We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great staff”
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #601 of 1,069 Hotels in London
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay, great staff”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for a nights stay. There was a warm welcome and a warm cookie which was avert nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful, making sure we had an umbrella for the rain.
The room was amazing as was the breakfast in bed. The bar area is very nice and relaxing, bar food and cocktails were of a very high standard.
The location is excellent with shopping, restaurants and bars within walking distance.
Thank you to all staff in making this an enjoyable and relaxing stay.
We will definitely pass on this hotel as a must stay for anyone visiting London

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    474
    294
    174
    131
See reviews for
213
635
67
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked this as a last resort for one night because everything else near Mayfair was so expensive. The lobby is a bit tacky with a very underwhelming entrance and I thought, "Uh oh," but what a wonderful surprise when I got to my room. Extremely tasteful, spacious, quiet. Location is great too . Couldn't ask for more. Only complaint is that the wifi signal did not reach my room at the end of the hall (but I could use ethernet, which worked fine. Internet was also expensive but free in lobby).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at the hotel on a business trip. The location was great as I was working in Hanover street which is 2 minutes away on foot. That was the reason that I picked this hotel and also because it is "..by Hilton.."

My company booked it and payed for it. As soon as I arrived there the problems started. They told me that they would charge me 250 pounds as a security deposit!!! This has never happened before. As there was no other choice as they told me (deposit or no room) I payed the money. The staff at the reception was no friendly and very cold...as if they did not want to be there....

Anyway... going upstairs I found a spacious nice room, clean and with a huge bed. I thought ... at least I will sleep well. I took my things off the case to tidy up a little and decided to have a shower. The bathroom was very nice but to my surprise the water was icy cold. I rang up and they told me that they have issues with some rooms and that if I want I can get another room. Had no choice of course so I started packing again. the took me to a horrible room, much smaller, with an old bathroom. I was so tired that I just went to sleep and did not say anything. On the same night I contacted my company to let them know that I want to leave and find asap another hotel. I had to wait till morning though...

Going for the breakfast next morning a rude cold lady that looked like a warden was standing there and she told me that I cannot eat anything, no english breakfast just continental. I asked why and she said this is what is arranged. when I showed her my booking and what was included she said that all she knows is what is on the list. If there is an error I must find out my self.

I was so frustrated that I did not bother again. Left the hotel, went to work and I found out 2 hours later that my company arranged for me to leave and go to another hotel.

I will never visit the Doubletree Hotels. My stay there was a nightmare. and the hotel is ridiculously expensive.

A. F

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argiro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Wellness area opens at Ten, too late
pool too small for swimming and in substandard state of upkeep (lightbulbs Not exchanged, broken tiles, selfprinted laminated paper signs..)
Fittness area very small and too warm
WLAN only in the lobby, and not working for second day
Roms tidy and large enough
Service ok, hotel overall not in 5-star state of upkeep

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gruberhanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice. iI is in a great location - especially for shopping.
Wifi is very expensive (although they have free wifi in the lobby.)
Lobby furniture is too low and trendy - and to hard to get up from!!

As part of the Doubletree chain they have nice warm cookies for you every night. Nice tuch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dicksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice to see smiling face welcome. Was worried bout our tea after reading reviews her but within 10 minutes we had our champagne, tea and sandwiches on table. Waitress came along twice to check our feedback. Big size sandwich.. Cake with orange flavor and sultanas & hot chocolate syrup come shape pastry enjoyed a lot...considering previous comment their is improvement... Worth a try !!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Din987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

used gift voucher. delicious food, scallops with strawberry were amazing. Indian lamb chops nice delicious. high standard service. waiter was knowledgable. sat on counsellor and solicitor table. will definetly visit in near future and book juries table.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#545 of 1,069 in London
562 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,069 in London
2,201 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#334 of 1,069 in London
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#352 of 1,069 in London
1,645 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#652 of 1,069 in London
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Property: Courthouse Hotel
Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Spa Hotel in London
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing