We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it!”
Review of Marisa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marisa Hotel
Ranked #460 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location is brilliant as you are pretty much next door to Tottenham Court tube station, however it was SO difficult to find! The entrance is through a shop which is dodgy in itself. Then at night when the shop is closed, you have to use the back door which was left unlocked so anyone could just walk in, and is located down a dark alleyway which was very scary and intimidating, certainly not recommended for a lone female. The room size was tiny. I had to stand in the ensuite to allow my friend to get through the door. Window didn't shut properly either. Finally, upon leaving they tried disputing the cost of room. I thought this was a genuine error on their part but from reading other reviews on booking.com it seems that many have shared this same experience. ONLY stay at this 'hotel' if you are a group of friends sharing a number of rooms - safety in numbers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chanty271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    10
    18
    65
See reviews for
16
34
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

As many have commented this hotel is a great locat

Good Points
VERY nice family room (2 double beds and a single)
The beds were clean and very comfy
The shower was lovely
Only £160 for 4 people to stay in central London
1 minute from Tottenham Court Road Tube Station

Bad Points
Main entrance during day is back of souvenir shop (very confusing the door is covered in mirror)
Back entrance after 10pm is down a VERY dodgy alley which the taxi driver walked me and my friend to door as felt it was THAT unsafe and our friends later got police officers who kindly offered as they didnt trust that alley either
The room was VERY hot and only one window opened and it was a choice of boiling to death or opening the window and not sleeping from the amount of noice (think i got 2 hours sleep!?!)
The receptionist didnt speak English so when we tried to pay by card and the machine was broken it was very ackward conversation
NOISE NOISE AND MORE NOISE

As you can see the bad out ways the good and unfortunately will not be staying here again - i rather a safe entrance with a quite street and pay that bit more!

Please do not book this place - it is cheap and you may think o its only for one night but the lack of "SAFE" entrance and the bad points listed - just not worth it ...... thank god we had a nice taxi driver as we walked passed some dodgy people!

I hope you stay safe and book elsewhere

Sorry Marisa - if you had a front entrance and air con it would have been fine!

Room Tip: In another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephaniey0ung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is situated in the perfect location - on Oxford Street, close to the Queen's theatre and lots of restaurants and shops. However, the staff here rely too much on the good location, and not enough on providing a safe, comfortable environment for their guests to stay in. The room me and my boyfriend stayed in was tiny. Only one window could be opened and had no air conditioning, which meant that it was a struggle to get ready, go to sleep, and stay in the room at all because it was so hot! The ensuite shower room was also tiny, and no handwash was provided. The staff were also reluctant to provide extra towels and pillows; having to be asked more than once. The hotel entrance is located at the back of a shop which is only open from 10am until 10pm. When the shop isn't open, guests have to let themselves in around the back entrance which is very difficult to locate, and requires you to walk through a few alleys (which doesn't feel very safe after 10pm!). The staff were unable to provide sufficient directions to this entrance. After trying and failing to find the entrance ourselves, we rang the hotel to ask if they could send a member of staff to meet us and personally take us back to the hotel. They finally came to meet us after approximately 20 minutes, by which time we had phoned them numerous times to ask where they were, and why they had not come to meet us yet. As if that wasn't bad enough, the staff were patronizing in response to us not being able to find the entrance, which was not appreciated, and definitely did not make us feel welcome. The staff here clearly don't seem interested in providing the best accommodation and experience for their guests. Our room cost £95 which was a complete rip off! If you're looking for a clean hotel with a good location, this would be acceptable to you, but if you're looking to stay in a hotel that provides a helpful, friendly atmosphere and a room which you can actually move around in, then steer clear of this place! It is definitely worth spending the extra money to stay in a nicer hotel. This hotel definitely ruined our trip, which was otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was difficult to find the hotel, as it is not in the address informed (Oxford Street). This address refers to a souvenir shop, where you can reach the hotel through a hidden door in the back of the store. The hotel entrance is in the other side of the block, far from the Oxford Street and it´s a backdoors/service doors street, so dark and dirty.
The room was for a couple and there were almost no space for people and bags. Our lucky was that we just took 1 bag each, so we could manage. The bathroom is amazingly small also and the shower was tricky to work. We should open first the tap in the sink for just after that open the shower so it could work. We had a terrible night also, because someone was working on a construction 24h, so through all night - but this is not the hotel´s fault.
Location is good, but the hotel terrible for the price they charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arthur N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived 1 hour before event we were in London for...got shown the room. We asked for a twin and were showed a double with no sheets on bed plaster and paint all over the floor and not enough room for a bag let alone 2 people.

Understand it is cheap and cheerful but not impressed even for £80 a night. Location great yes. But would never go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stef7975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

So, the hotel is situated above a souvenir gift shop without a separate entrance so is all a little weird, but once you've overcome this, you will be pleasantly surprised.
I stayed here this weekend with a group of friends as they have rooms that sleep 5 for £120 in Oxford Street, so the location couldn't be better.
We had a fairly good sized room, comfy beds, a fridge, coffee/tea etc so couldn't complain, the single rooms are supposed to be fairly small though.
We were worried we would hear the noise from Oxford Street but it was really quite quiet.
Overall, it is what it is, budget accomodation in a central location for a good price and we couldn't fault it and will stay again if they keep their prices down.
The only complaint I would have is that I was asked to pay by cash a couple of times and they even told me to go and draw the cash out - they do take card, so don't let them sway you otherwise!

Room Tip: Defo stay here if there's a group of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindaandstitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#134 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#380 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,126 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#858 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marisa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marisa Hotel

Property: Marisa Hotel
Address: 41 Oxford Street | Westminster, London, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #460 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Hotel Class:2 star — Marisa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Marisa Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing