We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience and a lovely guide on the Mary Poppins tour”

American Tour Guide in London
Ranked #147 of 725 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: American Tour Guide in London provides walking tours of London. We offer private and group tours on foot to explore and discover the city with a fully qualified guide. Costume tours are available!
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our kids love the movie, so we thought it would be a nice way to start our London holiday. We happened to be alone on the tour, so we had Amber all to our selves. The tour was fun and informative. Amber was very charming with the kids and she has a wonderful voice singing the songs from the movie.
The tour is about 1.5 hours and not a lot of walking, so very suitable with young children.
Thank you Amber for a great first impression of London.

1  Thank Micah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaraney, Manager at American Tour Guide in London, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

it was such a fun day. We had great weather, and your kids are lovely too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

I found Amber from a Podcast from the Amateur Traveler and decided to book her because she was so enthusiastic about London. It was our first day there and we needed a boost to counteract our jet lag and this tour fit the bill perfectly. She's one of those "instant best friend" personalities and puts everyone at ease immediately. She had asked a lot of questions via email and tailored the tour to our personal interests. Amber is forever researching and finding interesting facts and stories that the standard tour busses will never tell you, for instance avoiding all the Fish and Chips joints and directing you to the really good place you'd never find on your own. I would HIGHLY recommend her to anyone especially first timers. It would be very advantageous to include her in your pre-trip planning. Thanks again Amber and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank icetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaraney, Owner at American Tour Guide in London, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. I look forward to your next trip to London!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Amber is a total all-round top-class performer. Her pretty outfit immediately put us in the mood for some magic, and we lapped it up! She has dug deep in her research about Pamela Travers and the latter's creation Mary Poppins, and Amber delivered the information in a clear, measured manner while tireless guiding her charges around streets and sights that Mary would have known and loved (and some, like 1 New Change, that would amaze even Mary.) The bonus, however, was Amber's exquisite rendition of the songs from the film Mary Poppins. Amber has such a sweet singing voice!

1  Thank PeterBLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaraney, Owner at American Tour Guide in London, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Peter, your words are too kind! Thank you so much. I enjoyed it, and thank you for singing along too! It was fun!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you are a fan of Mary Poppins and you have a strong sense of your inner child/adolescent, who is yearning to come out to play, then this walk is for you. This walk is full of good cheer, excitement, and a child's joie de vivre. Amber brings to her Mary Poppins walk, a charming awe and sense of wonder. Amber also brings a book of knowledge, about the author, P. L.Travers, and our history. For an hour or two you can believe that life truly is a song and dance. Treat yourself. Treat your inner child and sing-along with an American 'Poppins', of knowledge and of note!

Thank Deborah290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaraney, Owner at American Tour Guide in London, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you Deborah290!! It was great to meet you and I loved our discussions about PL Travers. She was quite a woman! Look forward to keeping in touch with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I went on Amber's Churches Corners and Corridors walk and though as a born and bred Londoner I felt I knew the city quite well she made me realise how little I did actually know. We walked around the area of the City of London the walk covered and Amber explained in a lively and enthusiastic fashion about the various sights and attractions en route. Amber was very happy to chat along the way and I would thoroughly recommend her as a walking guide.

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaraney, Owner at American Tour Guide in London, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank You John. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Tour Guide in London also viewed

 
 

Been to American Tour Guide in London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing