We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a real treasure!”
Review of Cookhouse Joe

Cookhouse Joe
Ranked #111 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Soho
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Found a real treasure!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this little gem walking between Oxford Circus and Chinatown. We were initially drawn in by the bottle of Prosecco for £10 on Wednesday deal. When inside the food smelt so good we ordered grilled halloumi and a houmous pot. The food, drinks and ambience were great. Really nicely candlelit place and the staff were helpful and friendly, not overbearing. Would thoroughly recommend and we'll definitely be back for a full meal

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    176
    45
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jomatindchar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I took my family here as wanted somewhere nice but not expensive and NOT a coffee shop chain !!
Its worth all the positive reviews - the chicken is AMAZING - the burgers went down a treat and we had a great bottle of Prosecco for £10. The price and quality are unbelievable . 3 adults, 2 children, coffee, kids stunning icecreams and the bottle of Prosecco ...£50 ?!!!
The staff were great and it got busy early ..but worth a visit..we will be back !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jomatindchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Unfortunately my lamb burger was completely raw and was sent back. The replacement was also partly raw too, but I did not bother complaining second time. Love the atmosphere and ease of this place. Think the staff are fine, and have no other complaints. Just need to get the burgers right. My friends burger was perfect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value for money”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I went to Cookhouse Joe on Friday night. We were a party of only 3 so were seated right away. The staff were great, accommodating and helpful but not overly familiar, the service was quick, the portions were huge, the food was delicious and the bill? Well that was the best bit! Cheaper and tastier than nandos (big claim I know)!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ht227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuine.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My first review is for Cookhouse Joe in Berwick Street, just off Oxford Street.
All self-respecting Londoner must go to this restaurant. The chicken was well cooked and very crispy. Although the specialty is chicken, other dishes are also worth a look how the burgers.
The restaurant was almost full and we got a good table at the time. The service is friendly and attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_Lamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookhouse Joe also viewed

 

Been to Cookhouse Joe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing