We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #157 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quality hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 1 day/night. Excellent location and a great option for kings cross / Eurostar!
Hotel is very classy with the bar and restaurant of very high class.
Room on the small side but expected for this type of hotel.
Room was extremely trendy and very clean.
Would stay again without a doubt!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HellsbellsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thanks for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our wonderful GNH Bar and Plum and Spilt Milk Restaurant. We note that you found your particular room on the small side however we hope you had a good sleep on our Hypnos mattress regardless.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel.

Yours faithfully

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    315
    77
    25
    29
See reviews for
109
557
90
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Excellent hotel is the perfect location for either Kings Cross or St. Pancras Station's, facilities are First class. Our en suite bathroom had a huge shower, very good lighting and mirror for doing your hair and make up. All rooms have a pantry at the end of the corridor, with Complementary tea, Coffee a selection of fruit and pastries. King size bed very comfortable. Staff and service is excellent. ★★★★★

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Penny,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular its great location at King’s Cross St Pancras, the free pantries, our friendly staff and indeed our generously sized showers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel sometime very soon.

Yours faithfully

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel... great ambience, stylish decor. The Cubitt room was small but finished to a very elegant, high standard. The bed was very comfortable with good linen. Great to have a Nespresso machine and the room service was good too.

Look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thanks for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our elegantly designed rooms, room service and indeed our Hypnos Mattress beds dressed with 500 thread count linen allowing for a wonderful night’s sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willaston
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights and have to say found my stay really comfortable. Had a couchette room, which was not overly large but had all amenities including good air conditioning and some nice extras as standard. These included, free wifi, Nespresso coffee maker, free bottled water, free TV with numerous channels including movies. Great large head shower and a very comfortable bed. Each floor also has a pantry with help yourself coffee, tea and various sweets and biscuits, nice extra. Didn't eat in hotel but visited the bar for night caps. Not really impressed, quite small with layout not best use of space and not very welcoming really. Enjoyed stay and would consider staying again, especially given great location

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SAHWillaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

On impulse, right off the Eurostar, I booked a night at the Great Northern Hotel. Situated a cross the road from St Pancras international railway station, it is also steps from the Picadillt line (tube). Bed was exceptionally comfortable, lovely down pillows and quilt (comforter). Romney was well appointed with free WiFi, nice bathroom and wood labelling. Window was small, and oddly placed. This is a refurbished railway station, so I can only presume the window situation was unavoidable. There is a pantry at the end of each hallway, providing tea, coffee machine, cake and snacks.. also a small fridge for guest use. Strangely, and disapointingly, there was not a tub in my room, but the double rainshower head almost compensated. Front desk staff very freinflt and accommodating, but there were several people waiting for service behind me...
On the high end, price-wise, but very quiet, despite busy city location.
High points: bed and location - in the center of London.
Lows: small window and no tub: the access to lift foyer is almost undetectable.. I was not the only person roaming the halls looking for the elevator.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chantzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thanks for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular its great location at King’s Cross St Pancras, the free pantries and wifi, and indeed your comfortable quiet room. Make sure the next time you come and stay with us to request a room with one of our stunning roll top bath tubs,our Cubit room to the front of the building is a good choice. We note that you found it difficult to find our elevators and we’ll certainly review our signage to ensure our guests find their way around effortlessly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel.

Yours faithfully

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Of course a complimentary upgrade helps to write a good review but this hotel definitely deserves a good review (irrespective of the upgrade that I have received).

Likes:
• Great location directly connected to King’s Cross Station and the tube station.
• Tasteful rooms with comfortable beds.
• Great noise cancelling: I did not hear any noise from the street and very little noise from the corridor thanks to plushy carpets and separation doors.
• Free Wifi (many hotels still dare to charge for that…)
• Complimentary mineral water, reasonably priced drinks in the minibar and a Nespresso machine in the room.
• Rainforest shower
• Friendly and enthusiastic staff at check-in
• Nice and stylish bar with a great selection of special beers.

Dislikes:
• Rooms are not very big but ok sized for London
• Tiny reception are (I did not have to wait but at rush hour it could take a while)

I will definitely found my new home base in London!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director, Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Chuffed you are calling the GNH your London home and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We’re very pleased that you enjoy staying with us, in particular our great location at King’s Cross St Pancras, our tastefully decorated rooms which of course are sound proofed to make sure you enjoy a good nights rest. We have a super team of staff at the GNH and glad you agree. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel and London very soon.

Best wishes,

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was a little bit dubious about this hotel as when we arrived there was nowhere for the taxi to drop us off other than on a main road. The reception was hard to find not well signed. The room was really comfortable, staff pleasant and the pantry down the hall was a godsend. Coffee, cake, papers etc all there for you to help yourself at any time. Rooms were very quiet, great location for catching the train to France. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead_Gleeson, Associate Director,Front of House at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thanks for taking the time to review the Great Northern Hotel. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular its great location at King’s Cross St Pancras, the free pantries, our friendly Front Desk staff and indeed your comfortable room. We note that you found it difficult to find our main entrance and we’ll certainly review our signage to ensure our guests find their way around effortlessly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern Hotel.

Yours faithfully

Mairead Gleeson
Associate Director, Front of House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: King's Cross St Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in London
#80 Romantic Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
#137 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. Befitting the GNH's rich architectural heritage, the hotel's bedrooms have been sensitively restored with a design that exudes elegance and grace. Free from unnecessary clutter, the rooms are expertly proportioned, with high ceilings and an abundance of natural light through large 'six-over-six' slash windows. Walls, floors, ceilings and windows are acoustically lined, creating a peaceful cocoon. The mechanical and electrically systems are state of the art, furniture is bespoke designed and hand crafted by Italian and British artisans, and only the very best fixtures and fittings have been used - Loewe LCD HD televisions, top of the range Hypnos beds and Lefroy Brooks bathroom furniture. The hotel is home to one of London's finest destination restaurants, Plum + Spilt Milk, which is overseen by Michelin star winning chef, Mark Sargeant, a protégé of Gordon Ramsey. On the ground floor sits GNH Bar a destination cocktail bar, with a stunning interior and serving the very best food, champagne and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing