We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it! Great craic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Londonears Hostel
Ranked #638 of 931 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Luckily I didn't see any of these reviews here. We came over for the weekend on reccommendation of friends who had been before. The location is absolutley superb we looked at a number of other hostels but no where was as well positioned as this. It's great for Earls Court and Central London and all the best places to go out. We forgot the name of the street but the taxi drivers all know the name of the hostel as it is a well known place for those who know where to get a great deal in central London so we were OK! Room and showers were spotless, place was quiet, and the beds were brand new as was the bedding. Our friends place was crap so they came and hanged out here. The canteen staff were really helpful when we needed a good breakfast! We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: I heard some people say that some rooms were being refurbished but all the ones we stayed in were ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 440 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location is perfect and central.
Room was comfortable and quite clean! There is a cafe inside the building which is cheap compare to other place! The place is fun and u meet people from different walk! The staff helped us to find our self around

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tried to check in early as we had requested it while making our booking. Man behind the desk told us, after he had spent 15 minutes typing away on the computer that no one could check in until after 2 until all rooms were available. Bit of an inconvenience but accepted this. Returned at 5pm to check in again. Two people behind the desk on the phone and didn't acknowledge the queue that was forming in front of his desk. After been ignored for 10 minutes, asked if we could check in as we had already been here earlier. Receptionist took copies of passport. I asked if there was a problem as he seemed to be scowling at the computer screen but he said that there wasn't. He then left the check in desk and went into a room to the side of the entrance hall. When he hadn't returned after 15 minutes, I asked that the lady behind the desk look for him to see what the story was. After much hesitation, she knocked on the door. He came out and informed us that there was no room for us and that although he tried to accommodate us, he couldn't. We asked for the manager and he informed us that he was the manager. What a joke. It took him 40 minutes in that room to realise that he had no room!
Naturally, we were a little worried as it was close to 6pm and we had no where to stay. He rolled his eyes and said there was nothing he could do. So rude, no manners and no help at all.

Room Tip: Don't book any room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked a private room in this place for 3 nights for our weekend visit, but was simply told that we had to check out in the morning of the 3rd day before 10am, and transferred to a different room. When we cooperated and did pack our luggage to move in the morning, they told us we couldn't be placed into a room until 2pm. Having planned many activities for the day, we just decided to put our luggage into a shared storage space and come back later to complete the transfer, but in the early afternoon only to be told that there are no more private rooms so we have to take 2 shared beds in a dormitory room.

When we said that's unacceptable since we booked a private room, the guy said with a plain face "it's just one night", and after more complains he offered us A BREAKFAST as compensation, which is ridiculous. Furthermore, when I asked for the password to their wifi in order to get information of my booking and seek solutions, he even tried to charge me for the internet!

This incident which took us many hours in the afternoon of many planned activities, along with the fact that they were really being unhelpful and rude since the very first day, which I had been putting up with, made us decide eventually to simply book another hotel for that night and we were glad that we left that place never to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NemoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This has to qualify as the worst experience I've had in the last 1000 lodgings. Everything about it seemed designed to ensure that they never have a return visitor.

The entrance was hard to find; the receptionist ignored us; eventually attempted but failed to find the reservation; allocated a room with the skeleton key but had no key for the occupants (one person has to stay in the room at all times, to let the other in). The shared toilet was broken and unusable. We didn't even attempt to eat breakfast in these squalid surroundings.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hunimiaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Couldn't find the Entrance door which was way down the street, tried phoning but no answer from reception. guest helped us find door and then 10 mins waiting for guy at reception to get off phone and another 20 mins to find the booking & get registered. The key machine broken so no keys were available and had to leave room door open with suitcase to gain access. Toilet on the floor broken so told to use upstairs (turned out to be 2 floors!) or down which was closer. Room stunk of cigarette smoke so asked for spray which came quickly but when I went to bed the pillow smelt terrible from the same cause so had to use hand cream on it to try and get some sleep. No towels given to shower and with broken toilets in the morning it took 15 minutes of waiting time to use a lu. Was the most expensive accommodation in 6 weeks in Europe and just so bad. Don't come here if you can avoid it !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

'Hisham', the receptionist has absolutely no customer service skills. His attitude and behaviour was appalling. Everything was the guests fault, he huffed and puffed when he gave someone the wrong room key, barely acknowledged the woman complaining about 3 toilets being broken and was generally just rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holiday Inn London - Elstree
#645 of 1,077 in London
467 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#208 of 1,077 in London
629 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#522 of 1,077 in London
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Blakes Hotel
Blakes Hotel
#404 of 1,077 in London
575 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,077 in London
3,869 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#64 of 931 in London
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Londonears Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Londonears Hostel

Address: No. 1 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #638 of 931 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $19 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed to explore central London, The Londonears Hostel offers affordable accommodation just 5 minutes’ walk from Earls Court Exhibition Centre and Tube Station.With a range of international guests, this impressive Victorian building has a relaxed, cosmopolitan atmosphere. Offering private rooms and dormitories, The Londonears Hostel provides shared bathroom facilities.In Barkston Gardens, this central London youth hostel has a 24-hour check in and reception. Many restaurants, bars and coffee shops are just a 5-minute walk away.The Londonears Hostel is just a mile from the shopping districts of Knightsbridge and Kensington High Street. Buckingham Palace is a 10-minute Tube journey from Earl’s Court Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Londonears Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Londonears Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing