We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #630 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ideal location within a few steps of Oxford Street and Regent Street. Excellent access to the Underground. Within walking distance of Soho, Piccadilly Circus, theatres and many other attractions. The warm cookie upon check-in was a nice touch. Good breakfast with attentive service. Clean quiet room. Many plus points - the only minus point was that the hand wash basin in the bathroom was cracked; they should replace it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

It is difficult to find a better location than this. Only one block from Oxford Street and very close to Oxford Circus with tube and busses. An unusual hotel built in an old courthouse where the three waiting-cells are included as chambres separee in the bar. Funny with toilets and built-in-beds intact. Only negative experience was the cooler/heater-system in our room. It was impossible to get it cooler than 26 degrees celsius.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here recently for a family get together. The location is simply amazing. The staff at reception were really friendly and the cookies were gorgeous. The rooms were a fair size for central London and the beds were comfy. The bar was quirky and the cocktails were good but the staff had a tendency to jump on your glass as soon as you placed it down. The residents bar also closed very early and did not open again the next day (Sunday we left at 12 and it was still closed).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeeMJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very disappointing. Arrived to find that our requested (and booked) upgrade had not happened. Night manager very defensive of himself and blamed everybody else. Having finally got a room to the spec originally requested the remote control for the tv did not work, a small detail but after check in hassle, just another point of detriment. Despite requesting batteries on both nights we stayed, the control was still inoperative when we left. A lot of money for a very average experience. We would certainly not reurn.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I had a one night stay in this hotel. First impressions were good, easy check in and nice lobby area. We asked for a quiet room and got one. No view but no noise either. Room was small and clean but not sparkling, the carpet didn't look very nice so the free slippers were used at all times.

The bathroom was okay with citrus Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries but I think the whole place could do with some tlc. Apparently from September it's no longer going to be Hilton owned which could be why standards aren't so high.

We enjoyed drinks in the bar which were lovely (pricey though) but didn't do breakfast as there are always better options than overpriced hotel breakfasts (Balans Old Compton Street, fab).

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RubyCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and I wish it had been longer! We were greeted at check in with warm chocolate cookies, which I felt was a nice touch. The room was very clean and a good size, given that a lot of London hotels have small rooms.
The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable. The room was well air conditioned and I liked having tea and coffee making facilities. The shower had good water pressure and we weren't disturbed by any noise from other guests.
Breakfast was a very good selection of continental and hot options. I liked the fact it was a buffet, but you could order specific dishes if you wished.
We found the service to be very good - welcoming, polite and very helpful.
The location was also very good - close to Oxford Circus tube, but most things were within easy walking distance. I'd certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flossloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great hotel in a very good location. The only disappointment was no onsite parking, I had to use an expensive NCP around the corner which charged £36 per 24 hours. Check-in was/out was very quick and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#38 of 1,077 in London
2,331 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#335 of 1,077 in London
177 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#584 of 1,077 in London
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#526 of 1,077 in London
602 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#771 of 1,077 in London
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Spa Hotel in London
#365 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $217 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing