We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location & price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Vauxhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Vauxhall Hotel
Ranked #268 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location & price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over a weekend in June. At the time I booked this place it was not opened and I did not have any previous reviews to go on. I was pleasantly surprised. Was it just the fact that it had only been opened for 6 weeks and had that new clean and fresh feeling? Yes probably, however the location next to the rail & underground stations and bus stops make transport connections excellent. I had a room at the back on the 2nd floor and level with the elevated rail lines and platforms of the station only about 12 meteres away. Considering the number of trains passing the noise was muffled and no vibrations felt. Yes there is a club located in the arches of the railway and a back lane is between the hotel and railway with people hanging about. I was not aware of any noise on Friday or Sunday nights however it was a little noisier on Saturday night and people were still attending when I woke up at 8am the following day.
I also had an issue with the air conditioning unit which faces down onto the bed and seems to have a mind of its own. The controls are located next to the light switches at the entrance door and seem to operate to a set room temperature.
I did not use the cafe so cannot comment on food however with a Liittle Waitrose next door, Sainsburys local 50 yards away, Tesco metro and Pret a Manger across the road you do not have to go far for a snack. Overall I was satisfied with my visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    465
    125
    44
    28
See reviews for
298
369
113
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This Travelodge is ideally located for London - Exit 2 at Vauxhall tube and the hotel is a 20 second walk across the street. The bus station is one side of the hotel and the train station the other. Reception is below the ground floor and check-in was swift and the staff were very friendly. A bit of a weird smell around the Reception area but put this down to the cafe being in the same area? We were located on the 4th floor train side of the hotel and had a slight concern it may be noisy but the newly glazed windows kept noise to a minimum and with such nice views over London we opted not to change. Large double bed with 2 plump pillows and fluffy white towels for each of us. Being new the room was modern and clean and I was pleased to see proper curtains instead of blinds some of the older TL's have. As is the norm with the newer TL's there was a lack of places to put things but being there for one night it didn't matter. We didn't receive the full compliment of tea and coffee but when asked for at Reception the lady was apologetic and providing us with some was no issue. Did not really get to grips with the airconditioning in this room at all. There was a unit on the wall but no control for it. We assumed it must be automatic but after the room reached boiling point during the night and it didn't kick in - we realised that maybe there should have been a separate remote for it. However, it was late and Reception was 5 floors down so we slept in a very hot and sticky room with no option to open with window. My only other gripe was that we seemed to be situated above a club or pub at the back of the hotel lower ground level and noise from this was constant until the early hours, causing disturbed sleep. Given I couldn't hear the trains but could hear screaming, bottles being emptied and singing just shows how loud it was. Hopefully it was a one off? That said, we found this a really handy and affordable place to lay our heads. Not many places you will only part with £37 a night in London.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Train track side has a view of London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alouayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I visited the this new Travelodge Hotel with my son for a 4 day break.
The location was excellent, with tube access on the door to anywhere in London.
Breakfast was good....however there appeared to be a shortage of staff,our bedroom was only cleaned once during the stay and when entering the hotel lobby there was a constant smell of sewage.
I am sure this will only be teething problems but at present there must be better budgett hotels to stay in London

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

after a horrific experience at the dire travelodge in portsmouth we swore we would never use them again... needing to have a place to crash to see a band play in brixton and the price made us have to reconsider. put myself in the mind set of, if its as bad as the one in pompy i will just sit al night watch the telly and get out as soon as the trains were running again ! how surprised was i to find the hotel clean , the staff very polite the rooms well laid out ... and all for a superb price !! we will be staying there when ever we next go to a gig any where in london ! fantastic !!!!!! highly recommended !

Room Tip: we were 4th floor at the rear !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I thought I had a bargain with this being a brand new travelodge and being close to Brixton, but could not wait to leave this awful place, specifically booked two single beds, checked in to find our room was a double bed so had to go back and ask to change it, after a lot of sighs from staff, got a twin room, beds were ridiculously tiny, like caravan beds, the room was so sparse and tiny it was awful, the window didn't open at all and the heating was on full blast when we arrived, not a good start. The bathroom was ok but was a wet room shower and the hottest water temperature was still only luke warm!!! The reception and dining area are beneath ground, the whole time we were there it absolutely stunk of sewers, so we couldn't eat in the restaurant. This might be a cheap hotel but you definitely get what you pay for here and I would never recommend it, travelodge is usually good just to lay your head for one night but this one isn't worth it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendyjarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just had three nights at Travelodge Vauxhall. Brand spanking new hotel, perfectly situated right by the major bus/tube & rail links all at a footstep, and yet quiet (you don´t hear a thing!). The staff are particularly charming, attentive and service-minded. They helped with complicated taxi bookings, information, and also made a room available for us to store luggage until 6pm, even though we had to check out much earlier! Internet is free in the bar area, breakfasts are good, beds are comfortable, rooms are clean, and above all for the price - it's simply a brilliant place to stay. For business, for family, for tourists! Honestly, I didn´t think it would ever be this good at a Travelodge. This is obviously their new flagship Hotel for London. If you are on a budget, but want the feel of a boutique hotel - look no further. Some nice pubs round the corner too, The Riverside and the laid-back Brunswick House. I´ll be back!

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the Fifth floor, on the front - if you want a view of the Thames!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Right next to vauxhall station makes it very easy to get to Brixton o2, polite staff and the room was very clean, cafe downstairs and a waitrose next door. Would stay again, only £47 for a hotel in london.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgrave Hotel London
#659 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#390 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,699 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Vauxhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Vauxhall Hotel

Property: Travelodge London Vauxhall Hotel
Address: 3 Bondway | Vauxhall, London SW8 1SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Best Value Hotel in London
#160 Family Hotel in London
#197 Business Hotel in London
#199 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Vauxhall Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Vauxhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Vauxhall Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing