We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to up the game but the location is unbeatable”
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #637 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Despite arriving early the check-in staff were happy to find us a room. During the night our room was too hot and despite turning down the a/c there was no change in temperature. Also the room looked straight into an adjacent office building which was ok as we stayed on a Saturday night/Sunday morning but could be obtrusive on a weekday. Breakfast was average and the restaurant is a very uninspiring space. However all the staff we dealt with were very friendly and professional. Finally as commented on the location is great for central/west London.

Room Tip: Avoid the inward facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

Fantastic location for business or pleasure in the heart of London. The staff were very helpful and accommodating especially on arrival. The rooms are quite small with old creaky beds. No free wi-fi other than in reception and charged at SG$30 per day if you want to use it in your room! Not what you expect in this day and age. Overall a good experience and worth staying at if you're on business and don't mind leaving your email connection at the front door.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the back alley to minimise and street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKFamilySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The warm cookie on arrival was the start of a fantastic stay for my wife and I. Being a gold hilton member I was upgraded to the large king room and given a continental breakfast for free. For £4 extra per day per person we were able to upgrade this to the full breakfast. I've seen better variety of breakfast but this had everything you would want. Without my gold membership the breakfast would have cost £22 per person which is very expensive.
The room was nice and clean. Furniture was more like a bedroom than hotel with light wood everywhere, but overall it was fine.
The best part of this hotel is the location. Right opposite carnaby street and 1 min walk from regent street and oxford street made this a fantastic location. The Oxford Circus underground was a 5 min walk away.
I was told the lamb and chicken at the hotel were halal (for those inclined), but the Silk restaurant at the hotel doesn't open Sunday or Monday (the 2 days we were there).
Overall fantastic.
When we arrived my wife commented that the Waldorf we stayed at the year before had a better room, but on leaving, due to the location, she said we should always stay here.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor. View was of an office so not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atif594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's a shame that, despite so many good things going for this hotel, I have had to give it a poor rating. Firstly, the positives - good London location, excellent and attentive staff, lovely bar area (with custody cells!!) and a nice enough room. Unfortunately, our stay was ruined by being kept up most of the night by a) arguments in the street outside the hotel at 1 am, b) rubbish lorries at 3 am in the morning, c) car horns at 4 am in the morning, d) a TV that didn't work properly and e) a thermostat that didn't work at all.

Admittedly, a) - c) weren't the fault of the hotel but if you do decide to stay at the Courthouse, make sure that your room is either not at the front of the hotel or a lot higher than the second floor room we had. We complained about the TV and someone did come to our room quite quickly but didn't solve the problem. Unfortunately, we only discovered the problem with the thermostat at 12 am when we returned to our room. The temperature was stuck at 25.5 degrees centigrade and refused to move downwards and meant the room was far too hot so even without the external noise, we couldn't sleep. So with these negatives (and the cost), it only rates a 2 but if I ever stay here again and sleep on a higher floor, I'm sure I would rate it higher.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin210667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Not only is this the best location to stay in London (across from Carnaby St and a short walk to oxford St) but the accommodations were excellent. The rooms were comfortably sized and immaculate. The theater district was steps away and public transportation is right there to go anywhere in London you want to travel to. Our son had to go to the airport at 4:30 am and they arranged the trip through a private driver and it went smoothly. The concierge staff was excellent! Thomas and Tiago and the others were so helpful. They went over and beyond to help us. It was a great end of a trip after 5 weeks traveling through Europe. We stayed at fantastic hotels throughout europe but probably enjoyed the staff/conceige as the most helpful from all the hotels we stayed at. We will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

First, let me say you wont find a better location for the price then the Courthouse Doubletree, we were walking distance to tons of shops, restaurants and attractions. The service is top notch and the room was very clean, but a little old and a few things didnt work properly. We had internet issues, an electrical outlet and phone that didnt work, but the staff was so helpful and took care of all problems immediately. The cold breakfast was very good, with fish and fresh fruit, but skip the hot buffet, the eggs were cold and powdery tasting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LACalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is third second visit to this hotel, and while I've read some unfavourable reviews, we've never had any problems with this hotel. It's perfectly located near shopping, nightlife and public transport. Our rooms have been excellent. Decent size, kept perfectly clean and stocked. Both times on one of the top floors.

I mentioned to reception that a cupboard door had a loose hinge, and while it was no problem for us, they might want to look into it sometime. Within an hour it was fixed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Espen806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#37 of 1,077 in London
2,328 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#579 of 1,077 in London
189 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#329 of 1,077 in London
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#522 of 1,077 in London
602 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#780 of 1,077 in London
671 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Spa Hotel in London
#368 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $217 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse
Courthouse Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing