We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”
Review of The Clove Club

The Clove Club
Reserve a table
Ranked #694 of 24,772 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Description: The Clove Club opened in March 2013 in Shoreditch Town Hall, East London. The restaurant is named after the original supper club that brought our founders Daniel Willis, Isaac Mchale and Johnny Smith together in 2010. We serve modern British cooking – thoughtful, precise and elegant food in a relaxed and informal setting. At The Clove Club we serve a tasting menu that highlights the best produce we can source from across the British Isles, with ideas and inspirations from around the world. Our wine list showcases regions from the old and new world, encompassing traditional and modern styles of wine making, with a focus on artisanal growers. In addition we also offer a number of pairings – classic and prestige wine pairings, as well as a soft pairing and an ambient tea pairing.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Gorgeous restaurant, designed impeccably with the blue everywhere on the tile, chairs, backslash, even the door, but not so much blue that its cheese - the restaurant is as seen in photos online, gorgeous. I ordered the chicken for dinner, it was so moist and perfectly cooked. Top level service and friendly as well, nice for a special occasion.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline4n45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 211 of 758 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2017

A Wonderful night had by all.....tasting menu was everything and more....in fact i think this dinner was up there with the best we've had.It wasn't a cheap night by a long shot....but when you get this kind of quality then we dont really care.Special mention goes to the waiting staff as they made the whole experience even more enjoyable...all we need now is another excuse to come back.Perfection

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

We went for the tasting menue with highest option of pairing wines. Food is beautiful, service is excellent, but wine is disappointing and lacks character

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank davidkK1981NK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

We visited here with friends and were not disappointed. The restaurant is small and busy, in fact the staff nearly out number the guests but as a result the service was superb. I would recommend having paired wines with the tasting menu. I was impressed that the chef that had prepared each dish brought it out to the table and described the dish, only too happy to take questions. Sommelier very knowledgable. The highlight was the duck consommé with one hundred year old Madeira , truly memorable. We will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

The clove Club has a tasting menu, which we did with the matching wine flight, which was exquisite. The food was beautifully presented but even more importantly, the whole menu was designed to flow so that we did not feel over-fed but each course was fascinating, mixed flavours and textures. The Sommelier was knowledgeable and able to answer all questions but was never pushy.
The service is excellent from the front of house all the way to people clearing our plates. A real trest

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ann_paul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clove Club also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Clove Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.