We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CINEMA EVENING”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #572 of 1,088 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“CINEMA EVENING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a great place !!! converted court rooms , on arrival greeted at the bar , with glass of champagne ( diamond fizz nice ) which you can take into the film, in bar area they had turned the cells into little rooms brilliant , after lounging in waiting area, went into film saw "now voyager" classic b/w film betty Davies !! it was great watching an old film , in nice big comfy seats . only 94 in the cinema , sum up very good night out !!! would go again too see different film. treat yourself's

Room Tip: easy too walk passed in the dark (we did) look out for the lights on front , see picture
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    456
    279
    168
    121
See reviews for
207
609
66
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed a week at the hotel end of Apr/early May. Excellent location. 5 to 10 minutes walk to the hopping Oxford street, Regent Street, Carnaby Street and Bond Street. A coupla blocks to the Oxford Circus station. About 25 minutes walk to the National Gallery with interesting shops and pubs along the way. Our room on the 5th floor was comfortable and practical. The staff were generally professional, efficient and helpful. Especially the front desk and breakfast room staff.

A couple of days before our arrival the hotel had some server issue which meant some rooms were unable to get online. Though even with a change of room we still were unable to get online, we were impressed by Mr Alexlander the front desk staff who helped us in the matter. He was excellent in the follow-ups and had personally accompanied us to the rooms to try out the connections. Mr Alexlander had performed well and above expectation. We shall be glad to come back to the hotel next time we are in London.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are airy and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for just the one night as part of her birthday celebrations. We were greeted by a warm welcome (and cookie), the room was fantastic, the hotel on the whole is clean with fantastic decor, and the location can not be beaten. We were never more than a 10 minute walk from any of our destinations or modes of transport. We would both highly recommend this hotel. The prices may seem high when booking, but you do get exactly what you pay for and more given the fantastic location. I also read some other reviews knocking the staff and rooms...not true!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night for a birthday weekend away. This hotel is not up to the usual Hilton Doubletree standard (like the Manchester and Leeds ones). Hotel is a bit tired and in need of a refurb - hairdryer didn't work and just didn't have a 5* feel. Also we were on the second floor and there was a nightclub nearby that was playing loud music at 2:30am. Overall not worth the £185!! Staff were pleasant though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is located just off Regent and Oxford Streets and is within walking distance to Piccadily Circus - an excellent location in the heart of London.
We arrived at the hotel early on a chilly Saturday morning and were welcomed with some warm chocolate chip cookies at check in which was a nice gesture. We had requested an early check-in a few days prior and the gentleman at reception went out of his way to make sure our room was ready.
The hotel is beautiful, from the reception areas to the actual room and bathroom. It actually was a courthouse in a former life and its quite amusing to see the holding cells and one of the actual courtrooms still intact, which gives the place loads of character.
We stayed in a Queen room which was quite spacious with a good bathroom (for London standards). The only complaint was that there was an extra charge for wifi in our room although the lobby did offer free wifi. We had breakfast included in our room and the selection was OK.
We had a very pleasent stay overall and I will definitely return to this hotel as the location is unmatched. All of the hotel staff that we encountered from the reception desk to the concierge were extremely friendly and helpful and we must make special mention of the dining room staff at breakfast every morning - their service was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
224 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for five nights. The good bits are location, location and location, being right next to Oxford Circus with easy access to Oxford, Regent and Bond St shopping, and the buzz, food and action of Soho and Chinatown. Almost all the major sites are within walking distance. The bed is typically Hilton, king size and comfortable. The staff was polite, greeting you in the corridor and very ready to give good advice with a smile.

What can be improved? The room wifi was down during my stay but can be easily accessed for free in the lobby. There were cracks in the wash basin and the granite walls of the shower, and the bathroom door could not be locked. For the five days I was there I didn't think the room was vacuumed once, although the rest of housekeeping was fine with tidying of bed and bathroom, and replenishing of towels and toiletries.

Given all the good and bad bits, for the price, it rates as good value, but not excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidlye70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent location but very poor for the price - even from the discount websites. The room desperately needed updating. At £100 it would just about be OK given the location. At this price, no free Internet? Bar prices are ridiculous. Breakfast is OK. Service did the best they could and were always polite.

Generally, you would stay here for the location and if someone else is paying.

Room Tip: Go a bit further out and stay somewhere nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HectorHughMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#522 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#398 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#346 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#160 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Property: Courthouse Hotel
Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#346 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing