We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #152 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on way back from train trip to Spain. The location for the Eurostar and connecting stations is excellent. A lovely comfortable room at a very good price for London. The pantry at the end of each floor is really good. Late night drinks and food in the bar also good after seeing a show. The rooms are quiet with double glazing so we got a good nights sleep. I use London hotels for work and this hotel is the best I have stayed in with very helpful staff too. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review.....it means a lot to us to hear that we're your favourite London hotel! I am pleased that you appreciated our great location to Eurostar, our complimentary pantry offering and amazing bedroom sound proofing. I do hope that I get the chance to say hello when you are next at the Great Northern. Very best wishes, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    319
    77
    25
    29
See reviews for
109
561
94
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The summary: A stylish pocket of calm, ideally located for travelers with quality onsite amenities and boutique flourishes.

The long of it: The hotel couldn't be more ideally located for travel from or to Kings Cross and St. Pancrass International. We practically rolled off the train and into reception. The front of house itself - reception particularly - is petite, but the clerks were friendly, helpful and welcoming. They were able to answer our queries and provide advice before giving us the guided tour of the GNH bar, restaurant Plum & Spilt Milk, and "pantry" (this little room proved a splendid treat, with free Nespresso coffee, tea, coffee, cookies, home-made cakes and biscuits. What an innocent joy to squirrel away a caramel wafer and a cup of camomile at 3am!).

The refit is beautifully detail-focussed, with period features restored immaculately alongside chic contemporary furniture and styling. The mirrored, dark wood bar is elegant with intimate booths, low tables and prices that aren't prohibitive (certainly, a little cheaper than similar "boutique hotel" bars we've visited in London). The restaurant has gorgeous curved love-seat dining, and delivered one of the best Eggs Florentine I've ever eaten at breakfast (not included in the room price but very good value).

Our room itself was big enough, with large second-glazed sash windows providing expansive fresh light, a comfortable standard double bed and small sofa and table. We stayed on a particularly humid August night and felt the comfortable difference as we came off the street into our air conditioned room.
We opted for a room with a bath, which was wonderful and recommended (though there is no shower curtain so if you plan to use the shower attachment, be sure to close the bathroom doors first!).
The view across Kings Cross approach will (eventually, when the building work is complete) be quite stunning. As it presently stands, you can lie back in bed and stare across a twinkly London sky or people watch to your heart's content. It's a testament to the soundproofing that despite the building work outside, we slept deeply and soundly.

You've really little need to leave the hotel if you don't have plans and anything you've forgotten can be easily purchased down on the station concourse. Don your complimentary size 11 waffle slippers, put on one of the fun selection of free movies and relax with a slice of free cake and a cuppa. We shall definitely return.

Room Tip: The "corner" rooms are surrounded with large, airy windows and provide exceptional light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Great Northern Hotel and I am so pleased to hear that you appreciated our amazing location, bed room sound proofing, our boutique offering and our team. The pantry is just perfect for those late night munchies so I'm delighted to hear that it came in handy during your stay! The works to Kings Cross Square will be complete over the next three weeks so your corner room view will be much improved the next time you are with us. Very best wishes and thanks again, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a very tight schedule, so splashed out to stay here due to it's location.

The location is excellent - out of the hotel and directly across the road is the Eurostar check in and St Pancras station. Walk out of the other side of the building and you are at Kings Cross station. Parked in a car park at the back of St Pancras - around a 5 min walk and £36 for 24 hours.

Arrived around 8.30pm and many people were stood outside the bar and the noise from the music was loud. Entered with some trepidation , thinking we could be in for a sleepless night ,but couldn't hear anything from our 5th floor room.

Room was small, with a shower - no bath. The bathroom door also had frosted glass panes - not always a good idea! The fittings and fixtures were bespoke and beautiful. Entertainment system shows movies free of charge. Also looked into the restaurant - Plum & Milk - which also looked lovely.

I really really wanted to absolutely love this hotel. The re-fit has been to the highest possible standards and is beautiful. Small rooms are not an issue - have stayed in many that were smaller. But having no tissues or shower cap in the bathroom - basic things - was surprising. Also , no luggage rack in the room, or anywhere to put a case other than on the floor. And the finding of a bunch of long dark hairs ( not ours) did not let me give it the 5 stars I wanted to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I am delighted to hear that your appreciated our terrific location to both King's Cross and St Pancras and the standard of our finishes throughout the hotel. I will ensure we pop tissues and a shower cap in your room next time and will certainly address your feedback regarding our housekeeping standards which, on the whole, are consistently of a high standard. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel when you are in London and that your stay will be 5 star worthy on this next occasion. Many thanks, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm often down on business in London and thought I would try this new hotel, which is literally inside Kings X station. Normally I'd consider it a little expensive for a one night business stay but as some promotional deals were being offered in August, worth a try. My night was £189 room only. Staff and service were great, much better than you would expect from London. My room was also first class although oddly I was put (without being asked) into a disabled room which had been heavily adapted. The bathroom especially so - the shower had a seat and no sides so water went everywhere. Whilst such disabled facilities are to be applauded generally, I would have preferred to have been asked as had it been a romantic trip rather than a business night away, it would have felt unusual. I didn't use the restaurant as had a meal out and an early start but both looked good and were buzzing busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGrocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a review after staying with us and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first experience of the Great Northern Hotel. Many thanks for your kind words regarding our team and the service and I will ensure that I make a note of your room allocation preference for next time, when I hope you'll also get the chance to try the GNH bar and our restaurant Plum + Spilt Milk. Best wishes, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a 'Cubit' room. The hotel is an oasis of calm in an otherwise hectic location !!! Reception is an intimate affair with a small desk but the team were very friendly and efficient. We arrived slightly before the published check in time but our room was ready for us. On leaving the lift to the second floor we swiped a security tag which gave us access to the floor itself. I loved the wide light airy hallways that curved around the buliding along with the art work and unusual furniture. I also loved the pantry at the end of the hallway with coffee, tea, cookies, cakes and sweets for the guests to help themselves.

The room itself wasn't enourmous but there was a std size double bed a small sofa and table, what struck me was how incredibly light and fresh it felt. We didn't have a great view but it was unusual looking across the new domed roof of kings cross. I would say the style is art deco which I love anyway. The bathroom was a good size with luxury fittings - no bath but a lovely shower. The amenities were really good quality as well. We also had an expresso machine which was a nice little challenge.

It was incredibly quiet and we were barely aware of any other guests or noise inside or outside the building. So a great nights sleep was had.

Its not cheap but I don't think thats the aim of this boutique hotel !!! We would certainly recommend it and definately intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: Suspect rooms on the higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that we offered an oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of the big city - it was always our intention to ensure our rooms are peaceful and quiet. The walls and ceilings have been acoustically lined and along with the secondary glazing block out any external noise. I am delighted that you would recommend others to come and stay with us and will ensure that we allocate at St Pancras facing room for you when you are next in King's Cross. Thank you, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
282 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

What makes an excellent hotel is location, price, service, quality and those little extras - the Great Northern delivers on nearly all counts.

Grat location by the redeveloped Kings Criss area - nice welcome in the minimalist reception. Small but well-appointed rooms - and the extras ...

Of course, the famous pantry and an amazing entertainment system with great films and music on demand - all for free.

My only quibble is that the price - almost £200 per night seemed very high for the size of room... But if your pockets stretch to it, the Great Northern is an excellent choice

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank THEBFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting a review after your recent stay with us at the Great Northern Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you appreciated all the things that we think are special too - our great proximity to both King's Cross and Eurostar, our complimentary pantry offering, free movies and music and our service. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you again when you are next thinking of a night away. Very best wishes, Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night, lovely room spacious by london standards. Food and drink in the bar was nice, good atmosphere, would stay there again although it is at the top end for room price. Could also be noisy in the week as lots of works happening around

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonC14SRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review Simon and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Great Northern. The works to Kings Cross Square outside will be complete in 3 to 4 weeks time but in any event are not heard inside the hotel due to the work undertaken during our complete renovation of this building. We used specialist acoustic linings to sound-proof the bedrooms - applying these linings to the floors, ceilings and walls alongside double glazing to the windows. This is unusual for a listed building and, as many of our reviews highlight, make the hotel remarkably quiet for such a busy location. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Northern when you are next in town. Best wishes, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,088 in London
2,252 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#246 of 1,088 in London
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: King's Cross St Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in London
#80 Romantic Hotel in London
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
#137 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. Befitting the GNH's rich architectural heritage, the hotel's bedrooms have been sensitively restored with a design that exudes elegance and grace. Free from unnecessary clutter, the rooms are expertly proportioned, with high ceilings and an abundance of natural light through large 'six-over-six' slash windows. Walls, floors, ceilings and windows are acoustically lined, creating a peaceful cocoon. The mechanical and electrically systems are state of the art, furniture is bespoke designed and hand crafted by Italian and British artisans, and only the very best fixtures and fittings have been used - Loewe LCD HD televisions, top of the range Hypnos beds and Lefroy Brooks bathroom furniture. The hotel is home to one of London's finest destination restaurants, Plum + Spilt Milk, which is overseen by Michelin star winning chef, Mark Sargeant, a protégé of Gordon Ramsey. On the ground floor sits GNH Bar a destination cocktail bar, with a stunning interior and serving the very best food, champagne and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing