We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...strange choice of bathroom doors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #183 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed with my partner for two nights as we wanted a hotel with easy access to Kings Cross and you can't really do better than a hotel right next to the station. We were on the third floor and noise wasn't an issue at all. The room was small(ish) but immaculate and it looks like the hotel has been very recently renovated and looks great. The hard bed was fantastic (no sagging lumpy mattress thank god!). The staff were friendly. Overall a bit of a find for London. The only bizarre thing was the bathroom doors. Seriously, who thought that having dappled glass in the bathroom doors was a good idea? I really don't want my partner being able to see when I'm on the loo!

Apart from that minor niggle, this is a great hotel. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sea_Smog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for the review after your recent stay with us and I'm pleased to hear that our great location to Kings Cross Station made your travel plans easier. The fluted glass within our bathroom doors are designed to make the rooms light and airy and I'm sorry that you felt that this was a niggle. I hope to see you again at the hotel when you are next in London. Many thanks. Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed for one night as part of a group on a business trip.
The hotel has been reopened very recently, so everything is beautifully new. It's between King's Cross and St Pancras station, in the middle of an area of London which is being renovated and on its way to becoming hip.
Rooms are small and very comfortable, with a plenty small comfort touches such as a discreetly Nespresso machine, plenty of lighting and a walk-in shower.
We also had a luxurious breakfast and a quick drink in the hotel's pub.
Great staff as well, from desk to table.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciano Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of the Great Northern Hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in London. Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was so impressed with this hotel - I was able to take advantage of the fact that our normal corporate hotel have just decided to add £60 to their corporate rate which is hilarious as they now badge themselves as 'an ethical' hotel - and was able to book this instead. I was greeted so warmly, shown to the room with its fab view of the roof of Kings cross - the room is small and cosy and I had the best sleep for ages. The only slight grumble was the safe is so weeny you can't fit a laptop or iPad in it but that is it - the pantry idea with cakes and sweets is lovely - as are the staff - I will have some serious problems if I have to accept a corporate compromise anywhere else now! I didn't try the bar or the restaurant but I suspect that it will make a great stopover/meeting point before going back on a train.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank splont27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review after your recent stay with us at the Great Northern. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and I'm pleased to inform you that we are actually in the process of changing our safes to be big enough to hold a lap top or I Pad. Thanks again and I do hope we get to see you back at the hotel very soon. Best wishes Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Don't get me wrong; this is tremendous hotel and fabulous in so many respects: the location, the service, the pantry on each floor, the fact that there is more than one outlet in the room for recharging devices (there's even a USB outlet so you can save on wall outlets). Yes, the rooms are small, but that's fairly standard in London. The shower is GREAT because the doors actually close and so contain the water. (This is a HUGE problem in many UK hotels; few provide shower doors, and those that do have curtains or half-doors that fail, miserably, at their job of keeping water IN the actual stall. By the end of your shower, you need a boat to row across the fairly hazardous lake on your bathroom floor.)

The design flaws, however, are these: a) there is no way to turn off a small but intensely bright green overhead light in the entrance hall, which then negates the very nice blackout blinds and curtains; and b) the bathroom doors are made of beveled glass, which means that you have a great, if fractured view of anyone who uses the toilet. That's . . . a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaturnGirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for posting a review after your stay at the Great Northern Hotel and I'm so pleased to hear your wonderful words regarding our location, service, showers and pantries. The fluted glass within our bathroom doors are designed to make the rooms light and airy and I'm sorry that you felt this was a problem. I do hope that this does not deter you from staying with us again when you're next in London. Thanks again, Anthony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fantastic hotel in a fab location. The Couchette rooms are small but to be honest in the hotel details it mentions this. The rooms are really lovely the shower is powerful. There are espresso machines in the room so you can have a great cup of coffee first thing. If you want a tea you have to go to the pantry at the end of the floor - but to be fair the pantry has cakes, biscuits and sweets which is a real novelty.

Why I have titled my review as "not built for the ladies" is the following issues with the room from a female perspective. There was no shower cap or vanity set (cotton wool balls etc) or a sewing kit. You could only use the hairdryer in the hall area of the room as the cord was not long enough - you also had to put the hairdryer on the floor as there was no shelf and hard work trying to put your make up on in the bathroom as no shelves. The other area I was not happy with was the door to the bathroom had glass in and were shutter doors - you really have to know the person you are sharing you room with.

However, overall my experience in this hotel was fab. The receptionist were really helpful.

Room Tip: If there is more than one of you I would probably choose a larger room than the couchette rooms - bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Paula, thank you for posting a review after your recent stay at the Great Northern Hotel and I'm so pleased to hear you had a fab time with us. We'll make sure to pop a vanity set and shower cap in your room next time and ensure you have a bathroom with a bit more shelf space. Thanks again, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was a lovely hotel to stay in. Having only been open 4 weeks when we stayed, the service was exceptional and the pantry on each floor, complete with cake and a coffee machine, was brilliant.
The room was clean and classy, with a fantastic view of the roof of kings cross. Set on curved corridors, the room wasn't enormous but it was very charming and certainly big enough for us. Lovely showers too. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a weekend crash pad with style. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becstar_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

I'm so pleased to hear you had a lovely stay with us at the Great Northern Hotel and that you enjoyed our cake and coffee offering in the pantries. Our location is indeed convenient for visitors to London and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you're next in town. Thank you, Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

One of the reasons I picked this was due to it's proximity to KX station (and the reasonable prices for London midweek!).

Being newly opened, everything is very clean and tidy. I had a standard room which was fine, not huge, but more than ample for me for a couple of nights. Spec of the furnishings is very good and the movies, sky sports etc on the TV is ideal.

Liked the touch of the cakes etc at the end of the lobby.

All the staff were pleasant. I think showing people to their room is a nice personal touch.

All in all would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony_thwaites, Director of Rooms at Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for posting such a great review after your stay with us at the Great Northern Hotel. I'm so very pleased you appreciated the touches that we think make us special too. Look forward to seeing you back at the hotel very soon. Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#143 of 1,081 in London
2,682 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#272 of 1,081 in London
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Address: King's Cross St Pancras Road, London N1C 4TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in London
#80 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $231 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's finest luxury hotels just 25 metres from Eurostar at St Pancras International and actually within Kings Cross Station, offering a 24 hour front desk, free 500mb Wi-Fi and a complimentary comprehensive in-room entertainment package. Befitting the GNH's rich architectural heritage, the hotel's bedrooms have been sensitively restored with a design that exudes elegance and grace. Free from unnecessary clutter, the rooms are expertly proportioned, with high ceilings and an abundance of natural light through large 'six-over-six' slash windows. Walls, floors, ceilings and windows are acoustically lined, creating a peaceful cocoon. The mechanical and electrically systems are state of the art, furniture is bespoke designed and hand crafted by Italian and British artisans, and only the very best fixtures and fittings have been used - Loewe LCD HD televisions, top of the range Hypnos beds and Lefroy Brooks bathroom furniture. The hotel is home to one of London's finest destination restaurants, Plum + Spilt Milk, which is overseen by Michelin star winning chef, Mark Sargeant, a protégé of Gordon Ramsey. On the ground floor sits GNH Bar a destination cocktail bar, with a stunning interior and serving the very best food, champagne and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelPower, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing