We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good Location, good landlord”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
London, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Merthyrla...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Misleading description”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
6
people found this review helpful

As a frequent traveller, I use Tripadvisor a lot to gain a good idea of the accommodation I'm booking. Therefore I want to try and give a balanced and fair summary of this apartment that we recently stayed in for 3 nights. First off, to describe it as "elegant, beautiful and luxury" is totally misleading. I would rate it as 3 star accommodation. Things that were missing that I would expect as a minimum would include toilet paper, a tea towel, bath mats and crockery that matched. The pillows were so old and thin that had we been provided with more than one towel, I would have used this as well. The bedding, while clean, was old and no top sheet was provided. The sofa was not the one featured in the photos, was rock hard and too uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time. The general level of cleanliness was lacking with a "sticky" kitchen floor and wall tiles and the carpet had seen much better days. The shelves of the freezer were broken and the door to the washing machine was hanging on its hinges. There were only a few curtains and those in the bedroom couldn't be drawn properly as the bed was jammed against the wall. Only one set of keys was provided even though we requested a second set so we didn't have to coordinate comings and goings. Generally the place needs a face lift - the walls need to be painted, carpet and tiles replaced, proper curtains put in place and decent bedding and linen provided. Ironically a lot more could then be charged!

Not to be totally negative, the apartment was not expensive (undoubtedly you get what you pay for) has a good layout, therefore has potential, was quiet and in a good central location to the Underground and other attractions. Wifi was provided free of charge and it worked well. There are two supermarkets close by (Tesco and Sainsbury's) and a great Tapas bar at no. 40 Maltby St. The apartment also had good locks on the door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: General standard and cleanliness of apartment
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkienwo...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic but alright for short stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The owner himself commented that he needs to make some improvement.. Pillows sweaty smell. Fans needed for hot summer days. TV had no remote control despite promise by landlord to bring.

No proper curtains.

We were asked to pay extra 100 pounds sterling as we arrived at 11 am instead of 4 pm.
Perhaps this is the rule.

Owner was otherwise courteous.

How will my safety deposit be returned?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location ok
Liked least: No fans, smelly pillows, no proper curtains, no TV remote control
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsn888
Munster, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As with most things, my experience with this rental property is a mixture of both positive and negative issues. At the outset- i would like to emphasize that the owner is a very nice person to deal with - he even helped arrange for my family and I to be picked up from the airport. As advertised, this property is strategically located and we found it very easy to access the bus and underground train systems. What I found lacking was with the amenities in the house, the appliances and furnishings are rather old and the cutlery was inadequate and decrepit. All the units in this building ( not just the one we were renting) did not have window screens- and since the windows have to be open for ventilation, flying insects had free access to our living quarters especially at night .There is a small washing machine (no dryer) available which is good for small underclothes. However, I used the laundry shop located very close by for my general laundry needs. . The facility has one queen bed, 1 full bed an 1 old sofa bed- which was ok for the 5 people in my party. However, the dining set only had 4 seats and there were no extra chairs, and the seat of one of the dining room chairs comes off - so once has to be careful when you sit. With proper upgrades, this property may have some potential.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: decrepit state of furnishings including kitchen utensils
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2014
Thanks for your review and l would like to say that all improvement to the apartment is going on right now. l have changed the cutleries, added more glass cups and wine glasses. l most not fail to say that the Dinner table, chairs and the sofa are new ones (4months old) so they are not old except for one of the dinner chairs which was damage by the previous client and l was not informed by the cleaner but it's replaced now and two more dinner chairs has been ordered and would be added soon. Most of our houses in London has no window screens and l stayed in the same apartment with my family for 10years and during summer time, flies are around in London but not to the exceed of flies coming in at night. The washing machine is a standard size in the UK and the advert never mentioned it having a dryer. However l am looking into changing it to a washer dryer as part of the upgrade. l look forward to finishing the upgrade to make my future clients more comfortable and l'm very open to suggestion from clients when they check in. l always appreciate it if clients call to suggest anything they think it's lacking and if it's what l can provide immediately l will do so or order for it if not available. l would also put out new pictures of the upgrade for potential clients. Thanks once again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s_Himansh...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location, good landlord”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Dele is a nice person. He was there to welcome us even though we reached quite late, about 11pm. He took time to show around the house, and point out to the nearest shops.
I had also asked for him to arrange for a taxi, which saved us a lot of hassle.
The kitchen could do with a few more things, but it was ok for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Lift in the apartment
Liked least: Wooden flooring in the living room creaks a bit
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location for the city
Liked least: lack of glasses, mugs etc
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing