We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but...”
Review of Picture Fitzrovia

Picture Fitzrovia
Ranked #56 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $46
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Description: A neighbourhood restaurant in Fitzrovia. Owned and operated by restaurateurs with a wealth of experience in some of London's top establishments. Picture Fitzrovia is well-known for it's exceptional value menus and warm and genuine hospitality. Alongside the a la carte menu runs a fixed lunch at £22 and a six course seasonal tasting at £40.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
592 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Nice but...”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I am reluctant to criticise Picture, mainly on the grounds that the staff were so nice and friendly and helpful but I can't help but thank I am missing the point a tad here. Especially when the fries arrived half way through the meal. It's all very well being nice, and trendy, and on message but lets sort the basics out first chaps. The 'small plate - multiple choice' food option is the current emporrers new clothes of dining but to me it only serves to racj up the bill and gives lazy / busy chefs a chance to serve different dishes at intervals and so lighten the all round work load. Having said all that the food was well cooked, enjoyed the sea food especially and the building site chic decor fits well in Fitzrovias medai scum heartland. Something missing though - maybe it's a soul?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marksw3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Owner at Picture Fitzrovia, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi There

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent visit to Picture. I am pleased you found that the food was well cooked, and the staff friendly and helpful.

I apologise that the fries did not arrive at the table when they should have. We try very hard to make sure that dishes are delivered at the correct pace and it appears here that we made a mistake.

I can assure you that the menu design reflects a style of eating that we love, and is not designed to compensate for any laziness in the kitchen! I'm sorry that it appeared otherwise.

I am disappointed that you found the restaurant to lack soul. This is our first solo venture, and everyone here is incredibly passionate about giving guests an enjoyable and genuine hospitality experience. I do hope you will re-visit soon.

With Best Regards

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    135
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rye
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Charming service, really good food and a relaxed setting. What's not to like? Especially enjoyed the chicken and the almond/blueberry tart. Decent cocktails too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinRye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't expect to get feed”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you go to this restaurant do not expect to get feed.
This restaurant should call itself "The King has no cloths". It plays on the insecurity of the young dinner who is looking for a new experience.
After two servings of poorly prepared food , you need to find another restaurant or go home hungry.
The food lacked flavor and the presentation lacked imagination. Difficult to present such a small amount of food even on their small plates

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Voyager10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Seriously tasty”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Delicious tapas style food. Really enjoyed the quirkiness of the dishes, a lot of thought and love clearly went into the menu. Me and my friend shared the tasty house red (merlot), very reasonable price for a London restaurant. Do try the lamb bites, they are a slice of nice. The beef is cooked to perfection and another favourite was the ravioli! I will definitely be heading back to try the rest of the menu. Staff were caring and attentive. They made us feel like old friends when we walked in. Really hope this restaurant continues to do well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I went for lunch on Saturday, and was warmly greeted and enjoyed really great food. I'd be happy to recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CollinghamApartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picture Fitzrovia also viewed

 

Been to Picture Fitzrovia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing