change the date. I was put through to Reservations who were unhelpful to the point of mild rudeness. I then asked for the General Manager who put everything right and couldn't have been more helpful. Rescued what could have been a bad review (It was, to be fair, my fault, but an honest mistake!). THe room was small but I have certainly had smaller and less pleasant rooms in 5* hotels. The price was good and the hotel itself was very nice. THe bar is wacky, and you can have a drink in one of the old cells in the courthouse. Interesting. I only ate breakfast which was OK but was principally a buffet. I am not terribly fond of breakfast buffets and I think a London 5* hotel should be able to do a good breakfast to order, not leave the egg & bacon to stew. OK but ot great. At least they will cook you fresh fried eggs to order. Overall a good hotel, very handily placed right opposite Liberty's. I will go again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardVUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear RichardVUK,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am very happy we were able to overcome the reservation mishap and got you rebooked on the correct dates. Our Classic Double rooms are suitable for a shorter stay or single occupancy. The Courthouse Hotel has on offer, 4 larger room and suite categories these maybe a consideration for a future stay. Thank you for your feedback on the Bar and Breakfast, we have shared this with our team,

With our kindest regards,
Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    451
    275
    167
    120
See reviews for
204
602
66
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Courthouse in early March 2014 as we were going to Benares for dinner and I was looking for somewhere nearby. I booked a Superior Queen, as on LastMinute it was only an extra £20 on top of the basic double room. And I think it was worth it - the room was a decent size, with a huge comfortable bed, a massive TV and a really nice bathroom suite.

I guess the main thing about the hotel is the location - it is perfect, about 5 minutes from Oxford Circus tube, right next to Regent Street and at the end of Carnaby Street. If you're going to the west end, it's spot on.

We didn't try out all the hotel facilities, but the main bar was lovely - great cocktails, really good service and well priced for a London hotel. All the reception areas of the hotel were very well appointed, in fact.

I'll definitely book this hotel again when I need something around the West End, it's completely worth it for the standard of the hotel and the location. Price was around £200 a night.

Room Tip: The Queen room were were in (206) might have an issue with noise - the receptionist called us during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quentin H, Front of House Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Paul C,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in particular the Cocktails in The Bar. I do hope we may have the pleasure of your company once more.

With our kindest regards,
Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have traveled to London 3 times and I've stayed at the Courthouse Hotel They have always delivered what they promised. Great Stay, Friendly Service, Excellent location and an awesome time. The price was great- We stayed over for Valentine's day. It was lovely. They went beyond our expectations this time to make us happy. We will be back. Thumbs up to the whole staff (Specially front desk and our lovely housekeeping crew). We will be back.
Ronny C

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akureview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

It is a feature of this hotel that they have preserved many features of its former use as a Magistrates Court. If you've been up before the beak for speeding (or worse) in the past it will give you the creeps. They even have the cells still as they were, as private areas in the bar. It aims for a fair amount of luxury, and up to a point succeeds, which it needs to because it is not cheap. Of the two restaurant I chose the fusion Asian restaurant (called silk or something like that). High quality pleasant service, and an amazing wine glass that I posted on Facebook, but there was too much fusion in the food. I chose Thai dish that was not really Thai. The breakfast was good. All the staff are very professional, helpful and attentive.

The location is very central, very close to Oxford Circus tube.

I might go back - not sure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night as we were celebrating my wife's 70th birthday. Our room was very comfortable and of a good size, with everything one wanted or could wish for.

I had told the hotel in advance that it was my wife's birthday: soon after we arrived, there was a knock at the door and she was given a bottle of wine, a large slice of excellent birthday cake, a fruit basket and water on the house. A very ind gesture and much appreciated.

The only (small) downside was that we found it difficult to adjust the shower! Otherwise, we had a most enjoyable stay, would come again and certainly recommend the hotel, which is of course very well situated - another bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hello,,stayed at this hotel for valentines weekend,,,It was amazing had such a great time ,made so welcome the minute we arrived,,we booked to see dirty dancing at the Picadilly theatre the hotel is very close to all theatre,s also very close to Londons main attractions...the hotel as its own private cinema room that we booked it was very cosy we loved it,,,The only down fall to the hotel was the room service,,food great, service very good but the food was cold,,other than that all amazing the beds in the room are very nice you get a great night sleep..alan and keri hough ,,manchester

Room Tip: the breakfast is nice,,just the food cold if you order room service,,,we stayed in room 606 great ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I visit London frequently and always stay at this hotel. The area is fantastic and close to all attractions that London has to offer.

The hotel is very clean and modern with good sized rooms I couldn't fault it in any way.

The staff are friendly and attentive and willing to go that extra mile, I highly recommend this hotel when visiting London. I keep coming back as feel welcome and comfortable here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#543 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#422 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#341 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#59 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Property: Courthouse Hotel
Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in London
#345 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing