We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed into a home”
Review of Fig Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fig Tree House
Ranked #146 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The owners of this bed and breakfast are the loveliest people in all of London. As soon as we came in, they offered us a cup of tea and we always had lovely chats about our days. They offered great advice to places to visit and things to see. The house is in a lovely suburb, only about twenty minutes by train to London, which gave me time to wake up each morning. You can catch it to London Bridge, Cannon St or Charring Cross. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in London and wanting something nice and affordable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 39 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Gerry was super helpful with all the emailing and prep beforehand while the hosts Ruth and John were so hospitable and willing to help my friend and I out. They all gave us tips for our time in London and they were just so genuinely kind... I even got a lift to the station when I left.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatWan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

With a tight budget, I needed a clean, affordable place to stay that is located near the O2 arena. I was really glad that I came across Fig Tree House, it is located very near to Hither Green station and only 20 minutes ride to the O2 arena and also just a few minutes ride to attractions like London Bridge, Waterloo etc. Everyone was very warm and friendly and John, Ruth and Gerry did everything in their power to make things as comfortable as possible. It was really a home away from home for me. I would recommend Fig Tree House to everyone that needs a place to stay in London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sannie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I needed to find a Bed and Breakfast close to London. How fortunate it was that I selected Fig Tree House out of the many places available. Gerry made the booking so simple and Ruth and John provided information of local shops. Their B & B is close to the railway station. They are a laid-back group and I enjoyed my stay as we had many common interests. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there are no annoying rules and regulations. Having off street parking was a bonus and the CCTV protection. I need to return each year about the same time and have already provisionally booked for 2014. Thanks again guy's.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at Fig Tree House 4 nights and 5 days. I really enjoyed staying here. The hosts made me feel at home. They are so kind, lovely, friendly people. One day, I asked for Ruth if I use a washing machine. She said "Leave them I will laundry them for you" After I got back home from tour, she did laundry and even ironing them. So kind of you, Ruth! I've never got this kind of hospitality at any hotel.
But the only one problem is that WIFI does not work in the room. Well, you can get online in a living room. It's not a serious problem.
I'm willing to recommend you Fig Tree House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryWhittaker, General Manager at Fig Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for the nice words in your review of us. We have now fixed the problem with the Wi-Fi in the single room with a new Router.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed in the B&B Fig Tree House in September 2013.
Thoroughly loved it a lot with a very convenient location to the local Railway station only three minutes walk away.
Clean rooms, a beautiful dining room, well-equipped bathroom, always fresh food and lots of fruit for breakfast.
Relaxing patio decking area & garden that looks like a little fairy tale.
The hosts are very nice people & very ready to help resolve your issues.

Gladly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vyacheslav_Chernyakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really enjoyed my 2 week stay from late August to first 11 days of September. Rooms and accomidations were like staying with friends or family. Could come and go as I please and self-catering breafast was as early as I needed. Rail station within 10 minute walk made transportation very easy. I cannot say enough good things about my hosts, very very helpful and pleasant. I'm planning a return vist next year and looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerryWhittaker, General Manager at Fig Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay so much. But which station did you walk to as our local train station is only 3 minutes walk away? Look forward to seing you next year then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree House

Address: 32 Duncrievie Road | Hither Green, London SE13 6TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $35 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B offers one twin bedded room with TV/dvd player & fridge. From 50 GBP/night. One single bedded room with TV/dvd player. From 3o GBP/night. Both bedrooms share bathroom shower facilities etc. Towels, bathrobes, hair dryers & continental electric adapter plugs supplied. The B&B is also non-smoking but smokers can use the garden if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fig Tree House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing